We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed in Mexico!”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #11 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hotel Cielo was the last stop in our honeymoon tour of this area of Mexico. We booked a room with a King size bed and balcony, and it also had a great view of 5a Avenida (and the beach beyond.) The hotel is within a few blocks of the ferry to Cozumel and right in the middle of the tourist zone of Playa.

The room and furnishings were nice - we had a king bed and two double beds, and the King bed was the most comfortable mattress during our entire stay there! There was some kind of amazing foam topper on it and the A/C pointed directly at the bed so we slept like rocks (though the A/C took quite some time to cool the room down - the windows and doors aren't insulated so I wasn't surprised.) It was wonderful to sit on the balcony and watch the tourists go by at night. We did have to step out of our room to get the Wifi signal, which was the only major inconvenience as we needed to check into our flight and the signal wasn't quite strong enough.

The breakfast (50% off! Woo!) at Carboncito's is delicious. I had the Chilaquiles one morning and the french toast the next - both tasty. The french toast disappeared especially quickly, and the croissants are perfectly toasted. Didn't get a chance to eat dinner there though - next time!

The best part about Cielo was the people. We caught the owner (Steven, was that you? Where do you guys buy your soap and shampoo? I am hopelessly addicted to them now) outside reception at one point and he took a good 20 minutes out of his day to talk to us about everything from the meat in Mexico to the mattresses to how great the doctors and dentists are in the country. All of the reception and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful as well.

The location can't be beat - close to the tourist center, but within walking distance of places that are a bit more interesting and off the beaten track. Close to the ADO as well! Definitely recommend Hotel Cielo if you are in Playa!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you Wanderlust for taking the time to write your review

"Most Comfortable Beds in Mexico"........I will have to agree......I even bought one for my own home because they were so dreamlike.

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.

Wanderlust, we know there are many hotels in Playa, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner / manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Firstly, what they don't mention in the description is their amazing restaurant and the discounts off your meals if you're a hotel guest - 50% off breakfast? Yes please!!!

Anyway to the hotel. We chose an ocean view room and to be honest I almost sprained my neck trying to see the ocean. They may well be up against some trade description claims in future ;-) But that aside, the room was perfect; very large comfortable bed, WiFi, flat screen TV... couldn't have asked for more.

The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and English speaking for those whose Spanish is limited, like mine. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Location wise you are slap bang in the middle of 5th Avenue and a two minute walk to the beach, coach station, coffee shops, bars....

If you're visiting Playa you won't do better than this hotel for the price, restaurant and service.


Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Fostermattj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you Fostermattj for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your self & had a great stay.

As for the view, that is exactly what it is, we are very explicit in our description that we are a block from the beach & all photos on our site are accurate portrayal. We would never want to mislead any of our future guests & you are the first to mention it. We never say beach front & balcony with sea view is correct terminology, was confirmed legally before posted, our apologies that you felt differently.

With that aside, we are happy that you were happy, thank you for mentioning our comfy beds, our restaurant & especially our staff, they really do go out of their way.

Fostermattj, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when your return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera.
Owner
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We live in Cozumel and on our way back from a trip to Europe we missed the ferry and had to stay a night in Playa. Some of our customers had told us of good experiences at Hotel Cielo and since it's only about a block and a half from the bus station we thought we'd give it a try. Outstanding!! They accommodated my wife and I, our two children and the dog for one night. We were expecting some "bare bones" lodging for the evening because of the price, but wow, comfortable beds, every room is unique and somebody knows how to maintain a property. Anyway, that was only one night, my wife and I had the chance to get off the island for a couple days to unwind and get some shopping done for our biz and decided to try them again. We can't say enough about this place.... but I'll try... Clean, great service at front desk, comfortable rooms, beautiful creative decorating and design, functional, quiet and they give you a whole list of restaurants with HUGE discounts... we'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 24 is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wetwendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you Wendy for taking the time to write your review

Wendy , it was a pleasure meeting you & your family .

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay yet again.

Wendy, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

we always stay here for our first night in playa. catch ADO for airport to playa and walk a few block to cielo. everyone is so nice. they always take care of us and will give us a great room. this hotel has a geart location and price. always clean , nice beds and great staff. we will be back in may 2014. we have stayed here 7 or 8 times now and just love it. and a great deal for breakfast. see ya soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nc-1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you NC1 Traveler for taking the time to write your review

2 ND HOME......We love it that you feel this way & your review lets us know we are on the right path.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay once again with Hotel Cielo & look forward to seeing you return in May

N/C, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo

Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I'll start off by letting you know that the only downfall to my incredible stay here... was that at some point it had to come to an end (and i did extend twice!)

I frequently travel to the Mayan Riviera as the beach here is unparalleled, and often stay in different accommodations searching for places that "do it right". To put it simply, Hotel Cielo is raising the bar for the hotels in Playa del Carmen. This spot is a true gem with an unbeatable location, immaculate rooms and a truly hospitable staff.

My second floor room was very reasonably priced and pristine in terms of cleanliness (as was the entire hotel). The decor was simple yet tastefully executed and exuded an authentic Mexican charm. Every time I turned around I found a hard worker making the place "shine" to its best.

The staff throughout the entire hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. They set up all of my transportation needs without a glitch, provided me with wake up calls when requested and gave me the best of recommendations for restaurants and activities.

The location is ideal for excellent dining & shopping options (although I'll warn you - you may not stray away from their own restaurant, Carboncitos as the food is exquisite). The beach is within very short walking distance and perfect for a day of relaxation. And for the more adventurous - there are many options for visiting nearby Cenotes and jungle excursions (just inquire at the front desk!)

I will most definitely return and without a doubt recommend it to my family and friends. Thank you again to the owners and staff for a remarkable stay - your hard work and excellent customer service did not go unrecognized!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjstravels110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you SJS for your review.

Well this is just what we strive for & thank you for noticing.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your your stay & had a chance to experience our warmth & charm.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, They are such an important part of our success & is oneof the reasons we are a top contender herein Playa.

SJS, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera.

Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here after flying into Cancun on our way to Cozumel. The hotel is a short walk from the ADO bus station and was a welcome sight after a day of traveling. They greeted us by name and settled us into a cozy room. We had an excellent dinner at the restaurant, slept soundly in the quiet room, and awoke to enjoy a delicious breakfast at half price in the restaurant. A short walk to the ferry took us to Cozumel, but we agreed that we would love to stay in this charming hotel for a longer stay next time. Close to the beach and shops, excellent service and food, comfortable rooms, all at a great price. No pool or fitness center, but who needs them when the beach is within sight? Would highly recommend this hotel for a stopover in Playa, or a longer stay to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you SJH45 for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your your stay & had a chance to experience our warmth & charm.

Well it sounds like everything was perfect & we also hope you decide to stay longer next time you visit us

SJH45, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera.

Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There are places you travel far for that you have plans set in mind. Waking up at hotel Cielo starts with a great breakfast then the adventure begins. From a relaxing day on the beach with great ceviche or zip line in the jungle. It is all there to do as little or as much as you want. Cielo is located in the heart of everything. The staff is always giving great advise of where to go and what to do to make the most of your time in Playa del Carmen or neighboring towns. I recomment this hotel for an easy nad accomadating vacation spot!

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,929 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,375 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing