We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #14 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Discovered this hotel quite by accident while having breakfast next door. A girlfriend and I shared the family room for three nights and just loved it. We couldnt believe the great location, one block from the beach and around the corner from 5th avenue and it was also so quiet for sleeping and what a 'dream' to experience a great nights sleep on their brand new pillow top mattresses. Loved our little balcony after a hard day at the playa. Miguel and the staff made us feel like family. Can,t wait to see them again and stay in this great hotel. They really have got it right in a very low key and polite manner.

Room Tip: The family room has a balcony and you can see the sea and the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary_parlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

" What a Gem".......we don't know who to thank more the, staff for doing such a great job, or our guests for writing such nice reviews. Thankfully we have both to appreciate. Rosemary_parlour, we thank you for your review & we are delighted you had a great vacation experience. The staff were so happy to hear your review & yes , now we got it right & will continue to do so to assure our future guests a great vacation experience.
We know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo, we look forward to seeing you when you return to the sunny Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

After staying in another boutique hotel for years we decided to try this hotel, here's a small review.
WHAT WE LOVED: The staff, very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in, in PDC. Crisp beautiful linens, no "doubtful clean" beadspread but a quilt is available if you get cold - not really imaginable. The intimate hotel is small but rooms and their entrances were very private and secure, almost like going to your upstairs bedroom at home. The proximity to great restaurants of every taste and budget. The beach club arrangements with Wicky's were perfect. The great pedestrian 5th Ave. and the beach both were steps away. The 50% breakfast discount at one of the most popular restaurants,Carboncitos, just next door, was a nice perk.

WHAT WE LIKED: The homey Mexican art decor, the shower and bathroom space and the large shelving area for clothes storage - WITH hangars (sometimes almost non-existant in hotels). There are water coolers (no fridge) and flushable toilets (some hotels discourage this). The roof top is a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing and is in the middle of a remodeling phase. The bar wil be nice, with beautiful views.

MISC: TV is available and when we asked that our TV be moved a little for better viewing it was done immediately. We had no need for a phone. Miguel was gracious enough to offer us a choice of rooms, especially one with a larger bed after one night - we had not asked but he overheard our concern about it. The air conditioning and overhead fan were fine-quiet, as was our room. There are nice "black out" type draperies for those who want to sleep a little longer in the morning. We love the early morning sun so we didn't need to shut them. I liked that the owner was on premise and we are interested in learning about his endeavor in Tulum concerning a green/eco friendly hotel. I'm sure it will do well. We laughed on hearing one of his anecdotes about a shopping trip - " I'll take 40 mattresses to go".
Very clean and comfortable is this hotel. I'm glad I made the switch.

All in all, I hope to make this my new home there and felt I was. Room prices were very, very reasonable for your stay and experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cormac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you cormac 55 for taking the time to write your review. Well.....we're glad you tried it but we are delighted that you loved us !!! It was a pleasure having you as a guest & we appreciate all the kind words. We know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to your return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cielo for a night in February 2012. We rented 2 family suites as we are a family of 8. The decor in the hotel is beautiful, the location is perfect for wandering 5th Avenue, or hanging out at the beach, the service received was great, and the food at Carboncitos next door was amazing.
Miquel, at the front desk, was so helpful and pleasant in all of our dealings. He provided great service from the first time I contacted Hotel Cielo about booking rooms until we checked out.
Our whole group would like to come back to Hotel Cielo on our next Mexico trip - only for much longer than one night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you KKrys for your review. We are delighted that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us & that we were able to create a great vacation experience. Thanks for mentioning the service, we really appreciate it & we have been working diligently to create great customer service. We know there are many hotels to choose from in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we are looking forward to your return to the sunny Riviera Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Rooms are clean, no insects, Air conditioners work great and no funky smells and Beds were very comfy. Breakfast was very good, staff was wonderful. Beach is 30 yards from door and $10 rents you 2 padded lounge chairs w/umbrella for the entire day with access to shower & bathrooms and some live music in afternoon. Festively noisy on the street-facing rooms but if you're such a light sleeper then choose a garden facing room. Ferry dock is 2 blocks away, bus station is 1 block away. $5 taxi ride to Walmart or Chedraui Grocery Store. Great food at Babe's noodle-bar on 10th Street, Cuban Jazz Club rocks with Salsa Dancing, $24 1-hr Massage-Yes that's NOT a Typo. We stayed for 7 nights and they gave us the last night free! Great value for such a nice hotel with a perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthBeach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you NorthBeach_Lover for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the kind words & that you had a great vacation experience....seems you really made your rounds . We know there are many hotels to choose from in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we are looking forward to your return to the sunny Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and did not want to leave. We were greeted with big smiles and made felt very welcomed. The rooms were immaculately cleaned and the beds were super comfy. Beach is 1 minutes walk away and the hotel is situated right on 5th avenue which is where all the stores, restaurants, bars and amenities are situated.

Try the breaky at the hotels restaurant, the smoothies are sooo delish!!

Free wifi was great too.

Thank you to Miguel, every morning you greeted us with a smile and in the evenings would ask about our day and helped us with all our questions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zalez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

We love Great !!!! Thank you Fruggenaire for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for mentioning the service, the staff loves to hear it when I read the reviews & the comment about our comfy new beds, well we think sleep quality is an important part of enjoying a vacation.
We know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We booked this hotel for a week in February 2012. First time being in Playa del Carmen. Miguel and Steve and all the others were just great. Miguel was always willing to help us out with our Spanish and on telling us how to get to where we wanted to go.
The food at the restaurant was great. The french toast was out of this world for breakfast. Was able to get my coffee every morning with no problems at all.
The room was on facing the street but you also had a view of the ocean that was a block away. You were supplied with beach towels to go to the ocean and they also have a spot where you can go to get chairs for the beach to relax in.
The rooms were very clean and quiet. They had all that you would need. A water cooler was available for you to fill your water bottles or glasses with whenever you needed it. The rooms were cleaned every day.
I had no complaints what so ever and will definetely be back there to stay. We could not have asked for a more personal friendly experience as we had staying here. They were all just great people and the hotel was great also.
If you want a nice place to stay, stay here you will not regret it.
The beds were also the best. I would of even liked to have brought mine home it was so comfortable.
Thanks for a great stay
Cathy R
Upstate New York

Room Tip: Ocean room In the center of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you Cathy S for taking the time to write your review. Well ... I don't think you missed anything ....you covered it all, we were just happy that you enjoyed your stay & that you were able to experience our warmth & charm. And wow... I guess our mattresses are better then we expected......I knew should of bought one for myself.
Cathy, we know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the Mayan Riviera. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A very short walk to the beach. A great little restaurant on the main floor...you have to try the chicken soup....mmmmm .... there is an unbelievable roof top deck. If you have a problem with anything , ask the staff... they are hands on. They will do everything they can to make your stay the best it can be. The price is right, the rooms are beautiful. It is just off 5th ave.. its quiet... clean... safe....Its a 5 star in my books

Chris Lunder
Calgary Alberta.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you Chris L for your review. We really appreciate your kind words & that you had felt our warmth & charm, "nicest, friendliest little hotel"....... is just what we are going for. Our staff was delighted to hear your comment, especially the 5 Stars...... we now know we are accomplishing our goals & we feel fantastic to receive a comment like that. Chris, we know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the Mexican Riviera. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £58 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing