We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place right on the beach, well run I will be back”
Review of Popol Vuh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popol Vuh
Ranked #128 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place right on the beach, well run I will be back”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Popol Vuh is perfectly situated in the Centre of Playa del Carmen with its own beach entrance, the accommodation is excellent in terms of value for money, the staff are very friendly and do their best to make your stay a happy one. I stayed 10 days and will return before I leave Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    47
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
12
65
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Dirty rooms. Dirty bathroom. Sink area in bathroom floods everyday due to poordrainage. Bedbugs. Filthy kitchen area. Refrigerater is disgusting. Infrastructure is literally falling apart around you. The only redeeming quality is a very good breakfast and great-great location.

Room Tip: Stayed here for years. Began as a good value, keeping in mind it IS a hostel. But each year cleanlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richchstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

very nice!!!! stay here 30 days thanks Gama !!!! hope to come back soon and hangout with you!!! he will tell you where to go and take you on a tour on his day off is just a fun experience the only down side about the hostel is that there were ants on our room and when it rains it gets some water into the room.

Room Tip: hang out with Gama hes the maaaannn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvHOGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The dorm had bed bugs! I got bitten on the first night, but they didn't get particularly inflamed until the next day. When i told the receptionist, they persuaded me it was sandfly bites from the beach. Unfortunately I accepted this (still tired after a long flight) after the receptionist examined the bed and couldnt find anything. The next night I got really badly bitten all over my body. So I flipped the mattress and it was infested! I was offered only a refund for one night, i didnt have time to argue as i had to catch a bus. They should have offered to wash my bag and everyone elses in the dorm.

Whatever you do, do not stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We loved living here in march 2013!!
Just around the corner of the hotel building is the beach located, so you litterally have sand from the beach under your feet constantly. GREAT staff, really nice people. We forgot our camera at the shared hammocks, but the staff took it into the reception untill we found out it was lost. The breakfast is good - very nice butter, just like home :-)
Rooms are nice too.
If we come back to Playa del Carmen, we will definitely come back to this wonderfull place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majalentzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Nice, cosy & clean place with 1 m away from the beach. Hammock sleeping option. Breakfast included. Just opposite the Popol Vuh bar with nice cold Negra Modelo & kind barman.Perfect!Perfect! Especially twin rooms!Helpful staff.I would recommend for easy-going people with no hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myadesignstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I first stayed here a couple years ago.Very close to the beach,beach bars with excellent live music( Bad Boys and Wah Wahs),lots of good places to eat nearby, short walk to collectivos.
Rooms and dorms are clean and very reasonably priced.Staff very helpful and bilingual in english and spanish.
I love the common area with tables, kitchen, grill and hammocks under the trees.I meet lots of interesting people here from all over the world.Very easy to meet and socialise here,people eat and drink together here a lot.My favorite place to stay in Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Let them know if having a bathroom in the room is important to you.They have rooms with and without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#37 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#126 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#185 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#122 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#138 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popol Vuh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popol Vuh

Property: Popol Vuh
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre 5a Avenida y Zona Federal Maritima S/N | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popol Vuh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Popol Vuh, one of the first affordable accommodation, nestled in the best location in Playa del Carmen. Half a block from Fifth Avenue and steps from one of the best beaches in the city. But being in the best location does not make it noisy, on the contrary, Popol Vuh is an oasis that will make you forget you are in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The garden surrounded by palm trees will offer you a feeling of peace and tranquility you are looking to relax. We have a kitchen that has everything you need to prepare your own food, as well as to organize a barbecue grill in the garden and a speaker where you can connect your iPod or any device and become the dj. We do not have a pool, but ¡hey!, remember that the beach is just a few steps. We have 2 wireless networks so you're always connected through to your mobile, laptop or tablet. At the reception you can print your boarding passes or anything you need. You only have to ask. Our staff will be always thoughtful to your needs and will provide you with the best tips for you to know the best places in town, you can reserve and buy any tour with them. Popol Vuh is for all types of travelers, whether you're traveling alone, with family, with friends or family. Our restaurant bar is located right in front and you can enjoy a wide variety of traditional Mexican dishes, cold beers, margaritas and enjoy your favorite sports. We have 14 private rooms, we have a place for everyone. There are six rooms with air-conditioning, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar; Three cabanas with private bathrooms and fans and five cabanas with fans and shared bathroom. Service daily cleaning and parking for up to three cars (if previously requested). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Popol Vuh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Popol Vuh Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Bed And Breakfast Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing