We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Juneau, Wi
Level Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“All Inclusive”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were the test monkeys for the 1st week of AI at Royal Sands & Haciendas .Needs lots of work .U can only eat at Sands & Haciendas Not all of the resorts like we were led to believe. You can dine at Captains Cove , El Conquistador & Hacienda Sisal BUT.. a VERY limited menu...1/2 the items have an extra charge. I can understand lobster & hi end steaks but their evening special?? We paid $1435 for the week and they want more for a ceasar salad ??At the Sands you could only order 1 drink at a time..when the wait staff avoided us, because of our wrist bands, I went to the pool bar to get drinks for my wife & I...had to take 1 to her , come back and reorder mine. Same thing at the outdoor food shacks... order an appetizer , get it , then order a burger.. HOW Stupid. Their worry about AI guests being drunk, loud & annoying was Way Far from the truth, you could not hear us over The Owners, who let it be known that they were against the AI program.ONLY 2 draft beers available..bottle beers were extra too. No pizza from the pizza restaurant..only a single topping 8 inch one from room service. Carlos & Beto worked with us to get things straightened out.The Haciendas was not as bad. We have done plenty of AI at other resorts & this one just doesn't make any sense.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank CQtopgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,130
    808
    253
    86
    65
See reviews for
1,723
966
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is my 5th year at Royal Haciendas. I love the place, the service, everything. So much to see, so much to do! The snorkeling is great. Many places are accessible by taxi or the resort shuttle. Something for everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean....I don't think ther is a "bad" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Royal Haciendas in Playa Del Carmen Mexico the last week of October 2012. The resort was fabulous as usual with great accomodations, beaches and staff.
Our weather was fantastic the whole week with temps in the mid 80's. We spent our days on the beach and in the pools. The wait staff were great whether we were on the beach or in the pool. We had lunch at one of the pool side grills(Luna) and on the beach on several occacions and the food was very good as was the service each time.
We had a group of eight for dinner one night in the Los Murales restaurant and the service was a little slow but the food was well worth the wait, whether it was seafood or beef. We just felt things could have gone just a tad faster and still made for a great evening.
This time of year in Mexico is a lot of fun due to the Day of the Dead and Halloween celebrations going on in the resort and the town of Playa Del Carmen. We spent many evenings in Playa trying out different bars and restaurants as we do every year. If you have never been to Playa or the Royal Hacienda, you need to try them both out, we think you will be back!

Room Tip: Every room here is an exact duplicate. The only loud areas of the property might be close to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancunkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Secure beautiful location where all your needs are met be a wonderful staff. The room (villa) was emaculate and very roomy. Dive shop on site was very convenient, but other activites were very close by. I had a car, but transportation to activities was usually included. Wifi was not consistant and when you had connection, it was usually slow. Paid for All-inclusive which was mandatory, little expensive, but I think we got our moneys worth. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better view. Obviously ocean front is got the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I just came back from a week's stay at this resort. We are owners of The Royal Caribbean in Cancun and had never been to Playa del Carmen so we decided to switch.
The resort offers the same wonderful ammenities as our home resort. It is wonderfully maintained, the units are beautiful and comfortable and the staff is extremely friendly.
The downside for us was that this resort has now started an "all inclusive" meal program.
While all meals were good, the resort only has two restaurants which makes it boring when having an all inclusive because you end up going to the same two places for the entire week.
Also, one of the restaurants which is a bit upper scale has surcharges on most of the entrees on the menu. Not very expensive but you don't want to pay extra when you are already paying for the all inclusive. Most importantly, the beverages included in the program are very, very low quality. Basic Mexican drinks such as Kahlua and Corona are not included. In this aspect we were disappointed. We do not recommend getting the all inclusive if you are not a big drinker....Otherwise, very very nice....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alina1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a beautiful resort on the Mexican Riviera Maya south of Cancun. The grounds are are immaculate, the staff very friendly and the beach is great. There is a lot to do in the area as well as within the complex. It is a timeshare facility. I traded in but I enjoyed it so much I bought a week!! Don't miss dinner at Los Muerlos, their wonderful new seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFCSpartaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We recently returned from our holiday at the Royal Hasciendas Resort. I can only echo the praise which others have reported here. It is a beautiful complex, the grounds are immaculate ,the pools clean and not too deep,which is something I always worry about. There were plenty of comfortable sunbeds and welcome shade. Service was exceptional from the waiters in all areas, they even serve on the beach. We were treated with the utmost of respect and there was a smiling face and an "ola" from any member of staff we came into contact with.
The very large apartment was top class and cleaned daily. Clean towels whenever we needed them and our own jacussi ( cant spell it), which was great to lounge in after a long day in the sun.
The food at Lapa Lapa was of a high standard. Our welcome there and banter with staff encouraged us to return lots of times.
We hired a car for 2 days.no problems there very simple ,no hassles. We travelled along the coast to Akumel ,simply beautiful, the beach was wonderful and we enjoyed watching the pelicans for hours. Our trip to Chicken Itsa was long and tiring. There is very little shade there and I foiund it hard to concentrate on the guide in the intense heat. Im glad we went but would warn anyone to take lots of sunscreen and a hat.
The location of Royal Haciendas is not good if you do not have a car. For us It was expensive to go into town by taxi. We used the shuttle bus at 6.30 pm but returned ourselves ,cost 140 Pesos each time. Playa Del Carmen was lively but more suited to couples and those who like to spend their evening eating and watching the world go by. Prices were a little high at times and the choice was mainly mexican or italian. The shops were the usual mix of designer and T shirt/drinks and jewelry.
Overall I would rate this holiday as one of the best places we have stayed in terms of accommodation, good service. and friendliness of staff. It was a peaceful relaxing holiday and I would recommend it for mature couples like ourselves, not that we are boring, we just needed a relaxing break!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genie291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,533 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,492 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
15,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing