We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff!”
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cielo
Ranked #24 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with wonderful staff!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My roommates and I stayed at Hotel Cielo for our spring break and had such a good experience and great stay. We were there for 4 nights and stayed in the Family style room, which had one king, one queen, and one twin sized bed. It fit all 5 of us very comfortably, and we especially loved our balcony overlooking the beach and the streets of Playa. The hotel also has purified water dispensers, which guests can use free of charge. This helped us save a TON of money. The hotel was also a quick walk down the street to the beach and right in town, which was really convenient. I think what made our stay even better was the wonderful staff that works at the hotel, including the owner. They were all so accommodating, friendly and helpful. They always had great suggestions and recommendations when we asked them for good places to eat, and were always willing to answer any other questions we had. One of my friends accidentally left her class ring in the safe after we had left. The staff looked for it immediately when I emailed them and are giving it to a friend who lives in Playa to bring back to the States next time she comes. I think this really attests to the honesty of the staff and the great customer service you will find at the hotel. We really felt at home at Hotel Cielo and would absolutely go back. We only wish we were there longer!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you Casey for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success.

Thank you for the recommendations

Casey, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    188
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
131
354
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This small friendly hotel is very convenient for travellers, just a short walk from the bus terminal and two minutes from the beach. Hosts Steve and Alejandra made me feel at home as I stayed for a couple of nights on the way to Cuba. The restaurant at street level serves delicious Mexican food and is a nice place to hang out chatting with Steve and his friends and watching the passers-by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you Pedro for taking the time to write your review

We see that you traveled a great distance & we are delighted that we were able to add to your vacation

It was a pleasure to have met you & we are delighted that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm.

Pedro, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed Feb 2-Feb 9, 2014. Perfect location in Playa. 2 blocks from ADO bus station. 2 blocks from the beach. 3 blocks to ferry. Stayed in King Balcony Room 11. No problems with plumbing. Bed was super comfortable. Air conditioning, ceiling fan and all lighting and electrical outlets worked perfectly. Free agua pura in public areas to refill your personal bottles. Staff was friendly and polite. $10 deposit (cash only) for beach towels, returned at end of stay. No agreements with beach clubs for free day use but not an issue for us. We went to Wicky's at The Faro as recommended by front desk staff and had a fine time.Free wifi worked fine in room and restaurant (Carboncita's). 50% discount at breakfast if staying in hotel. 10% off all other meals. Food was fabulous, every meal. Great cappucino's. Great omelets. Great seafood.Would stay here again if ever in Playa.

Room Tip: Loved the King Balcony Room 11. Was noisy until 11pm or so most nights because of popularity of rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virgin_Rose_917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you Virgin for taking the time to write your review
.
Thank you for the kind words & we are delighted that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm.

We know you are on vacation & we are just happy you had a great vacation expeirince

Virgin, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My flight was cancelled the day of my trip and I was concerned I would lose my reservation at the hotel. The owner was very accommodating and responsive via email and changed my reservation dates. I felt completely comfortable at the property, ran in the morning, and had wonderfully great advice about which restaurants I might want to check out, where to change money, and a wealth of information about attractions (and off the beaten path attractions) that I should check out. It was a wonderful experience, far more personal and home like than any property I've visited. I will totally be back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolaCityGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you City Girl for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm.

Thank you for the kind words & we are happy that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

City Girl, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a great hotel for the money! It is located right in the center of shopping, right near the beach, with a great restaurant next door. Owner Steven K is a super cool guy that knows how to treat customers!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTwinzmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you Boston Twinsmama for taking the time to write your review

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.

And thank you for mentioning our restaurant Caroncitos, we have really been making some changes there, glad you enjoyed it.

Boston Twinsmama, we know there are many hotelss in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great place just off 5th Ave. My golfing buddies and I go south every year and chose Playa this year. We have always stayed at resorts but decided to stay in town this year. We stayed here and had a great time. We had the room above the restaurant Carboncitos, which is wonderful too, with a balcony. I would recommend it with all the street music that comes out. The staff at the front counter helped out when asked everytime.

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you Pete L for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm.
And thank you for noticing, it really let’s us know we are heading in the right direction

We really appreciate mentioning the staff, they are part of our extended family & they are a large part of our success & we couldn't do it with out them.

Pete L, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We are so glad we chose Hotel Cielo. We chose it based on it's location. We remembered 5th Ave as a thriving pedestrian area with lots of bars, restaurants and shopping so to us this meant "people watching"! We specifically requested the room with a balcony overlooking 5th Ave. It turned out to be that and so much more. The restaurant on the main floor was DELICIOUS, entertaining and affordable (hotel guests receive a discount). And the co-owner, Steve was friendly, helpful, approachable and full of interesting stories! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeaton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you Aeton for taking the time to write your review

Well....now your are part of our family , just like all past Cielo guests & this is just what we strive for, thank you for noticing

We really appreciate the kind words & we are delighted that we were able to help create a great vacation experience for you.


It really was a pleasure to have met you both Aeton & we know there are many hotels & restaurants in Playa del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & Carboncitos & we look forward to seeing you when you return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera
Owner
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#83 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Property: Hotel Cielo
Address: 4th Street, Between 5th And 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "Original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $79 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $119. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos. 50% Off Breakfast Included only with Direct Hotel Booking. Hotel Cielo and Carboncitos are both staples of Playa del Carmen and having hosting woderful guest from all around the world for over 13 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing