We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation!”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #19 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Greeneville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great vacation!”
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We were a group of 4 and enjoyed our stay at Hotel Cielo! The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of everything. Everyone at the hotel is helpful and friendly. Henri, the concierge, has lots of good information and is always willing to answer questions, arrange for transportation, etc. Breakfasts at the restaurant were delicious. We also enjoyed swimming in a cenote, and horseback riding at Rancho Punto Venado, which also offers a lovely beach, buffet, bar, ATV's, and jeeps. (Henri assisted with the reservation.)

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hihopes4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    188
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
131
354
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

The property is central with a great rooftop terrace. Some rooms have balconies from where you can view the action of the very busy '5th Street'.

The inclusive breakfast was better than average for most included breakfasts.

The street noise is more tolerable for the 18-25 crowd.

The bedding and beds could be upgraded to be more comfortable.

The beds are doubles, except for the two 'family rooms' which have a king and two doubles. Accordingly, most of the beds are too small for people who want to relax and unwind in a larger bed, but would be ok if you you go to bed drunk...

After having booked two rooms for a week and wanting to stay a few more nights, we thought the American owner (from New York) would have given us a room with a king for the same rate as a double room but he would not so we went to Hotel Lunata which is a few steps above in quality and has king size beds. Their breakfast and rooftop terrace are not as good, however.

  • Liked — Friendly front dsk staff
  • Disliked — Unaccommodating management
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beigewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cielo_Russell, Managing Partner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 15 June 2008
At Hotel Cielo, we're proud that our service consistently receives high rankings by Trip Advisor reviewers. In this particular instance, I dealt personally with the customer and we did everything possible to make his stay a comfortable and pleasant one. We did offer a discount for the room he requested, but he declined.

We believe that whether you spend $60 or $600 per night, you should return home from your vacation feeling relaxed and well-cared for. It's how we do business at Hotel Cielo, and it's why we receive so many repeat customers.
Russell Granger
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

This was our first stop on our Mexican tour and we absolutely loved it. Playa del Carmen is such a fabulous little locale and Hotel Cielo is the best place to stay. It is located a hop skip and jump from the beach, restaurants, bars and shops. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant is great. The rooms have all the mod cons, my only gripe would be the pillows - they were so hard! Tough to get a good nights sleep. Other than that though it was a wonderful 3 days and the perfect way to immerse ourselves into the Mexican culture.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — The pillows!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MBBCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Great hotel in the heart of PDC. The rooms a comfortable and clean. I recommend a room in the back of the hotel to hide from the noise of PDC. Great location for easy access to bus station and ferry to Cozumel. Keep in mind most hotels in PDC do not have parking so off site parking is necessary. There are several parking lots within walking distance to the hotel. I recommend the bus then if you want a car pick it up in PDC will save you a lot of parking fees.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank Will_this_name_take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2008

The Hotel Cielo is located right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen's restaurant and shopping district. Henry and the rest of the front desk staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is like a piece of history from the region. The tile-work, winding staircases and cozy balconies make it feel like an oasis when you return from a long day of adventuring.

We stayed in two rooms, at first I asked Henry for a quiet room and he gave us a room in the back of the hotel. It was quiet, but after I saw the balconies in the front of the hotel, I decided to upgrade. The upgraded room was bigger and I loved standing on the balcony at night and watching the street. I would recommend getting a balcony room if one is available.

If you are looking for a quaint hotel in the heart of the action, then the Hotel Cielo is the place for you.

  • Liked — The cozy and friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — A couple of cold showers.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jason32835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2008

My friends and I arrived in Playa del Carmen on a Tuesday without having booked a hotel reservation anywhere. We decided to take a chance and take a stroll along 5th avenue where we came upon Cielo Hotel. After Henry the concierge gave us a tour and showed us the room, we were all in total agreement and decided to stay the night. What a lovely hotel- beautiful decor, great service, friendly staff, continental breakfast for 2, internet cafe right downstairs...etc. It was only for one night but it was a great experience. My friends and I look forward to heading back to playa del carmen and staying there again. Besides, the owner is from NYC. what can i say, us New yorkers stick together :-) I recommend Cielo to anyone looking for a cozy, safe, comfortable and inexpensive hotel right in the heart of 5th avenue.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank jcmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2008

are the top three things I would rave about after staying at Hotel Cielo for 10 days. The staff (even the cleaning lady) are extremely friendly and always greet everyone with a smile. Henry who works at the front desk is especially helpful and funny. He knows a lot of information about certain tours and can help arrange them for you. He also has great suggestions on where to find tasty Mexican food and seafood that are not overpriced like at some of the other restaurants in the area.

The hotel is located in the middle of restaurants, souvenir shops, and stores. The beach is just one block down the street. The ADO bus station is a 10 minute walk away so getting to and from the airport and other places is very convenient. There is also a Walmart (with a bakery!) several blocks away that is within walking distance.

Carboncitos, the restaurant downstairs, serves really good tacos, fresh fruit smoothies, and the best guacamole. I tried guacamole from two other restaurants in the area and was greatly disappointed after having it at Carboncitos. Mario was our usual waiter and he is very polite and attentive.

Overall, I was satisfied and happy with this hotel. I would return and recommend this place to friends. However, from my perspective, some cons about this hotel might be:

- no in-room safety box, mini fridge, or blow dryer
- only one small mirror in each room
- the bed is kind of small for two people
- some rooms have windows facing the walkway so curtains cannot be pulled back to get some sun
- drilling/construction noises on some early mornings woke us up

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank epicurean_spygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#82 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Property: Hotel Cielo
Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing