We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cielo
Nearby Hotels
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$806
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
641
199
39
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
199
39
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant downstairsrestaurant carboncitoschose hotelthe hotel's restaurantquaint hotelbalcony roomado bus stationmexican charmstreet noiserooftop barhot waterrestaurants and shopsbeach towelslocation was perfectfifth avenueceiling fanminute walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 904 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on her spring break from high school. Very unique hotel, great friendly service. Owner is from New York and bought hotel a few years ago. They were actually expecting us and greeted us by name without me telling them who we were when we arrived. A little noisy until about 10 at night, it's pretty quiet afterwards. Good air conditioning. Location can't be beat, one block from beach and 20 yards from 5th Avenue. Carbonitas is right next door, it's really good food but unfortunately has 5th Avenue prices, meaning too much for what you get. A couple will spend $50 for dinner, which too me is a bit much for Mexican food. However, the hotel gives a 50% off coupon to use there for breakfast, and that makes it a smoking hot deal. Best in town, actually. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request room in back of hotel away from street.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runsum313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you Runsum313 for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you & your daughter enjoyed yourselves & had a great experience. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant Carconcitos glad you enjoyed it.

Runsum313 , we know there are many Hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.

Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at Cielo in Feb 2009 and I had a nice time. It is centrally located on the main strip of restaurants, hotels, shops, and bus stop. It is a small hotel and they have an attached restaurant that served a great breakfast. Our hotel room had a little terrace that we sat out on and people watched below. We also had to go up a few flight of stairs to get to our room. Very relaxing views of the ocean from the terrace and from the rooftop, which you can access. We did switch hotels in the middle of our stay because we really wanted a pool, so we went to Hotel Aventura. Both places were nice to say, but I would not stay here if you want a big resort type of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lov33na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you Armanicoco for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we couldn't accommodate you with a pool, but our pool is The Caribbean sea less than a minute walk, but we understand some, of us do like pools. We are just glad you enjoyed you self & our restaurant Carboncitos. Armanicoco, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya.
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Hotel Cielo was all I could want and more. Clean, friendly, water in the hallways, helpful and super friendly staff. The restaurant was an added convenience and delicous, the discount for guests is excellent. The hotel is so centrally located, walk to everything, the beach, the bus, all without being right on the noisy part of the strip. I was so pleased with my stay I extended it 3 more days. I cannot wait to go back, I feel like I found a steal. One of my best vacations!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you Jennifer for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a wonderful vacation experience..... & we were delighted that you decided to stay 3 extra days.....it lets us know that we are on the right track. Jennifer, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just returned from Playa del Carmen. Stayed here again because it was great the first time! Convenient to our scuba shop, 5th Ave., & the beach. Highly recommend this small but clean hotel. No pool, no "fitness center", the beach is right there!

Room Tip: No pool or "fitness center" needed, the beach is right there!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lthomas132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you lthomas for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience. lthomas, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

On our first trip to Mexico, Hotel Ceilo was a lovely little place to stay. We were greeted with a warm welcome and given a choice of room which is always a good start. The Hotel is really central and the discount for breakfast and dinner at Carboncito's was a really nice touch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grizzlybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Grizzly banana, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We know you traveled a long way for your vacation & we are delighted that you had a wonderful time & that you were able to experience our warmth & charm. Grizzly banana, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & We hope in the future you will have a chance to travel back & visit us in the beautiful Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews