We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach hotel, ALL INCLUSIVE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Ranked #100 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 19 March 2014

ALL INCLUSIVE to the end...very spacious room with nice view to pool. Althought is very spacious you'll need sometimes a golf car to transport you to lobby or other activities. Night entertainment is pretty awesome...the restaurants are great, specially oriental

Room Tip: Rooms near beach could get loudy, I rather select the ones to tropical view, but they're far fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,366 - 3,372 of 10,098 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I visited with a lot of family for a 12 day holiday back in August 2013. I have been on several all inclusive holidays and this was by far the best. The food was excellent; with plenty of choice. Well kept resort and great service from all the staff. Would highly recommend this holiday. Great for family, friends and couples.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We just got back from a six night stay and it was okay. This was our sixth time to that area and the first time to the Blue Bay resort. Would we go back? Probably not. We were in building six which was closest to the smallest of the two pools which had its own bar and a restaurant area which served breakfast and lunch. The pool there was four-feet deep and had steps which went into the pool and a few areas where you could sit in the water without actually being fully submerged. Also at the pool were chairs that are in the water's edge so you can dangle your feet in the water while lounging on them. There is five areas with wooden hangovers which provide some shade while sunbathing, bathrooms, a towel checkout area and a small selection of books also by the pool area. We spent the majority of our vacation in this area talking to people, drinking, eating and enjoying the sun. We did venture into town for shopping which the resort has a shuttle which runs at three different times a day for $5 USA dollars per person each way and its about a 25 minute ride. Inside the resort, it is a lot of walking from one side of the resort to the other. We were located in building six which was away from the beach side which also had rooms. When we walked from one side of the resort to the other, on the walkway, it took us about 15 minutes on a leisurely pace. Lots of pretty foliage along the way but it was a pretty decent walk. Inside the resort, there are a few shops: jewelry, swimwear and a general shop that carries suntan lotion, vanilla, sunglasses, beach toys, shirts, souvenirs, etc.
Pros:
Service staff is friendly and very hard working
Great view off our deck with birds and coatis everywhere
Room was big and clean inside
Our area was quiet
Spacious walkways and a beautiful atmosphere
Lots of pool area to cool off and plenty of chairs (not necessarily in the shade but there were chairs)
Beds were big and not as hard as the other resorts that we have stayed in
Lots of closet space
Great shower with the rainfall shower head
Drinks were good and they had brand name alcohol, if you asked for it. The bartenders would make you anything you wanted, if you asked for it. They worked super hard too!
There is a resort shuttle that runs to the beach (larger pool, more resort rooms), to the smaller pool area and to the shopping area where the dinner restaurant is.

Cons:
Internet service was terrible everywhere
I found a bug in my bed the first night.
No drink menu at the bar - first resort we have ever had this issue in
Not a lot of hot water in the shower and sometimes no hot water at all
Coke products to drink (I am a Pepsi drinker)
Smoke alarm is located over the bed so it kept flashing all night long
No swim up bar and no one coming around with drinks - this was just different than the other resorts we have been to.
You get one key so when you leave each day the following gets shut off: air conditioning, lights, the clock and the refrigerator. When you come back into the room you put the key into a slot inside your room and everything clicks on. I understand their logic but its annoying to have a hot room, reset the clock and have a warm refrigerator.
Food is not really changed up that much each day.
Our air conditioning was super cold even though we had it set to 80 degrees.
No munchies during the day and you can't take food out of the restaurant area - so no snacking in the pool area.
There is really no social gathering area. They have a sports bar but the music is pretty loud in there with some games for kids to play so it could get loud. The main entry area had no area to pull tables together and there was nowhere to get drinks so it was mainly an area to welcome guests and to meet transportation. One day it rained and we were looking for somewhere to go to meet people and hang out and it seemed that everyone went back to their rooms or ate. It's a shame. As with other resorts, the social gathering area provided entertainment for the guests to provide a festive environment and brought people together.

There you have it. Check out time is noon but for us, our van was not coming till 4 so we asked for a later check out time. After a few days of going back and forth with the front desk if that would be okay, they said we could check out at 3. They charge you $10.00 an hour for each hour after noon you stay so we paid $30 USA dollars to check out at 3 pm. We then thought we would grab something to eat for lunch until 4 when our van would be there. That worked out fine.

Great story: Just before we went back to change our clothes after being at the pool all morning and afternoon so we could check out and head home, we went to pack up our beach bag and our towels. As I went to grab our bag, a gentlemen came up to me and told me that another guy and himself saw something that they could not believe just happened. Making sure that it was our stuff on the chair, he proceeded to tell me that a monkey had just stole my bag and dragged it off into the jungle (which was behind our chairs). Lots of wonderful people came over to see if they could help us out and they couldn't believe the story either. But with our cellphones, room key and a couple other things inside, we needed to find that bag. My husband went to talk to the bartender and he was no help so my husband went to talk to the women who was seated at the desk in front the Building 6 and they rounded up some ground keeping staff. I had found my way into the jungle via the back way and was looking everywhere for the bag (it's pretty creepy in there). We did find everything about 5 feet into the jungle. Some people can be so helpful and caring in the most difficult situation. A lot of people thanked us for giving them a great vacation story but it just goes to show me that you just never know what can happen on vacation.

Room Tip: Building six was located next to the smaller of the two pools, by a bar and a restaurant that served...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLSIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

First of all, I am not a hotel tester or restaurant critic. My wife and I where looking for nice week
of sunshine. Since we decided late we had several options but the Blue bay was the most
promising for a good price. The years before we stayed in more expensive resorts in Jamaica, but this year we wanted to give Mexico a shot again. I have to say that the Blue Bay delivered
all we hoped for. We found the overall experience very pleasant. The room was nice, the food
was plenty and delicious. The pool was huge and there was always room to lounge. The beach
was big enough for us. So was there anything that wasn't perfect? You bet there was. But always considering the price we paid, it was nothing major. For all you guests that are complaining about the food and beach and all the other things, spend more money next time
and you will have nothing the complain. Even in high end resorts things go wrong and since
everybodys tast is different, there will always be issues with the food.
So if somebody is reading these reviews to help to decide, you will find good value at the
Blue bay. If what you read is a concern, spend more money and try next door.
I would go back, but I think next year is Jamaicas turn again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tombea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beach is crap. Full of rocks in the water and muddy areas u have to trek through to get to the nice parts. Food was crap...stay the hell away from the breakfast...bacon, sausage, french toast...it was all terrible. Dinner was OK. Rooms are very basic. You end up locking yourself out at least once cause screen door locks behind you. Wish they told us that as we were stuck for almost an hour. The guy who carried a girls bag I was with got all pissy and huffy puffy when he wasnt happy with the tip. Someone needs to tell that guy if every bag boy got $5 per bag he carried then everyone in the world would be applying for his job. Drinks were weak unless you asked for a double. Walking distance is outragous between buildings. Was there for a wedding and the wedding dinner we were given was a tiny filet minion (cooked well though ill give the cook credit where its due) half of a potato and half of a tomato....was starving after. Only reason I didnt full out hate this resort was because I got a free upgrade to the master suite...but even then I wouldnt go back even if I got the same room. The beach was the biggest turn off. Ive seen nicer beaches in the great lakes.

I also read a review on here a while ago about how someone had a leaky roof and it collapsed in the bathroom....well months later my friend got the same room cause he had the same problem....of 10 rooms we had there 4 of them had leaky showers that spread water all over the rooms. If the price was cheaper the resort would be OK....but for what they want you can find a better resort with a WAYYYY better beach if you just look a bit harder. Would love to return to mexico...just not the BBGE

Room Tip: if you must stay here try and ask for rooms 5116 5226 5336 or 5446
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I visited this resort a week ago and was initially concerned by the views. First, the resort is BEAUTIFUL! The views are gorgeous and for the most part the staff try very hard and work very hard as well. Before being dropped of f, we visited the other resorts, and by far y this was the most attractive. This is a modern resort and you will see by all the little touches. The main pools by the beach are large, and you will have to reserve a spot early to get a "prime location", meaning shaded.... but if you are happy with any chair, then you will find one any time of day. FOOD- the food was very good, lot's of choices for anyone, YOU WONT STARVE trust me. The only downfall is the beach is just "ok" but you have heard that already. Check in could have been a little smoother and the one card per room was a bit of a hassle for the first day, second day you could have more cards. Dont understand that? Overall, this resort is beautiful, and eventually one day I will be back again. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle L m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home. We almost switched hotels day one and regret our decision to "tough it out". The pool is actually coated in green algae. It's too crowded and we got a restaurant reservation only one night, of four. Which is sad, because the food was this resort's only positive attribute. Finally, (the clincher) our toilet leaked and came
Off it's base with waste from who knows all over the floor. With that, the staff took 17 hours to fix it, which they rigged, again. We had to use the restroom 4 floors down. No one cleans up. I feel bad for the staff, there are not nearly enough. There is no swim up bar!!!! It is too packed, no seats at bar or beach. Overall disaster and very disappointing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Maurakwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,976 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,885 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#24 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Grand Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300 | Camino a la Pileta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#78 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £104 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Grand Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 979
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in an area of 445 acres in a prime position on the beach on the Riviera Maya, BlueBay Grand Esmeralda combines elegant Mayan features with contemporary design and a wide range of service to suit the most discerning traveller. BlueBay Grand Esmeralda provides a relaxed atmosphere for holiday makers. The hotel features 979 elegant and well-appointed rooms and suites with the option of a sea or garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your BlueBay Grand Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Esmeralda
Bluebay Grand Esmeralda Hotel
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Mayan Riviera
Grand Esmeralda
Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Resort
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Beach Resort Spa
Blue Bay Esmerelda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing