We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss it already!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miss it already!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The resorts has big, clean, luxurious suites with a lot of separation areas if you have teenagers and/or kids. Plenty of dining venue options for all inclusive and surcharges were nominal. My family usually hangs by the pool but at this resort we split our time between pool and the beach because they beach was so swimmable and sandy. AND unlike many resorts there are enough cabanas for everyone to have shade. My only complaint was check in was cumbersome and a little awkward. We did not get any help with our luggage and we were only given one key for the first two days because they were "short". This was problematic because you must show a room key for all inclusive charges, not to mention only having one key to share for everyone to go back and forth to our villa. On the flipside, once in, all other staff were professional and friendly. Waiters were wonderful and work hard. Yes, you wait a bit, but no big deal. There is plenty to do with the resort activities and offsite parks close by. We had a couples massage on the beach. Pure heaven. Also really, really enjoyed Xplor for an offsite excursion. Although we were there over Spring Break we encountered mostly families, not college kids. It was quiet every night by 9 PM and that was fine with us. It was busy though and you will have to stake out pool spots early in the morning or not get one. The maids are great. Immaculate rooms and grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,273
    870
    274
    91
    71
See reviews for
1,889
1,014
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is our fifth annual trip to this wonderful resort. We keep coming back because it is so beautiful, the staff is friendly without being obsequious, the rooms are nice and the activities suit our needs. I enjoy the daily morning yoga followed by Pilates, Zumba, or water aerobics. There are multiple pools, including kitty pools for the little ones and lap pools for swimmers. For the younger crowd there is beach volleyball. They also have an on-site scuba school and equipment such as kayaks and flippers for guests. My husband just stays in the shade and reads. There is a good mix of ages among the guests. If you don't like birds, don't come here! The gorgeous landscaping attracts lots of birds. This morning I saw a beautiful hummingbird. Last year I took the 'behind the scenes' tour of the reverse osmosis water purification system and saw the impressive staff area. We visited a classroom where practical English was being taught to employees. We see the same people from year to year, so it seems they are good employers. Royal Haciendas is probably not a good choice for Spring Breakers who are looking for nightlife. It is an all-inclusive, so vacationers who like to eat at different restaurants in the nearby cities might not find it to be a good value. Like many Riviera Maya resorts, Royal Haciendas is a timeshare, so expect sales staff to be around. This has never bothered us because the sales staff seem very professional. The closest town is Playa del Carmen. The resort has a special arrangement with certain taxis to take vacationers to and from town for $3 each way. Royal Haciendas is very close to Tulum, a beautiful Mayan ruin with a lovely beach. On-site travel agent and car rental are very convenient. There is also a spa, but we have never used it. If you can avoid the Cancun airport on the weekends, try to do so.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathrynInDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

They got it right at this all-inclusive!
I have been coming to the Royal Haciendas for five years and love this Resort. The location is great (away from the craziness of Cancun) but still lively. The Resort itself is beautiful; the grounds are immaculate; the daily maid service is excellent; and the beaches pristine.
This was my first visit with the all-inclusive option. It was GREAT! The food is superb and the dining options are few, but with enough variety to satisfy most people for a weeks' vacation. It was very cool to be able to get room service included! The included wine, beer and liquor options were much better than most all-inclusive Resorts. The service at the restaurants and bars can be slow, but it's usually friendly.
One disappointment was the fact that their big scuba diving boat was broken, so we couldn't go diving in Cozumel - which was the purpose of our trip.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room in this Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinNutnotFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great staff! Wonderful rooms - very spacious. Family orientated. We booked our golf through the resort. Also booked a car for road trips. We have come here yearly - 20+.... We have recommended 3 families to join us 10 years ago. Now all of us stay and enjoy this resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for spring break and it was amazing! This was our second time in Mexico, first time in Playa del Carmen and we loved this resort. The staff here are constantly cleaning and it definitely shows in the appearance. The hotel is almost spotless and so are the rooms. The staff all know decent English and are easy to communicate with. The beach is breathtaking and there are plenty of spots to sit by the pool and beach. The pool is great, but during spring break there are many college kids drinking at the pool bar (since the drinking age in Mexico is 18) so be prepared to have some funny stories to tell friends. There are many activities for the kids, especially the beach volleyball, which we could watch from our hammocks. The All-Inclusive is great and the food is very exceptional! We enjoyed the different themed buffets every night and the breakfast buffet is amazing. We noticed that by the pool, especially during the peak of lunchtime, service is very slow with food so we usually just did the lunch buffet too. During dinner, room service is very slow in bringing food to the rooms, sometimes to the point where your food is cold! It can be quickly warmed up in your microwave in the kitchen, though, so this was ok. The concierge was very helpful in setting up excursions for our family that included Xel-Ha and Dolphin Discovery, they even upgraded our view! Overall I was very pleased with this resort and we will definitely be coming back here in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMaster98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Royal Haciendas is a beautiful resort. The grounds are meticulously manicured and the buildings are spotless. The staff is very friendly and professional. Our family of 4 stayed in a two bedroom villa. The villa was very spaceous. The daily cleaning person did a wonderfull job. The food at the resort was excellent. The service by the pool waiters was top notch and the food at the Luna Grill next to the pool was very good. The beach is very large and well maintained. If you like to walk the beach, you can walk for miles in either direction from the resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

After 7 years, the staff is really beginning to shine; the waiters, bellboys and spa staff are the hit of this property. Great attitudes, high level of service and a real desire to please.

Since it's conversion to an all inclusive for renters (not required for owners), the infrastructure is truly taxed beyond capabilities, up to 2 hours to wait to eat, room service trays and related items in the hallways for literally days at times. It's obvious they are not set up to handle the volume of bodies they are seeing now as opposed to when it was primarily owners only.

On top of the frustrations with their conversion, it's obvious the mechanical maintenance is slipping, in three visits to the spa, only on one occasion were all of the wet area items working, twice the steam room was down, and once each the jacuzzi and saunas were down, thank goodness for the staff!

We went two days without air conditioning in our villa, two entire buildings were down.

The property was conceived and built with dozens of water features as the backdrop to common area rooms and outdoor areas, less than 20% of those are operational in the 4 weeks we have been here.

Sure seems like this place is slipping from its once top of the heap perch...

Room Tip: All rooms are basically identical with no bad locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEDMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

As you point out, our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. However, we always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we regret not achieving this goal with you. We will make our best to insure on your next visit we get a 5 out of 5 stars review instead of a 3 one.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#100 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,370 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,039 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing