We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for couples”
Review of Popol Vuh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popol Vuh
Ranked #133 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good place for couples”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This little hostel has an amazing location, seconds away from the main street, though it keeps a chilled atmosphere. The rooms are in small cabanas, the staff is very friendly and will help you for many things, we even had one of the guys make us enter for free at a disco. Since there are many couples, it's not a party place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_RC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    47
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
12
65
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I went I my own and had a great time. The staff was very helpfull. If you need anything just ask Gama.
Gama organized a field trip for us and we had a great time. He is well known in Playa and He can help you out on your needs.
It was very clean, it rifgt at the Beach and 5 Ave.
I would go back anytime :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed 2 nights there. They are located on the beach. You can put your stuff in the lockers, leave your keys to the reception and take a walk on the beach. It rained when I was there but it didn't matter because I was in my swimsuit and didn't need to walk off the beach to return anyways. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Popol Vuh is perfectly situated in the Centre of Playa del Carmen with its own beach entrance, the accommodation is excellent in terms of value for money, the staff are very friendly and do their best to make your stay a happy one. I stayed 10 days and will return before I leave Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Dirty rooms. Dirty bathroom. Sink area in bathroom floods everyday due to poordrainage. Bedbugs. Filthy kitchen area. Refrigerater is disgusting. Infrastructure is literally falling apart around you. The only redeeming quality is a very good breakfast and great-great location.

Room Tip: Stayed here for years. Began as a good value, keeping in mind it IS a hostel. But each year cleanlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richchstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

very nice!!!! stay here 30 days thanks Gama !!!! hope to come back soon and hangout with you!!! he will tell you where to go and take you on a tour on his day off is just a fun experience the only down side about the hostel is that there were ants on our room and when it rains it gets some water into the room.

Room Tip: hang out with Gama hes the maaaannn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvHOGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The dorm had bed bugs! I got bitten on the first night, but they didn't get particularly inflamed until the next day. When i told the receptionist, they persuaded me it was sandfly bites from the beach. Unfortunately I accepted this (still tired after a long flight) after the receptionist examined the bed and couldnt find anything. The next night I got really badly bitten all over my body. So I flipped the mattress and it was infested! I was offered only a refund for one night, i didnt have time to argue as i had to catch a bus. They should have offered to wash my bag and everyone elses in the dorm.

Whatever you do, do not stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#184 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#93 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#63 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
488 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#125 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popol Vuh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popol Vuh

Property: Popol Vuh
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre 5a Avenida y Zona Federal Maritima S/N | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popol Vuh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Popol Vuh, one of the first affordable accommodation, nestled in the best location in Playa del Carmen. Half a block from Fifth Avenue and steps from one of the best beaches in the city. But being in the best location does not make it noisy, on the contrary, Popol Vuh is an oasis that will make you forget you are in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The garden surrounded by palm trees will offer you a feeling of peace and tranquility you are looking to relax. We have a kitchen that has everything you need to prepare your own food, as well as to organize a barbecue grill in the garden and a speaker where you can connect your iPod or any device and become the dj. We do not have a pool, but ¡hey!, remember that the beach is just a few steps. We have 2 wireless networks so you're always connected through to your mobile, laptop or tablet. At the reception you can print your boarding passes or anything you need. You only have to ask. Our staff will be always thoughtful to your needs and will provide you with the best tips for you to know the best places in town, you can reserve and buy any tour with them. Popol Vuh is for all types of travelers, whether you're traveling alone, with family, with friends or family. Our restaurant bar is located right in front and you can enjoy a wide variety of traditional Mexican dishes, cold beers, margaritas and enjoy your favorite sports. We have 14 private rooms, we have a place for everyone. There are six rooms with air-conditioning, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar; Three cabanas with private bathrooms and fans and five cabanas with fans and shared bathroom. Service daily cleaning and parking for up to three cars (if previously requested). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Popol Vuh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Popol Vuh Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Bed And Breakfast Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing