We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice time share, beautiful beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice time share, beautiful beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Upside:
-Nice timeshare with very comfy rooms
-Beach was very nice, not as nice as the ones in Cozumel and other places (ie Akumal, Puerto Moreles, etc).
-Food is pretty good, somewhat pricey. If you listen to their 45 min speil about timeshare you can get a good discount on some tour packages.
-staff are mostly very personable and very friendly
-Lovely grounds with
-lots of activities offered
-on site market
-loans out snorkeling equipment, towels, etc.

Downside:
-car rentals, tours & massages are pricey
-ATM in lobby is a scam - Even the staff will recommend using this machine -Don't use it! It charges nearly 16:1 exchange rate (vs 12.6 formal rate) plus 2 extra fees. This ATM only gives USD but receipt is all in pesos and hard to understand, until you get home. For $300 I was charged over $52 USD. Suggestions: Use the ATMs at the banks in Playa del Carmen.
-location is not within walking distance to playa del carmen thus free shuittle offered has very limited service (from ~11am-6pm) and must sign up a day before unless you get lucky & which allows about 12 passengers. Taxis are available after hours for a about $15 fee/taxi; double if need 3rd seat if avail.
-tile in pool area is dangerously slippery

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carrie_levin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,085
    793
    246
    84
    63
See reviews for
1,677
954
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from RH and I must say that before our trip there my husband was not a sun and beach person...Well he is now! We both had a wonderful time. RH's staff was unbelievable, and so accommodating. Friendly beyond imagination. We both left extremely happy! The room was beautiful, and very, very clean. We were shameless and dragged sand into our room; the next day there was not a speck to be seen. La Palapa del Sol was our place of choice for breakfast and dinner, because once we dined there, we were hooked. The staff was so welcoming. Greeting us by our names, and taking sincere care of us. The pool was beautiful, I can't say much about the drinks at the pool bar, since I wasn't drinking. However, the shrimp tacos from the grill were delicious. Thomas More tours was a big convenience. However, their staff could smile more and maybe even look at you once in a while. This is my only complaint. I felt I was talked at. This was quite out of place considering RH's staff. Security takes their role seriously. The laundry staff took me by surprise...She did it all! Even folded our clothes! We will definitely be back...soon.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanford, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We own a villa here. We spend a week here every year. Beautiful beach although the swimming is a little tough. There is a lot reef right off shore. The dive shop (Dive Balaam) is great. I've gotten my open water scuba and advanced open water scuba certification here. The diving is spectacular. This year we took the big boat (they have two boats right off the beach) to Cozumel for two fantastic dives. Incredible reef and fish. We always eat breakfast in the villa. We used to take a taxi to Walmart for food shopping. Now we usually just pick up stuff in the little shop in the resort. Prices are reasonable, especially since the taxi ride to Walmart is 140 pesos. (Used to be $10 - now more like $11 or $12) I always bring a bunch of pesos with me. It seems like you get a better deal than if you pay in US dollars. Lunch at the pool bar is always good and the margaritas are great. They never charge me for sangrita (your read right - not sangria) if i order a shot of Herradurra - that's a sweet deal. And they make good sangrita. Villa is great - housekeeping does a good job. The grounds are immaculate. We absolutely love it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side with the balcony facing north are cooler in the afternoon. The shade in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our stay at the Royal Haciendas was an experience beyond words. Having people who are total strangers, treat you as if they were you friends for many years is a true comfort. Our first day through the last was glorious. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner like Kings and Queens and enjoyed the daily activities offered as well. I must share that leaving was a difficult task for us. We have already begun to plan for our next visit and contacted several friends and family members to share our cloud nine experience. Wow very hard leaving a place so close to heaven, looking forward to being back on cloud nine!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Views are spectacular, staffs is extremely friendly. Food is great. I have stayed here since they opened. Very safe, security even checks taxi when you arrive to make sure you did not leave any items behind.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

From the spacious, comfortable villas, to the meticulously maintained landscaping, beach area, and restaurants, the Royal Haciendas is a first rate vacation destination. We particularly enjoyed the shrimp tacos in the casual restaurant by the pool, and the fine dining experience at the Los Murales restaurant, which specializes in seafood.
One of the things we like most about the resort is the personal and friendly service that permeates the resort. All of the staff, from the receptionists in the lobby, to the bell hops, maids, waiters, and maintenance personnel are eager to assist you in any way they to ensure you have a pleasant stay. They all greet you with a genuine smile and a cheerful “Hola!” In addition you are assigned a personal concierge to assist you with arranging tours, free shuttle service to nearby Playa Del Carmen, or to answer any questions you may have.
This is our fourth year staying at the Royal Hacienda. We will be returning, and will continue to recommend the resort to our family and friends as a wonderful vacation destination.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I spent a week there to celebrate or anniversary. The rooms are outstanding and if there was availability again we'd take our entire family. We took the trip as an Interval International trade. The food at the pool bar wasn't all that great and all the "fruity" drinks get watered down during happy hour. However, if you stick with margaritas you'll be just fine. Our only true quarm is that they charge you to death for things that should just be standard. There is a charge to use the gym and even to weigh your luggage before going to the airport. There is a shuttle to get to Playa del Carmen however you have to book it in advance. They don't really publicize it well I actually learned of it from other reviews. If you don't book - you don't go. It really puts a damper on vacation to have to plan when you'll return to be picked up or not get on the shuttle. May there is a good reason, just wish I knew what it was. They also have a laundry room Czar monitoring how much clothes go into the machine. I do think that's a bit much. All in all, awesome place, just a few quirks.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor attached to the main building don't provide any ocean views because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvsDaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#95 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,151 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#29 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing