We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and clean interval exchange”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and clean interval exchange”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is our third time staying at a Royal Resort in Mexico. First two were at the Royal Islander in Cancun 2 and 5 years ago. First time at Royal Haciendas. Just about everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. We tend to use this as a base for trips to the nearby area for activities and dining and have only eaten here for lunch around the pool, which was fine. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed yoga classes and other facilities. Our personal concierge, Octavio, was super helpful and friendly. Only complaint is that wifi was a little slow and spotty in our unit. We will be back!

Room Tip: We like the top floor - better views and quieter, although this place is quite quiet. Spring break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cascobaysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,273
    870
    274
    91
    71
See reviews for
1,889
1,014
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have been coming to the Royal Resorts for many years and have never been disappointed. We now own a week in March at The Royal Haciendas, but first owned a week in March at the Royal Sands in Cancun prior to construction of their Royal Haciendas resort here in Playa del Carmen. We love the ambiance of The Royal Haciendas, and are considering selling our lovely villa at The Royal Sands to enjoy a second week at The Royal Haciendas. The penthouse villa (upper floor) is lovely with not only great views of the resort and beach but also lovely decor in the villa. The "suite" portion of the villa includes the king size master bedroom, huge private bathroom, living & dining room, lovely kitchen, great patio with whirlpool and seating plus dining table and chairs. The "lockoff" portion is similar to a hotel room with two double beds, lovely bathroom and large closet, plus a kitchenette with refrig., microwave, plus coffee pot, and dinner + glassware to eat within the villa. The patio is small but has a great view. The resort is full of first class personnel, who will accomodate you in every way possible, and you have a personal concierge to answer questions and make arrangements when needed. This is not a resort for spring breakers, therefore, it allows couples and families the ability to fully enjoy this 5-star resort in style. Clicking on the resort info will show you the amenities included. I highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Mexico. Playa del Carmen has a European flair which is always wonderful with great restaurants and nightlife for all if on e desires, and the area is safe for those who want to experience all this area of the Mayan Riviera has to offer.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views, and the suite room has every amenity you would desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We just spent our 4th week at the Royal Haciendas. Prior years, we stayed in a deluxe penthouse unit, a beachfront lock off, and most recently, a pool view suite.

This resort was built in three stages and just completed a few years ago. The property is vast and it can take an hour or so to walk around all the grounds. This is certainly an upscale property, that caters to families and couples. It is close to the city of Playa del Carmen, but isolated by tracts of jungle. As you enter the property, you pass by new golf courses and golf resorts. The RH is near the end of the road, nestled on the shores of the Caribbean.

The units are built around two pools, including lap pools and kiddie pools. Each of the two sections has its own pool bar/restaurant and heated public hot tubs. Children are not to be in these hot tubs without an adult, but this was not enforced. Our suite overlooked one of the hot tubs, and there was a fair amount of laughter and conversation we could hear, especially during Happy Hour (3-6PM). Still, the mood of the place was quite laid back, and you could easily find a quiet place on the beach, or in one of the several hammocks.

The grounds are immaculate, and beautifully landscaped. As a photographer, I had plenty of photo opportunities. The pools are sparkling clean, heated (except the lap pools), and very well-maintained. The pools are infinity-designed, as you can look down the pool and see the Carribbean at nearly the same level. The La Palapa restaurant is the main eatery there. We just had a breakfast there once with our concierge. As others have noted, this is a weak spot of the resort, as the menu is varied, but uninspired. After a week, you easily get tired of eating there. It is beautifully positioned right near the water, and you can even choose a table outdoors, right near the beach.

The other restaurant is Los Murales, an upscale seafood restaurant that we have enjoyed twice. My spouse had the coconut shrimp, which was the best I've ever tasted. I had the tuna, and it was cooked as I asked, with a pink center. The desserts are worth trying too. The murals on the walls are exceptional, and this is a very romantic place to have a nice dinner. Reservations are a must.

We had a personal concierge, Arturo, who was exceptionally helpful at making our reservations, arranging our tours, and even delivering our tickets to our room. Mind you, we do not own a unit on this resort, but are members of the Royal Resorts in Cancun (Royal Islander). We were given every amenity that a resident member would be offered.

There are several activities for children and adults scheduled throughout the day. This time, we preferred to be on our own. We would walk outside the resort in front, along the mangrove swamps. We saw and photographed many birds, including a pair of pygmy owls. We encourage guests to walk the beautiful beaches on the way to Playa del Carmen (about 2.5 miles). Once there, you can eat at any of the beachside clubs or restaurants. We ate at Mamitas, one year. and this year, Kool. The ceviche is exceptional. Prices can be a bit high, but you deserve the best after your trek along the beach. Venture into the city along 5th avenue for a shopping treat. The stores and eateries are diverse, and feature food and wares from all over the world, not just Mexico. Take a taxi back to the resort (about $10.00).

We also went to Xcaret, which is a large eco-park that has various exhibits of native plants and animals, It also has an evening spectacular that dramatizes the history of Mexico with song and dance. It should not be missed!

Puerto Morelos is a short drive north of the resort, and is a relatively untouched little town, with great restaurants and the best snorkeling on the Riviera Maya.

I should mention that the units of the RH are very nice. Granite countertops, a hot tub on your balcony, upscale furnishings, etc. Maid service is offered every day except Sunday. I'm sure you can find a few negatives about the resort, but they are minor compared to the quality of the service, and superior atmosphere that has been created on this special oasis on the Riviera Maya. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms near the ocean are nice, but a long walk from the store and front desk. Every unit has a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlipKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Royal Hacienda is a Royal experience to say the least. They customer service is top notch. The rooms are perfect and roomy, the views are outstanding, pools are huge and the beach is nice. The best part is traveling with family. They have a great kid program that keeps them busy throughout the day with various activities from making sand castles, pinata party, water balloon throw, soccer, ect. At night you can drop them off for a few hours and have dinner and a stroll on the beach while they watch a movie. There is a complimentary shuttle to town so no need to rent a car, taxi back if you want to stay out later. The beach is private and there isnt any peddlers, the resort is great at keeping it peaceful and very clean. There is complimentary snorkle gear and jackets for the kids, kayaking, noodles for the pool and an awesome happy hour daily. The grocery store is well appointed and priced great. We didnt go to the restaurants but ate at the pool daily for lunch, it was good and affordable. We did the buffet for breakfast but took it to our room for a more laid back approach to having breakfast but the view is nice from the beach front restaurant. There are two pools and take notice one is more laid back and quiet the other is louder, music, drinking and fun. All the activities happen there. Great place for families!

Room Tip: there is really no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjleighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

First time at this resort and we would go again. Staff was friendly and happy to answer our questions. We felt safe here and noticed the security the resort supplied. Beaches were patroled continually,cameras and good lighting. Loved the beach service,those waiters sure put on the miles. We enjoyed the swim up bar and the great shrimp tacos. Lots of activities provided for our entertainment. Spanish lessons every morning ,really enjoyed our instructor Jorde. TV and internet were inconsistent,sometimes they worked and sometimes they didn't. The market was well stocked,reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our family of four has been traveling to the Riviera Maya all-inclusives since our boys were pre-teens, and have stayed in many upscale and amazing resorts in the area. We chose to visit this property on a whim - a friend was unable to use his time at another Royal property. It was meant to be. The spacious and solid 4-star 2-bedroom with full kitchen and living room, sleeps 6 (and comfortably - beds for all), was perfect. Our sons each brought a friend and we all had a blast.

The property - tops! Lovely white sandy beach, nicely landscaped, beautiful pools, extremely clean and fresh everywhere you went. Only small negative - there are exposed rough coral or rocky patches in the ocean. Wear beach shoes.

Food & Beverages - plenty of bars and several locations for meals, pay as you go. Top ratings to the bars. Food at the restaurants are fine and typical of the resorts. We did a couple of trips to the "Mega" monster grocery in Playa for breakfast, lunch and beverages made for the perfect balance. I didn't have to cook and the maid service comes daily to clean (except Sunday.) We ate in Playa each night. The resort had a discount booklet that we had fun using to find a different restaurant each night. Great restaurants up and down the main drag. That area has changed a lot since our first visit years ago. Lots and lots of shopping, bars and restaurants. About a $10US cab ride home for 4 to the Haciendas, no matter how late the 20-somethings stayed in Playa.

Things to do - Golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, beach, you name it!

All in all - a great alternative to the pricey all-inclusives while still enjoying a very classy resort.

Room Tip: All units have a view of the ocean and identical layout. We liked the extra room in the deluxe unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rather_B_Cycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This resort would be lovely for families & retired couples but not for honeymooners.

When we arrived, the service wasn't at the standard that we had recieved at other Mexico resorts. It was pretty ordinary in particularly at the front desk. The best service was from the bell boys & staff at the pool resruarants.

When we saw our room (two small double beds) on the bottom floor at the back of the hotel, we were quite disappointed. We went to the front desk to see if we could have a room with one queen or king bed, they told us they didn't have any which I can understand however when I asked if they could change our room, higher or pool or beach room - they wouldn't even try! The hotel wasn't fully booked & it was our honeymoon.

Apart from that the hotel was ok but we were quite upset with the standard of service from that day due to the importance of our trip

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mansana_Bonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
The Royal Haciendas Management Response:

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us, and we are very sorry to learn that we did not fulfilled your expectations of accommodation for such an important date to yourself and your husband.

We have discussed your comments with our Guest Service Team Leaders in order for us to take possible actions that will prevent situations like this one from happening again.

Our greatest pleasure will always be to serve our guests and provide them with memorable experiences having as our reward your complete satisfaction. Therefore, we hope you give us the opportunity to be at your service again in the future to exceed any expectation you may have to build up unforgettable memories from a vacation experience in the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards from The Royal Haciendas,
The Royal Haciendas Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#100 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,039 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing