We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time share week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #47 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Time share week”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is our 3rd. trip to Royal Haciendas and each one has been a delight. We used the all inclusive and felt that the value was excellant, since we took advantage of all the resort had to offer. The service, as usual, was outstanding; resort grounds and rooms are first class all the way. We would never have a question about referring the resort to our friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cgoer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,180
    829
    261
    87
    68
See reviews for
1,768
993
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The good = the grounds of the resort were nice and well kept, the resteraunts were clean and had above average food, quality of all inclusive drinks and wait staff (I would rate these particular items at 4.5),

The bad =
1. This is a time share and was our first time to stay in a time share instead of a resort so we learned several lessons, if you do not book your vacation to accomidate the resorts schedule (saturday to saturday) you will have to move rooms and this will waste 2 to 3 hours of your day from (11AM to 1PM is the only time you can move rooms).
2. We paid for the all inclusive package, we had to wear a wrist band, give our room key and our name EVERY time we ate breakfast, lunch, dinner, a snack, ordered a drink, got towels for the pool, went to the buffet etc. and we had to sign a receipt as if we were paying for each transactions this was very aggrevating.
3. The pool bar is only open from 11AM unti 6PM after this you must go to one of the resteraunts or the main bar to have a drink, the all inclusive drinks are about 20 frozen/on the rocks drink options and 2 draft beer options, anything else is extra.
4. There is one main resteraunt in which you must make reservations for each morning (early) or it gets booked and your only other option is the buffetl, FYI at the main resteraunt over half of the menu is not covered under the all inclusive package you must pay extra.
5. The rooms were fairly clean, low water pressure, the tub would not drain when taking a shower, our room was so humid that even with a dehumidifier, AC running and the ceiling fan going we would wake up during the night sweating.
6. This is a very family oriented facility, there are kids pools and main pools, problem is the kids all stay in the main pools, dive off of the bar stools at the swim up bar, throw balls, swim right past you with their flippers, splashing on your food if you are eating, into your dirnks etc. there are signs up stating "no kids in this area" but that was not enforced.
7. And the last thing, this is a timeshare so every time we called our conciere they requested 90 minutes of our time to go through their presentation, we did agree to the go through the presentation, 3 hours into the presentation we stopped them and told them we were not interested and we were ready to go back to our vacation, at this time our sales person has to get her manager, he wastes another 30 minutes trying to "close the deal" offering discounts etc. After we finally got through to him that we were not buying they told us that they just needed us to sign a document stating that we declined so we agreed and this last QA/QC guy starts throwing out more one time offers, discounts, etc. this was very aggrevating and a waste of half of our last day at the resort.
8. We will not go back to this resort, we will stick to All inclusive resorts and not time share resorts, had we known all of this info up front we would have chosen another property to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Amazing time. Friendly staff *Antonio from the pool bar was the best*.
Easy check in, easy check out. Answered all of our questions. Rooms were EXTREMELY spacious, well equipped *even though we had all inclusive- well worth it too*
Food was INCREDIBLE! Drinks were great *miami vice, piña colada, mango daiquirys, etc. etc. etc.* Guac dip and fish ceviche HIT THE SPOT! and the views of the beach... a must see!

DEFINITELY recommend this resort!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: "A" rooms include the hot tub/ jacuzzy. All the "B" rooms have a small sized bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamela u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been in several resorts and this is one of the best. The food and the drinks were great. The service is always excellent and the staf is always willing to help with anything you need. The beach is very nice and the weather was fantastic. Rooms were very clean. We love this place and we will recommend it again and again and again. We will go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The resort was beautiful with great employees, good food, great diving, good drinks. My wife & I enjoyed meeting lots of great people. We rented a car in Cancun airport and went to Playa twice . Great Trip all inclusive. Would do this trip again and stay at the Royal Haciendas!!

Room Tip: Quiet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place was awesome! Service was excellent and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and spacious - my friends and I shared the 1 bedroom/1 bath "half-villas" with kitchenette (we booked two rooms with 2 persons/room - we are not villa owners but booked the trip through a third party website). We did the Refine all-inclusive package which was totally worth it - ended up with a few 'sur-chages' because it wasn't in our package, but in the grand scheme of things, it was not even close to a budget buster. No problems finding a spot by the pool or the beach - the swim up bar is great and their waiters/staff at the pool grill were on top of things. My only complaint would be that the buffet at La Palapa was so-so - it was good food and plenty of it, but by the third day everything started to taste the same. DEFINITELY make a reservation or two at Los Murales, their up-scale restaurant - it was amazing! And also, not to worry about the water/ice/etc - they have their own filtration system and we encountered no problems. The views were all over the resort - we could see the ocean from our 2nd floor room and the grounds are exquisitely kept. Booking the round-trip shuttle to and from the airport was a breeze, just follow exactly as they tell you in the voucher and you will encounter no problems. Would definitely come back again and highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation!!

Room Tip: Higher floors = better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Concierge - We initiated all of the contact we had with our concierge. This is extremely different than in the past when our concierge would visit our villa upon arrival and check in with us throughout our stay. She was nice but we wouldn't have known that if we hadn't contacted her ourselves. We're disappointed in the decline in service and believe it is attributable to the all-inclusive package and the non-members the resort is attracting.

Villa- Our villa was not thorougly cleaned and the maid had to return to properly clean the floor because there were remnants of food left by the previous guests. The maid service was inconsistent throughout the week as items such as bath mats and kitchen towels were frequently missing. Room service management was not at all friendly and did not make as feel welcome.

We purchased the Refine Package and did not receive the bath amenities and robes until we called to ask for them. It didn't work this way in the past and it is troubling to me that the service is declining. The nightly "turndown" service was inconsistnet and calls to Housekeeping were not addressed.

Sol and Luna Grills - The employees of the Sol and Luna Grills did a fantastic job and should serve as an example for the entire resort including the management statff. They are friendly, courteous, and very hard working. Some smile and some do not. The manager should be commended because it is obvious that his employees respect him and he respects them. I can't thank the Sol and Luna grill employees enough for making our stay so great. A special commendation to David Chimal. David is knowledable of the menu and goes above and beyond in taking care of his customers.

Rotunda Bar - The music played by the DJ was much too loud and could not be enjoyed. Please turn it down.

Room Service - We purchased the Refine Package and the "mini-bar" in our room was not stocked for well over 24 hours from the time we purchased it. We called Room Service to request it but these requests were ignored. When I complained to the front desk I was told there was only two people servicing the entire resort. I requested compensation from management and was told they would get back to me the next day. I never heard from them. This decline in service is very troubling. On a positive note, the room service menu is new and improved.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice but if you don't mind the stairs request a penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

As you point out, our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. However, we always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we will improve those areas in which there are opportunities to ensure on your next visit we get a 5 out of 5 stars review.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,599 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing