We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in Playa!”
Review of Hotel LunaSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel LunaSol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2011

My mother and I just stayed at LunaSol during our time in Playa Del Carmen and found it charming! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the frounds were beautiful. Loved the pool, tropical plants, hammock, balcony, and meeting other guests from different countries. The location is great...just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of 5th ave but only a 2 minute walk!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toastybecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Toastybecca,

Thanks for your nice review and for the pictures you put online!

I'm so glad that you enjoyed our staff and the ambiance of our hotel!

We look forward to see you again for your next Mexican vacations!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

We travel quite a bunch and this place is awesome.
1. Beds are firm. Bathroom is big.
2. Everything is clean. Including flower petals that fall from the trees into the pool.
3.Full kitchen to share.
4.Staff is fluent in English. Also, kind and smart. Jose, Aldom, Victor- total gentlemen.
5. It's 3 blocks off the beach, which is ideal. Because- the food is better and cheaper and it's more quiet and less touristy. Plus, you can walk 3 blocks in about 5 minutes.
For selfish reasons, I hope this place doesn't become as popular as it should.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Dear Pattydoo,
Thanks for you review.
It's clear, straight to the point! ;)
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all our staff have treated you like you deserved... all our guest are like VIPs for us.
I do anderstand why you don't want us to get so much known, but don't worry, we only have 16 rooms and during your stay, the hotel was full... So even if we get very well known, the service will always be the same. You'll always be our priority!
We hope to see you soon again!

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Seriously, I have nothing critical to say about LunaSol. The people were amazing and super helpful with recommendations. The location was great; nothing we needed was more than a few blocks away. The grounds were gorgeous. The shared kitchen had everything we needed. I will never go back to the Yucatan without spending at least a few days here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreedomDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Dear Freedom,
Thanks to have take the time to write this review.
We really appreciate it.
We hope that you'll be back in Yucatan soon and that you'll visit us again.
In the mean time, we will try to send you sun to make your winter shorter!

Regards,

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Centrally located, close to all u need, comfortable and with very friendly staff who u easily will call yr friends. We never been welcomed as in LunaSol. Thanks to all and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Dear CGE,
Thanks for your review.
I'm glad that you felt like a friend of us... it's the best review that we can receive.
All our guests are our priority, we take care of them and give them all the attention that they need, just like friends do. Visiting us at LunaSol it's not like going to an All-inclusive resort and that you are only a room number... Staying at LunaSol is beeing part of it. It's the chemistry between us and our guests that make this experience so special, for YOU....and for US.
We trully hope to hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in your Home Sweet Home in Mexico!

Regards,

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this cozy & extraordinarily clean hotel!! Honestly, I'm a clean freak & it held to my scrutiny & equivalent of home standards....Aldom, a treasure - from beginning to end made my stay wonderful, made me feel welcomed & always ready to give an answer. BTW - GREAT coffee in the morning :) Very convenient to everything in town - great having Walmart so close - you can pick up whatever you need - great little fridge in your room that works very well. The pool was always clean & looked inviting although I didn't get the chance to enjoy it - too much to do - next time I need to stay longer!! I woke up this morning & miss it already :( Thank you all for making me feel like a part of your family.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweety4676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Dear Tweeteyz,
I love your review!
Thank you so much!
We focus so much on good guest service and cleaning, and when people tell us, it's the cherry on the sunday!!
And we trully hope that next time you'll be here longer...we'll have the chance to know you better!
Regards,

Nancy Gilbert
Hotel LunaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We've just returned from an unforgettable stay at the Lunasol. It was our first time in Mexico and we are looking forward to returning in 2012. The hotel has many pros :

* location : a stone's throw from the High Street, the beach, the bus terminal, WALLMART,and from the stop where you can take the minibus to go to the different beaches such as AKUMAL or PAAMUL ( great for snorkelling!)
* freshly brewed coffee every morning at 7:30
* freshly drinking water . No need to buy mineral water at the supermarket.
* A kitchen by the pool where you can prepare your own meals.

The three concierges Victor, Jose and Aldom were always ready to provide any information we needed, as when we got the information of a bookshop in less than 5 minutes! Thanks a million to all the staff and we hope to return soon, Viviana

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArgentinaTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Dear Viviana,
Thank you so much for your nice review!
We finally past to 1st place in Tripadvisor!
Victor, José and Aldom thank you too.
We really hope to see you soon again!

Regards,

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

My husband; daughter and I stayed here just before Christmas, 2010. This is a wonderful hotel. The pool and garden areas are well maintained. There is a kitchen by the pool for hotel guests. This allowed us to fix margaritas and save some money. The atmosphere is friendly and the staff is very helpful. It is a lovely tranquil spot in Playa and is a couple of blocks away from the noisy clubbing area. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Playa. Thank you to Victor and George and all the staff. Further, Delta airlines lost our luggage and the staff was diligent in their attempts to help us (by the way stay clear of Delta - they are still looking for our baggage and have not reimbursed us).

We also had an unforgettable adventure diving in a local cenote, Dos Ojos. Stefan our guide was exceptional. He was kind enough to set up a special trip for us and although we were somewhat nervous about the idea of cenote diving, he made us feel safe and gave us a wonderful tour of the cenote. We highly recommend Cenote Adventures for your cenote dive experience here.
Thanks, Ann, Michael, and Evelyn

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaSol, Owner at Hotel LunaSol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Dear Ann, Michael, and Evelyn ,
That's very sweet of you to have take the time to write this review.
I hope that your luggage problem with Delta will find a good ending.
I'm glad that you appreciate the help we provide you with that, we would have prefer that they find your luggage but this is out of our power unfortunately.
We are happy the you enjoyed also the kitchen for good Margaritas!
We'll say to Stefan also that you enjoyed his services.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#11 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#31 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#62 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LunaSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LunaSol

Address: Privada 4 Norte Entre Avenida 15 & 20 # 169, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £56 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LunaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, 16 rooms all equipped with A/C, TV with cable, fridge, private balcony and security safe. Services: huge pool with Jacuzzi; shared kitchen, which you can use as you wish; parking lot; high speed Wi-Fi Internet; information on local activities. Coffee available at the front desk from 8:00 to 12:00. Our philosophy is: Welcome to your Mexican home! Our guests are our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel LunaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LunaSol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing