We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, inexpensive option in Playa del Carmen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cute, inexpensive option in Playa del Carmen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A clean, cool hideaway for a good price. Pluses: Helpful staff; beautiful pool area with lots of tables and seating; free morning coffee; hair dryers/clothing irons available from the front desk; and walking distance to the beach, 5th Avenue and the bus station. Minuses: Mattresses are hard -- we put a couple blankets under the fitted sheet for more padding. Shower spray could be better, but it's a very maneuverable big shower. Close quarters with other guests -- we could hear a child whining for about half an hour one morning even with our doors and windows shut and the A/C on.

Try Maria Bonita for breakfast -- 10th Ave. between Calles 6 and 8 (not the same as Hacienda Maria Bonita). We found it on our own since the staff was a little hesitant about making recommendations -- and one restaurant they did recommend turned out to have good ceviche but to be a lot more casual than we were dressed for. No big deal, just something to note. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook either the pool area (which was not busy when we were there) or a courtyard garden. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDtravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Propriétaire at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear MDTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it!

We will keep in note your recommendation about Maria Bonita for breakfast.
If you are interested to go out of touristic area, there are 2 very good restaurants for breakfast: La Ceiba and El Nativo. Both are on 30th avenue between Constituyentes and Calle 20.

Please, please, next time you will come, email us to tell us that you want an extra foam on your bed. Everybodu have different taste for the matress and it's easier for us to add foam then to add ''plywood'' to make it harder! hihihi And if there is anything that we can do to make your stay better, please tell us on the moment so that we can takle action fast and make your stay perfect!

We can't wait to welcome you again in our little paradise!

Regards,

Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    86
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
160
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Central to everything and off the beaten path. Just steps from the beach, 5th Avenue for food, drink, clubbing, shopping and the bus station. If you need a clean, quiet, humble room to lay your head down at night... this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff was terrific, the rooms were much more than we expected, walking distance to great restaurants, all recommended by the staff, not a failure in any of the recommendations. Walking distance to 5th Avenue (1.5 blocks). Another block to one of the best parts of the beach in Playa. A great value.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the pool or the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnieBlue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in Luna Sol. It's location is Perfect, located just 2 minuets from the 5h and the beach but very quiet and relaxed. The rooms are big, very clean and the shower has good stream. The staff is very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here in early March - this is a super cute little hotel...close to 5th Ave but far enough to enjoy a little peace and quiet. The hotel is very clean and nice - I'd suggest an upper floor room like we had, as there is a little balcony where you can sit and enjoy the nice garden like surroundings. Great place for the price.

Room Tip: Upper floor balcony - with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LuccaOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I chose this hotel based on past reviews and it really lived up to it. We wanted a nice room with a pool for our 6 year old son, and the added bonus of an outdoor kitchen. We felt like we had the place to ourselves at times. My son really enjoyed the pool, it was just perfect for him and we chose that over staying right on the beach. I agree with the other posts that it was a quiet place to stay, super clean, very friendly and helpful staff. The beds are firm, and I knew going into it. I had some trouble sleeping, but I have back problems anyway and probably more sensitive to the average person, but that won't stop me from returning next year. My husband and son slept fine. Walmart if an easy walk, maybe I will purchase a memory foam mattress topper for the next stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great spot. close to beach and action. Very clean, great staff. They have a communal kitchen which is great for those who want to prepare your own food. Thee room had air conditioning, a small patio and a wonderful pool. Highly recommend for those who aren't into all inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vegan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#66 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Property: Hotel LunaSol
Address: Calle 4 Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing