We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Ranked #97 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Western Shore, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Vacation and will return”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have just finished reading some of the reviews and can not figure out why some did not like the resort. I stayed there in April and loved the resort. Yes the beach is not great but the pool areas make up for it. The food was great and did not have any problems getting into any of the a la carts . Like any resort room location depends on the supplier it is booked through . We booked through Transat and the room location and service was great. I would return to the Blue Bay and would recommend this resort for great food , clean rooms , service and location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,866
    3,364
    1,573
    744
    630
See reviews for
2,393
4,253
170
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,969)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our second visit to this resort and it didn't disappoint the 2nd time around. The on site restaurants are amazing especially the steak house. The staff are very attentive and there are many on hand. The pool area has entertainment during the day with lots of different things going on or there is a smaller pool on the other side of the report with a snack bar also. The beach isn't the best, but this is a small thing in comparison to the rest of the things the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I'm going next week to this hotel any advice if there is a good place we can go to soo close to this hotels has got a beatuful beatch thank you !! Every one is saying the beatch is not very nice and black So dissepointed before ever going !!!?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mishoo252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I travelled solo and stayed at this hotel. It is average at best however before booking I would consider the following;
1) in my 5 day stay I was unable to get into any a la carte restaurants
2) no music or atmosphere at the pool
3) rooms are rundown and have a musty smell
4) bathroom are not clean and have mold present in grouting
5) shuttles rarely come by and when they do are often full
6) resort is large
7) staff is friendly
8) buffet is excellent
9) availability of premium liquor
10) beach is small and not nice
11) time share sales in lobby are aggressive
12) location in proximity to town and airport is excellent
13) rooms and hallways are dimly lit and loud
Overall I would not recommend this location and will not stay there again as a solo traveller. For the dollars spent to stay at this resort I would choose a different one.

Room Tip: There are no truly good room for non time share people. You will have to walk at least 10 minutes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kletke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This resort is VERY NICE, but the beach is the worst I have EVER seen. Florida beaches are a million times better and the reason I came to Riviera Maya was for beautiful water. You will NOT find it at this place. The water itself is BLACK. It looks like an oil spill but it isn't. I have no idea why this stretch of Riviera Maya is so horrible. You can walk to the left about 15 minutes and find a small but beautiful lagoon with clear water. It's on part of another resort and partially blocked off. We were told you could walk to Playa Del Carmen in an hour so away we went down the beach to the right. It took nearly 3 hours to get there but we saw some amazing beaches along the way. You can walk about a mile down and find great water. If you get stuck at this resort, I recommend booking excursions and taking hikes.

Food here was delicious. We ate at the dinner buffet once and was very good. Breakfast and lunch buffets were good. We LOVED the A la carte restaurants the best! The French restaurant was our favorite, then Italian, then Seafood then the steakhouse. The steaks were tough but good. We did not dine Asian or Mexican a la carte. Food presentation and flavor was just fantastic as was the service.

There are a few places on the resort that smell so nasty you could vomit. The bridge from building 5 to the pools is so bad you have to hold your breath and run across it. The smell is isolated to a few spots which is good.

Pools were very clean and so nice as was the entire property.

Entertainment was nearly non existent. They had one beach party that was about an hour long. Other than the nightly shows, not much going on. We got very bored very quickly esp since the beach was so horrible. :(

There are plenty of bars. Service varies. Tip...as you should!!!! Beverages were great! Lots of great quality liquors and cold dos xx beer on tap. Try a mango tango! MMMM

Our room was AWESOME. The sheets were soft and clean and were the pillows and mattresses. Mini fridge was always replenished early in the day.

Overall, the resort itself was fantastic. The beach was so bad that I would never ever go back. But that's what is most important to me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiffany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deming, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had our family vacation at the Blue Bay Esmarelda and it was an amazing 8 days. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the food was great. Oh, and the guys at the on-site dive shop, Dive-X, were awesome! The only thing that was a little disapointing was the beach. The water right in front of the resort is not as blue as other beaches. They say it is because of the mangroves. The resort grounds are immpecable and the surrounding mangroves are home to some really cool wildlife. We saw deer, iguanas, and kudamundies. I highly recommend BBE, where you are treated like family!

Room Tip: If you want to be by the beach ask for a room in building 1 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Staff were great, very friendly. Rooms were very quiet and comfortable. Everything was very clean. The grounds were beautiful. Food was delicious. The place is huge, so if you don't like walking I wouldn't suggest this place. For the most part had no problems with the walk since we just went between between getting food and drinks and more food and more drinks! :) The photographer on site is really good; loved that they brought in parrots and a toucan to to photos with and you only have to pay if you want to buy a photo. Only reason I didn't give it 5 out of 5 was because they did need some more carts running to give rides and the beach in front is terrible. But super nice swimming if you walked down the beach a bit! I'd go back to another BlueBay.

Room Tip: If you want less walking get a room in the buildings by the beach. Buildings not by the beach were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shauna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,586 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
18.2 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
6.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,874 reviews
12.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Grand Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

Property: BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300 | Camino a la Pileta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#78 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Grand Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 979
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in an area of 445 acres in a prime position on the beach on the Riviera Maya, BlueBay Grand Esmeralda combines elegant Mayan features with contemporary design and a wide range of service to suit the most discerning traveller. BlueBay Grand Esmeralda provides a relaxed atmosphere for holiday makers. The hotel features 979 elegant and well-appointed rooms and suites with the option of a sea or garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your BlueBay Grand Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Esmeralda
Bluebay Grand Esmeralda Hotel
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Mayan Riviera
Grand Esmeralda
Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Resort
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Beach Resort Spa
Blue Bay Esmerelda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing