We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright and cheerful, helpful staff, close to beach and 5th Avenue”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Bright and cheerful, helpful staff, close to beach and 5th Avenue”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the small boutique LunaSol. It is a bright, cheerful and peaceful place with a small pool and lots of vegetation. Congratulations to the architect for building around mature trees! Our room was spacious with two beds. A small balcony overlooking the garden. We did have problems with the three remote controls we were given to operate the TV and AC. Similar problems with the fridge and safe. Resolving these involved several visits to reception. However, with new batteries and further instruction all were soon in working order. Water pressure in the shower was poor. There is no breakfast served but there is a kitchen area which guests can use for cooking and food preparation. LunaSol is a two blocks away from the pedestrianized 5th Avenue with its many shops, bars and restaurants. The beach is a further few blocks beyond.
What makes LunaSol special is the exceptionally friendly and helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    91
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
101
163
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just a terrific staff and owner, Helped me with the language, places to visit and
talked openly about everything under the sun! A very peaceful,quiet place to
come home to after a busy day; close to beach,5th Avenue, bus terminal and
church. I'm sold on Luna Sol!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Really nice boutique hotel. I only stayed here for one night but was really impressed. The rooms and bathroom were really spacious and clean. The room had a small outside balcony. There is a nice pool and a kitchen area available for guests to use. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and really helpful. The hotel is a couple of blocks off the main avenue but everything is within a couple of minutes walk. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaktown 510
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a great time at Hotel LunaSol!

We arrived hot & tired from a long day's travel and the gentleman at the front desk handed us 2 glasses of water as we caught our breath. We had walked up and down the street looking at various hotels in the area and this place was a little on the high end but we instantly felt it was the place for us. The boutique hotel with only 16 rooms had lovely gardens and a small pool with a nice water feature that felt very tranquil. It also had a communal kitchen if we wanted to make a few post SCUBA snacks. We took room number 5 which had a nice little secluded patio opening up to the pool. It was clean & quite. Had AC, a small safe and a large mini fridge. The beds were typical Mexican, hard, but we expected it. If I could have anything more I'd ask for a few more pillows and towels, which I did and they were happy to provide. Their soap, shampoo & conditioner were worth noting as far as amenities goes. All organic made from bees wax. There were many good restaurants in short walking distance and about 5 blocks to the nearest beach club. The staff was borderline adorable. Cute, funny, assisted with bags when needed and acted like concierges. We would stay here every time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandstalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend came across this hotel upon arrival in Playa Del Carmen and were immediately captivated by its ambience and beauty. We managed to negotiate an extremely reasonable rate (thank you slow season!) and couldn't have been happier with our room, deciding to increase our stay from two nights to four. This hotel has everything one needs- air conditioning + a fan, hot water, cable tv, huge comfortable beds, free wifi, a lovely pool and unlimited cold drinking water and coffee! The tv especially proved handy during the short bursts of rain! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and overall we had a very pleasant stay, deciding to come back one more night before catching our flight home. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lhughes92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This little hotel has its charm so do not hesitate and take further information.

Here is my summary of my experience:
Pros:
+ Near 5th Ave. (5 Mins. walk distance) the most concurred and famous avenue in Playa del Carmen. You'll find a lot of stores, bars, other hotels and restaurants along the avenue.
+ The staff is friendly, serviceable and speak at least English and Spanish (although I think there is one of them that speaks German too, but I recommend you to contact the hotel manager for further information).
+ The price is reasonable for what you get. However, we had to ask for the soap and shampoo once in our entire stay :-)
+ Peaceful pool. Be aware that the hotel is small thus the pool is small too. I'm pretty sure the hotel was designed for relaxing purposes (far away from the noise of crowded streets such like the 5th Ave.)
+ A/C and ceiling fan worked pretty fine. Believe me, this is very important in places like Playa del Carmen.

Cons?? Just of couple of them:
- Illumination in bathroom: This is something should be improved, since there is a thin wall dividing the toilet and the bathtub, the bathtub side is not well illuminated.
- The neighborhood: I have to confess the first time I got there I was afraid of the neighborhood and how it looked, but then I realized most of Playa del C. is alike.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool have direct access to it, rooms near the lobby has a private balcony/terrace, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenocafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A few blocks from the ocean and 5th Avenue, which worked out nicely. Simple but clean rooms, and helpful staff. Pool was fun for the kids and we used the poolside kitchen to heat leftovers one evening. Definitely a good value.

Room Tip: Only 18 rooms, I'd guess they all would be OK. They have thick adobe style walls, so noise shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Property: Hotel LunaSol
Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing