We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in the Mexican Caribbean Coast,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cancun, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best in the Mexican Caribbean Coast,”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Perfect location, beautiful villas,excellent service,good privacy and wonderful destination.

plan your week with your concierge, it helps you a lot to save time and they always recommend the best. Many activities for kids, play the golf course, is great!!, and diving is amazing with dive balam!!.

Room Tip: beach front ground floor units are fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Olaf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,273
    870
    274
    91
    71
See reviews for
1,889
1,014
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel was a dream. It was a kind of expansive, but the room were AMAZING. Huge, very beautful and totaly luxury!
The property is very well maintened and the beach is very nice.
The pool.. is an attraction !! I will FOR SURE ... return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Murchelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Marsh, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The PROS:

1. The beach is fantastic for snorkeling and the snorkeling equipment is free! We saw lots of lobsters, little crabs, rock fish, trumpet fish, barracudas, sting rays, black and yellow moray eels, and various schools of fish, most of which seemed to come out right before sunset.

2. The 1 bedroom is spacious, has a whirlpool on the balcony, and is very nice overall. We had a room that faced the beach so our view was pretty awesome.

3. There are two separate pools for the kiddos and lots of hammocks. Both large pools have swim up bars and shallow spaces for wading and sun bathing at the same time. There are also two big, warm jacuzzis (not hot).

The CONS:

1. The look of the resort's exterior is kind of blah overall -- definitely doesn't feel "royal."

2. The check out process is not very coordinated and was quite a pain for us. Make sure you get a ticket proving you returned your towels and any equipment or you will have problems checking out (we did). When you check-out, make sure they give you a check-out slip or you'll be stopped by security (we were) and have to go back to the reception desk. We were able to resolve this but it was very inconvenient.

3. This place is a $10 US cab ride to downtown one way. There is a free shuttle that leaves and picks you up but you have to reserve it early, it may be booked, and it only comes a few times a day. The first shuttle leaves at 10am and the last shuttle at 6pm with no return shuttle after that which didn't really work out for us when we wanted to get an early start or stay late.

4. There is no hot water for showers. This wasn't a big deal for me since it's hot out and I like warm showers but this was a little annoying for my husband who will take a hot shower in the middle of summer. This may have only been our room but we'll never know because it didn't bother us enough to complain about it.

I should also mention that whenever you leave, they will ask you where you're going which I thought was a little eerie and made me wonder if there were safety issues I should be concerned about. The food at the restaurants was just OK, nothing to die for. With all that said, I would still recommend this place as long as you know the few possible down sides.

Room Tip: One bedrooms have a whirlpool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

At the Royal Resort I feel so relax; there is always a kind person helping you.
The staff is very professional but behave like a family, always a smile in their faces.
The facility is excellent. Easy to be in the pool with children.

Room Tip: Excellent place for families. At the beach you can swim or snork with your children safely. IIf y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mytrip1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I exchanged my membership that I own at the Royal Mayan. We stayed with family at the Royal Haciendas for week 35, beginning of September, like always, the Royal Resorts showed why they are the number one on the vacation ownership industry.
Cancun and playa del Carmen, with their white sandy beaches, turquoise warm waters, great infrastructure and friendly people, proved, why they are the number one tourist destination in the caribbean.
Our maid “Angelica”, bartenders, waiters, everybody do they job with a big and genuine smile.

The resort is very accommodating and I can not think of a better place for divers, their dive shop "Dive Balam" with their fantastic staff makes the diference!

Playa is a fascinating culinary experience and there is so much to do, I met people that have come for the past ten years and they still find something new to do.

Hopefully, you get to visit the Royal Haciendas and you get to love it, as much as I do!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edwi_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have traveled the world over and stayed at many timeshares and have never felt so restricted and intimidated. One of the men out front, Gary, (there 5 days out of my 7) approached me my first day there and demanded to know where I was going by taxi. When I politely told him I felt it was none of his business he became very angry and threatening! He said I HAD to tell him. No way! I live in a free country and refused to tell him. He was horrid, pacing back and forth, raising his voice to me. When I complained to the front desk, they were polite but told me I'd just have to write a complaint to the management. I doubt they received it. I understand the need for security (most definitely NOT Gary's concern) and I understand that they don't want you going to visit other timeshares (ostensibly his primary concern). But having someone like him out front ... the management is irresponsible to condone this type of behavior and I should have been directed to the hotel manager immediately. I kept seeing him almost every day and if looks could kill...it was very threatening. I was afraid of him. I will NEVER go near the place again. My vacation was ruined by one bad apple. I actually spoke with some other guests (couples) that had similar experiences with the same guy, although not quite as nasty. Too bad. It is really a beautiful resort and most of the other employees were nice. I kept thinking I wouldn't have been treated this way if I hadn't been alone. Ladies stay away!!

Room Tip: some other place, probably downtown Playa
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
12 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest:

At Royal Resorts we make every effort to ensure that our guests are satisfied with their stay. Occasionally, our guests are invited to attend timeshare presentations with outside companies. The personal concierges provide information to help guide our members and guests and let them know what they should expect from any timeshare sales presentation in the area. This service is intended to be non-intrusive and merely to clarify what may happen during the sales presentation in order to manage expectations.

We truly regret that you felt you were not attended properly by the concierge during your stay and have followed up with staff members to ensure such a situation does not recur.

Warm regards,
The Royal Haciendas Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just returned from a 7 day stay at the RH and can not say one bad word about this place. We had a junior suite which was perfect for the two of us. After all since it is just the two of us and we are not bringing children with us I do not need a full kitchen, I'm on vacation and i do not want to cook in my room. The service at the RH is fantastic,from the front desk clerks the waiters or waitress, the maids, the laundry room attendent,everyone is just fab.Also want to mention the great view we had from our balcolony we could see all the pools and the beach and even see coszumel it was great.After reading one review I was a little concerned that our concierge would totally ignor us after refusing the time share but she still treated us nice her name was Betty. We just explained that at our age and the health problems that we did not fill it would be in our best interest to do a time share. They accepted this and did not pressure us into something that we really did not want. Hope they will still let us come back as just guest in this resort. when we started planning our vacation we had full intentions of doing everything that there is to do but after relaxing by the pool one day we switched things up and just mostly stayed at the resort by the pool and beach. this turned out to be the most relaxing vacation ever.Don"t get me wrong we did go into town a couple of nights for dinner and a walk,you cant go to playa and not experience the town. We also ferried over to coszumel for snorkeling.Prices at the little store are great. Also resturants have great prices. Love the pool bar, We do not drink but ordered drinks with no alcohol they were very good and at a very good price.The fact that they do not supply shampoo was not a problem I like to use my own anyway. To sum this all up this is a beautiful place and i would return fo a second visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#100 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,039 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing