We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort with great people ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Resort with great people ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We visited the royal haciendas just last week and it was an excellent experience. The staff was always friendly and willing to help out with any of our needs. Language barrier was never an issue. Beach was beautiful. Food and beverage service was always accurate and fast. We all did the all inclusive package which was well worth it. Made our trip very convenient. Thomas Moore travel agency was also a huge plus for us and made our excursions outside of the resort very accommodating. Would love to return

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,131
    810
    253
    86
    65
See reviews for
1,726
966
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family of five (three teenagers, 17, 15, and 13) just returned from a weeklong stay at the Royal Haciendas, and very much enjoyed the facility. However, it is certainly not a Ritz Carlton/Four Seasons type of experience, and mostly due to inconsistency.

Food
Let me start by saying that we are major foodies. One of my soft criticisms of RH is that the dining options are limited. There are two pool bars, which operate from 11-5, La Palapa, and Los Murales. The pool restaurant on our side had very good bar food. The octopus rings, the salsa and guacamole, the mahi mahi wraps, and the fish tacos were stand outs. The service was excellent there too. Our stay would have been vastly improved if this alternative simply had stayed open to 7:00! We ate at Los Murales 5 nights of our stay. Every night, we incurred surcharges, which was fine. The service was exceptional, the presentation was perfect, and the food was solid. Taste-wise, I would say that the seafood was equivalent to a McCormick & Schmitt's, and the beef was somewhat lagging a Capital Grille/Ruth Chris (but still very enjoyable). We do wish that there had been better wine selections; we were happy to incur a surcharge for a better Cabernet, but there just weren't very good alternatives. The final night, we went over to the store, bought a bottle there, and paid a corkage charge! Now the bad: La Palapa was gross. The breakfast bar was okay, but the dinner buffet was bad, "prime rib night" was worse, and ordering off the menu did not improve the situation (we tried mole, ribs, steak sandwich, and fish sandwich off menu). If you go to RH, plan your meals to avoid this place.

Facilities
The two bedroom suite worked so well for our family. The beds were comfortable and the space was intelligently designed (it enabled the early birds in our family to sneak out without waking the others). The maids did a nice job tidying the room, and the groundskeepers kept the public areas in immaculate shape.

Service
Service was SO inconsistent. There were instances of simply exceptional service (Juan by the poolside, wait staff at pool restaurant and Los Murales). Our concierge, Carla, went out of her way to assist with a lost luggage issue that we had. And, the pottery painting guys were great, and so very talented!

Conversely, there were times that I had to hunt down someone to provide poolside service. The towel guys were generally not helpful at all. One of them refused to give my daughter towels, saying that we already had them out, when in fact we did not; another night, my son threw a ball at me, my contact popped out of place, and I ran over to towel service from the lap pool and they wouldn't give me a towel since I didn't have my card with me (having just emerged from the pool). Another time, we left early for an excursion, and asked a female concierge (not Carla) to make a reservation for us at Los Murales; it never happened, presumably because she was not our "assigned" concierge.

Beach
We liked the beach. The beach was clean, the water was clear and good for snorkeling, and the areas were partitioned off clearly. We used the sea kayaks, but be sure to make reservations well in advance! The lifeguard was very attentive.

Entertainment
There wasn't really any. It didn't bother us, of course, but this is definitely a family oriented resort. If you are looking for entertainment, or lots of night life, RH may not be the best place for you.

Weird things (but not important to stay)
Their obsession with, and stinginess regarding, towels. Do they really think that we're going to steal them??
They also counted the silverware in our unit on our next to last day??
Smokers! More than I have seen in a long time...

Room Tip: We enjoyed our third floor two bedroom suite as it had ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leslie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The 2 bedroom units are hugh and furnished lovely. Mirror image courtyard makes everything close to your room. The pottery painting by the pool was fun. The workers always touched up your pieces making them look like an expert painted it. The waiters by the pool were fast. Swim up bar was always easy to get a stool at. The pool side resturants were the best place for lunch. Kids club kept the childern busy during the day. Playa del Carmen was 10 minutes by taxi.Plenty of shopping and resturants in town.

Room Tip: Upper floor gives all rooms an ocean view. If using kids club ask for your room on that side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcamper2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Royal haciendas is an awesome place to stay. We had 6 of us (all friends from high school). We rented a room for 6 and a room for 2. There was plenty of room for all of us. We utilized the shuttle service several times to go into playa del Carmen. 5th avenue is a great place to shop. The resort is very clean and the workers work very hard. We had maintenance come fix something because the maid noticed it and reported it. Beach was clean and the water was warm. Most of the food we ate here was pretty good. We did buy groceries from the store in playa del Carmen and cooked in our room. I have read reviews where people complain about having to use your card instead of paying cash for things. I actually like that because you don't have to worry about losing any money and carrying it around the resort. Several times we payed on our bill so at the end of the week we only had small balances. I have a week here every year and look forward to enjoying all they have to offer every year.

Room Tip: We had a room very close to the lobby and resort store and loved the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was our first time at the Haciendas and it was great. We had a so call Penthouse view on the 4th floor with the two bedroom deluxe villa. It was very nice and clean. You had so much closet space. We were at the 2nd phase which was a lot quieter. The patio also had a Jacuzzi outside which is really neat. The staff is really nice and friendly. The grounds are keep clean & landscape nice. The kids club was very nice and big with a lot of activites for them to do. The food at the Patio Luna was very good and service was great. We went once to patio Sol was too busy which we didn't have great service. The buffet food was great & any where you sit you have a great view of the beach.
We went one day into town on the Royal shuttle which we had to pay for which wasn't much $3 a person. At a certain time there was no charge.(5:30p.m). If you didn't have All Inclusive like us, you didn't get FREE exercise room. So we walked on this nice pathway in the evening time to get some of exercise.
We enjoyed the nice peaceful resort. There was not too many people. So that made it really nice at the pool & beach. We did have a very nice Concierge name Betty. They do try to sell you property there with a free lunch or breakfast, like they say you can always say NO THANK YOU.
They did have Free snorkel gear and kayak.
It was a week of great relaxation & a peaceful time. We would love to come back!

Room Tip: We had 4th floor which was nice view of beach.(Penthouse is what they called it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed with my husband at The Royal Haciendas this past week and it was an amazing vacation. The hotel is beautiful , rooms are clean and comfortable, bathrooms very pretty and clean. We enjoyed the food, Los Murales is very elegant , reservations only seafood restaurant, but other places by the pool and beach front palapas del sol were amazing as well.The grounds very spotless clean, and stuff was so happy, friendly and helpful. We made many friends during our stay and we are definitely ready to go back there any time:-)

Room Tip: We had standard villa with ocean view on the top 3rd floor , the view was spectacular to wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Biedronka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just returned from 3 weeks in Riviera Maya, and spend one of the weeks at Royal Haciendas. The service was amazing. The food was great especially at Los Murales. We own 2 weeks in the winter and chose to spend a week this summer because we both love it.

Highly recommended it to anyone looking for a true Mexico's Mayan experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,494 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing