We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #48 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sylvania Township, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place for Families”
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We have stayed at the Royal Haciendas for the last three Christmas vacations. We are going back this year as well. The beach is beautiful white sand and the water is calm an aqua blue. There is an activity center for children, several play areas for children and several baby pools. The restaurants are convenient and there is a small grocery store by the front desk area. The resort also has laundry facilities. This is not an ideal place for young couples to party or for infirm people as the resort is very large and requires some walking. The staff are very helpful and the workers keep the resort in immaculate condition. Our dish washer in the room broke last year and their maintinance people wheeled in a brand new one, took out our broken unit and in less than an hour we had a working machine. I thought the service, decor to be excellent, the food is very good but not gourmet.. This is not a Four Seasons or a Mandarin Oriental five star resort, but it is a good solid four star establishment and I would not hesitate to recommend it for young families I have attached a copy of the view from our window in unit E135, you can see a bit of the jacuzzi (the little kids loved that). There is a full spa on the grounds. Paul Goldner.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgoldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,259
    865
    274
    90
    71
See reviews for
1,870
1,013
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We have been visiting the royal resorts for the past 8 years. The royal haciendas is the latest addition. We love the villas. The staff is curteous and accomadating. The resort is extremely clean. The heated pool is an added bonus to the great views and the great beach. We plan on going again next year...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrshr05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My wife, son and inlaws went to the Royal Haciendas in Playa Del Carmen September 26th - October 3rd 2009 and we LOVED it.

Both pools were open for business, the view from the room was spectactular, the food at the Hacienda was "OK" but we did not see a difference in the quality until we went to Playa Del Carmen for dinner...so while the food at the Hacienda was good, the food in Playa Del Carmen was 10x's better :)

The Service at the 2 outdoor cafe's was OK at best. As an American, we tend to want prompt service and quick turn around for food service. Forget about that when you go to Mexico...if you can deal with that then you'll be A-OK!

The diving was spectactular, the service from the staff was first class all the way. You want it, they will get it for you.

Swim up bars were fantastic. Margaritas and Funky Monkey's were the BEST drinks. The rotunda bar inside was terrific. Remy Martin XO and top shelf Tequilla. The bartender took about 45 minutes with me to educate me about Tequilla. I was very impressed with that.

Snorkeling was fantastic and the SCUBA Diving was religious! WOW what a beautiful place.

You have to be flexible and go with the flow in Mexico, otherwise you'll not have a good time. Chill out, relax and remember you're on vacation....so its ALL GOOD!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chopchop72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My family and I stayed at The Royal Haciendas in April/09. We had a wonderful vacation. Not only were the rooms and the hotel immaculate more importantly the people were so friendly. Great pool area and swim up bar. Also a great kiddie pool. Lots of lounge chairs and palapas at the beach. Though if you want a prime spot it is always good to get up early a save a chair. Food was very good. Usually had lunch by the pool. My brother went deep sea fishing and the chef working the grill was more than happy to cook the fish for us for a few bucks...seasoned the fish perfectly. Dinner in town, Playa De carmen, was fantastic. Never had a bad meal. Lots of great shopping in town, fun to walk around or grab a cold corona at a bar. Overall a great trip and would return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StineeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN DIEGO
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We have stayed many places, but I must say this resort has been one of my favorites. You could tell the people that work there love thier jobs, which in turn means they treated us wonderfully. The rooms are great we had three 2 bedroom villas and every condo was clean and comfortable and were great..... very roomy. The ocean doesn't look real with the beautiful blue colors, and this resort is right on the beach, we had so much fun in the pool in the evening. But make sure you get back to your condo by 6:30 and get that bug spray on the mosquitos are so aggresive, we thought it was strange the first day we had the pool to ourselves after 6:30 and then we figured it out. That is the only complaint we had, so we just made sure we applied alot of "bug off"at dusk. Chichen itza was nice but our favorite was x-caret, I wish we would of gone earlier in the day, there is quite a bit to do, the buffet there is excellent, I love that yucatan food. The resort had excellent food in the restaurants and at the pool bar but we didn't care for room service food. the mexican buffet is excellent and the wraps at the pool restaurant are yummy!! I would definetly go back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JESSICASBIZARREGIFTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrettsville, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

My husband and I spent a week at the Royal Haciendas in the Riviera Maya in September. We recommend this resort for familes and / or couples who are looking for a low-key getaway to a place that is all about relaxation! We visited this resort by timeshare trade through Interval International.

The resort is EXTREMELY clean. We were impressed day in and day out by how much care is put into making the place look perfect. The staff clearly takes pride in making the resort, including the suites, common areas, beach and pools, beautifully maintained. Our goal for this vacation was to simply relax, so we spent the majority of our time relaxing by the pool or on the beach under one of the umbrellas, and it was great.

The resort conveniently has a market where you can buy basic groceries. The prices vary ... some items I found to be reasonably priced and comparable to what you would expect to pay here in the US, but some items were expensive. We tried to just be selective and bought what we needed for breakfast, lunch and snacks. Although we didn't use the service, the resort also offers free shuttle transportation in and out of the town of Playa Del Carmen. A nice feature, if you are looking to head into town for a day.

Our only complaint about this resort was that there is really one place to eat dinner. You can order food at the pool bar until 4:45 p.m., but then they close their kitchen. Going into town is an option for dinner, but if you are looking to just kick back at the resort, there is just one restaurant and the prices are high. They have a different "theme" each night so if you are a picky eater or are in the mood for something specific, this is a pain.

Overall, we thought this was a nice resort and we would definitely consider going again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefitzgeralds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We just got back from a fantastic stay at the Royal Haciendas in Playa del Carmen. We flew into Cancun and it was an easy ride to the resort. The rooms were immaculate, and very well appointed. Our favorite part was having a hot tub out on our balcony - can't beat that!! The grounds are gorgeous with beautiful palm trees and a white sand beach. When you get past just a short bit of rocky shore the walk along the beach is wonderful with the sand being fine and soft. One of the best parts of our stay there was the staff. To a person they were friendly, smiling and always helpful - made us feel like we just belonged there! Playa is a nice little town and we really appreciated the peacefulness and quiet of the area - just the kind of vacation we like. If you want more of a nightlife, Cancun is easy to get to. We rented our timeshare from redweek.com and got a fantastic deal. Ours was a two bedroom with an ocean view for just $136/night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JinSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,865 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#99 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#29 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,817 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#55 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing