We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff - better than in some 5 star hotels”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent staff - better than in some 5 star hotels”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

It's excellent value for money here and we would definitely recommend it. The service and attention to detail is better than you get in some 5 star hotels even.
The best thing about it is the staff. Jorge on reception was in his first week in the job, but he's a great asset to his employers. He helped organise a trip for us and was always very quick to help us with anything we needed. We didn't always get that standard of service in other hotels where we were paying two or three times the price. Jose was also very friendly and helpful, as were the pool attendants and cleaners. It's as if the owners have a policy of employing nice people! It makes the difference between a good stay and an excellent one.
If you're looking at this place wondering whether it's a risk staying somewhere cheap and basic - don't be afraid! It's very clean, well managed, comfortable, friendly and a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, General Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Dear Anthony,
You are right on when you say that the hotel has a politic to hire nice people!
We think that service makes the difference... and it seems that we are true when we read your review!
Thank you so much to have take the time to right this nice review. We really appreciate it.
When you'll come back to Playa del Carmen, we trully hope to see you again!
Regards,

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    87
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
161
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This quiet hotel has a lovely design and Mexican character, where you walk outdoors to get to the rooms. The warmth of oranges, peach, and browns reflects the name of this hotel. The rooms are spacious, with a fridge and tall ceilings, and the bathrooms are also quite large. There is a sweet little pool with fountain, although I did not see anyone get in it. Lounge chairs and a kitchen for you to cook in are right by the poolside. The kitchen area is impeccably clean. The hotel is owned by a Canadian couple, but I never saw them on site - their staff does a great job. Your room will have the coolest towel animals and some rose soap. The daytime staff is very friendly and helpful. Another perk is free filtered water for your whole stay! The beach and main shopping is right down the street, so it is the perfect location, and unlike other hotels in the area, it is also very quiet, other than people occasionally talking on their cute outdoor balconies. If you come at the right time, the hotel may have a special deal with a local beach club, which offers discounts on drinks and food, and free lounge chairs for you at the beach (and they treat you very well there). I truly enjoyed my stay here.

The only issue I had were some tiny ants in my bathroom and bedroom counter, that followed me after I left the hotel, but they were harmless and possibly only in my room. You should be aware that this part of Mexico does have bugs, like mosquitoes, and as this hotel is open and airy, you will likely come across some, but nothing big or scary. :) I was glad to learn that they don't use unhealthy, toxic sprays for this like some other hotels in the area do. Overall, this is a very clean hotel - probably better than any others in the same price range around town.

Playa del Carmen is a lot of fun, and the beach is sooo relaxing - I wish I had stayed longer. This hotel was great for couples or a solo traveler - not for big party-people (there are other hotels down the street for that). I loved staying at Hotel LunaSol, and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, General Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Dear TravelinTango,

Thanks for your review.
We really appreciate it. I'm happy to see that you have enjoy your stay with us.

Unfortunately, december has been a little chilly this year... that's probably why there where not so much people using the pool... and why we have consume so much coffee! ;)

I feel very sad that you had some little ants in your room. Have you told the frontdesk about it?
Normally during the cleaning if the maid see some insect, she puts some products... but sometime it can happen that they don't see it... so we need that people tell us so that we can fix it. We do some regular fulmigation, biological products like you said....but sometimes we can have surprise. Like you said, here in Mexico with the weather that we have it's sure that we have more insects that in the cold countries. Also, one important thing is to never let food on the counters...there's a fridge in the room and everything should be keep in it. This recommendation is valid even for the big resort 5 stars! Even in my home, if I let a fruit on the counter there's some tiny ants that show up from I don't know where.

I'm glad that you said that even with this little situation you say that you will come back again to our hotel.

And please, to any readers... if you come at our hotel and there's a situation like this or any other situation, please tell the frontdesk right away so we could fix the situation. Don't be shy to tell us... our goal is that you have a perfect stay and we will do everything we can to accomplish that! YOU ARE OUR PRIORITY!

Dear TravelinTango we trully wish to welcome you again in our little paradise.

Regards,

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

A very beautiful and clean hotel with friendly staff who were fluent in English and knowledgeable in what's going on around the town.
There were only about 16 rooms in this small hotel and the one we stayed in (and I am sure that others as well) was very neatly decorated, the towels were made into cute shapes like a crocodile and the bathroom was huge, with a wall dividing the shower and the sink area.
The beds were large and clean.
There was a little home-run cafe place just around around the corner that offered cheap and delicious Mexican food, though the staff could not understand English neither was the menu in English. But a very nice and cheap place, where locals went.
The location of the hotel was two blocks from the hugely crowded 5th avenue and another block away from the Playa (beach), so it was very conveniently located.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benshestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Dear Benshestar,

Thanks for your nice review.
I'm very happy that you had a good time in our hotel and that you've enjoyed our great location.

We wish you a very Happy New Year and an other stay with us for 2011!!

Regards,

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stumbled on this hotel last year when looking for a last minute place to stay and loved it so much that for our visit to Playa this year we decided to stay here again. It is close to all the shops, car rental agencies, and our favorite eateries plus the staff is very friendly and make you feel right at home. It is not the fanciest hotel we have ever stayed at, but for the price and the laid back atmosphere I think we will be staying here again on our next trip.

One thing I may bring back next time is a paperback in english to donate to their reading collection, as I only saw german and french titles when I was searching for something to read. :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geye007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Dear Geye,
Thanks to have take the time to write a review for us.
We really appreciate it!!
Thanks also to write that we don't have much to read in english... I didn't notice it.
I few months ago there were alot of english books...but I suppose that a lot of people enjoy a little to much thoses books! hihihi
I'll try to find some english books in the sales....
We hope to see you back soon!
Regards,

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This is a very nice little hotel amidst Playa del Carmen, only some steps away from the busy centre and the beach. It is situated in a small and quiet street, has only 16 rooms, a little pool.
The room was clean and comfortable, the shower spacious and the hotel stuff very friendly and helpful.
They have a cooperation with a beach club, where you can get sunbeds, umbrella, drinks etc.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Casabrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
Dear Casabrava,
Thanks for your precious review.
We are glad that you have enjoy your stay with us and we trully wish to see you again with us.
Feel free to contact us anytime!

Regards,
Nancy and Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This to place is the best...I would highly recommend for everyone. It was my home away from home while I was in Playa. The location is perfect & within walking distance to the beach and all of the action. The rooms are clean and the staff was very accommodating! I look forward to my next visit & Hotel Luna Sol will be my choice!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Il0vePlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meancy, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Very happy that you are satisfied of our hotel. Our goal is exactly to have clients feeling at home. It will be a pleasure to welcome you at you next visit.

Thank you.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas, USA
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This was our first trip to Mexico's Yucatan and before we came across Hotel LunaSol, we were ready to return to Cancun or move on to Tulum or Merida to find a place where we could start our vacationing and sightseeing.

We stayed at a couple other places in Playa Del Carmen (PDC) for the first two nights and while those staffs tried to make their hotels acceptable, they could not provide the overall feeling of safety and cleanliness that we needed in order feel comfortable - then we came across Hotel LunaSol, where we were able to relax, recharge, reflect, and comfortably take-in and explore the many wonderful experiences of Mexican hospitality and Mayan Rivera explorations. Shortly after checking into our room, chatting with one of our hosts, and sipping some coffee at the outdoor kitchen area by the pool, we decided to make Hotel LunaSol our "home" in PDC for the rest of the week and take day trips to the various sights we wanted to experience.

From check-in to check-out, the service was excellent. Hotel LunaSol has nice beach towels and let us exchange them after our morning and afternoon swims,for fresh clean dry towels, which was super nice and really added to our being able to recharge and relax. The ferry to Cozumel is about 5 minutes away. We were in PDC in an off-season, so there were beach areas that felt almost private to us that were only 10 minutes away or so. There are countless choices for places to eat, so if your body needs to eat before your mind lets you decide where to go, stop by the front reception desk at Hotel LunaSol and get some truly helpful advice first. Their advice is awesome. We credit the staff at Hotel LunaSol for giving us the best guidance on how to visit and see many sights. We were provided with honest, friendly, helpful advice by our hosts (Victor & Jose managing reception and guest relations) who listened to our inquiries and really did consider our adventure/journey/vacation experience as a priority. When we followed their advice - it worked and we had a wonderful time.

The room, pool, shared outdoor kitchen area, bathrooms, and other areas were well managed and kept very clean. I was surprised how quiet the air conditioning system was and how peaceful a hotel room in the middle of Playa Del Carmen can be - even so close to the busy sections of town. There is a small fridge in the bedroom that is perfect for chilling water,wine and a few snacks. The bathroom is well above PDC standards and has a full door separating the bathroom area from the bedroom. Within the bathroom area, the shower was clean, well designed, big, with its own small screened window that would keep vapor from drifting to the bedroom. The toilet area was clean and separated from the shower and sink area by a swing door and also had its own little screened window to vent air to the outside instead of into the bedroom. Thus, the bedroom was fresh and easy to relax in. There is a balcony area that accommodates two chairs and table that is ideal for sipping coffee or wine and contemplating the day or the next day's agenda. Overall, the accommodations have all the essential elements of luxury without feeling pretentious or being wasteful.

About 10:00pm nightly they shut the front gate and there was a polite security guard at the front who would let guests in or out all through the night. While it may not be necessary (it seemed to be a pretty safe neighborhood in PDC when we went out before sunrise), it was a very nice feeling and added to the sense of safety and relaxation knowing that the entire premises was being watched over.

Thanks to the excellent staff and well managed facilities at Hotel LunaSol, our first visit to Mexico's Yucatan changed from "I'm not sure I get this place, how long are we here" to "This is a wonderful place to be, how soon can we return?" We will return for new adventures and next time we plan on going from the airport directly to Hotel LunaSol, our "home" in Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert_Ye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, General Manager at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
Dear Gilbert,
Thank you so much to have take the time to write a so complet review.
I really appreciate it because your review will give to the readers a good idea of all the services that we provide. Thanks also to say that we were your ''home''... it's exactly the feeling that we want to give to our guests.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our little paradise!

Regards,

Nancy and Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Property: Hotel LunaSol
Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing