We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$459
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$444
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$556
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$399
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$232
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,496)
Filter reviews
1,496 results
Traveller rating
1,089
276
74
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
276
74
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubfishing boatscondo hotelhot tubindigo restaurantwhite noise machinebedroom penthousewasher and dryerfull kitchenrooftop terracebeautiful condorecommend elwater coolerlight sleeperrestaurants and shopsprivate balconybeach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
1,139 - 1,144 of 1,496 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom and it was impeccable and well appointed with a nice view of the ocean. The staff was great and tried to assist with everything and anything. Definitely 5 star service! Their fitness center is a professional set up and they have wonderful yoga classes on the beach. One day their Indigo beach club was full with a wedding group so we headed over to their other beach club only 1 block away. They provide complimentary lounge chairs to El Taj guests and we recommend it highly because the other beach club has no boats parked in front. The food is also much more reasonably priced and thought the prices at Indigo were inflated. If you want authentic Mexican food (inexpensive ) check out the restaurant next to Indigo on the side street. The towel guys at El Taj beach provide complimentary sun lotions and always offered to clean our sun glasses with a professional cleaning machine every day. Nice touch! They also provide children beach toys and water floats which are great. Our kids loved it and the swimming pool at El taj is amazing. Definitely check out Wicks beach club and restaurant especially if you love to swim in the ocean clear of any boats. We throughly enjoyed their rustic & romantic pier in front of El Taj and watch the sunset overnight with a cocktail or two. Simply the best location to everything in Playa and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waytogo400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Great condos with lots of options to meet any family needs. It is very convenient to have kitchen even though we would still end up having breakfast at the Beach Club nearby. The location is amazing, literally 1 minute away from the busy touristy area of 5th avenue. The location could not be more perfect.

We loved the service and we loved the interiors of the condos. Creative architecture, lots of plants and flowers around and little ponds to look at.

What we loved:
1) location
2) trendy architecture, interiors and layout of condos
2) closeness of the condos to the beach
3) nice beach club
4) friendly service
5) availability of tours and sightseeing nearby
6) grocery shopping nearby
7) great restaurant recommendations by the Condos and privilege card. All the recommendations were top notch, delicious food!

What we didn't like as much:
1) the beach and water have boats so you have to walk along the beach to find a better spot
2) one pool that gets crowded with people
3) clubs nearby that create lots of noise on weekends
4) condo had a wedding one night and the dancing later on kept us at night for way too long. It was so loud it would shake our walls

Overall, I still feel that I would definitely return to stay at El Taj again, yet I'll be more careful selecting the unit I want.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anyacalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I booked a few nights at El Taj after diving in Cozumel. I booked on Expedia and found it to be good value, although I had requested specific units but was given something else on the ground floor. Positives are: the location is excellent, just steps away from everything you could want. Despite being so close to nightlife it was very quiet in the evenings. Complimentary access to the GYM is great-the facility is clean, modern, and a short walk from El Taj. The staff were all wonderful, with the exception of one slow and mediocre breakfast service-was not told of the options for the breakfast and had to chase down waiters to ask. Beach club staff are generally friendly and quick and the front desk was very professional. Housekeeping and maintenance were on top of things and noticed that I was having trouble with the lock on the sliding door-repaired immediately with minor inconvenience. The condo itself is furnished very comfortably-the kitchen has only a mini-fridge anb stove though so it might not be ideal for longer term stays, but, the bed was AMAZING! The downsides are: the unit I was in was quite dark, not really any beach view other than a sliver of water from the patio only, lots of foot traffic outside and the patio area is not terribly private. The pool is nice but there is almost no space for lounge chairs around it therefore if you don't want to be covered in sand there is really no option to lay out by the pool. The beach club is decent, but not big enough for the amount of people that have access to it so you have to fight to get a good spot and you only get one towel which becomes grimy and wet pretty fast if you are in the water and with all the sand blowing around. Also, as another reviewer wrote there is a dock and alot of boats directly ahead so the water smells gassy and it's not the best spot for swimming. The only other big issue I have is that there is no free Wi-Fi for guests and I felt as if it should be included at the price point and type of luxury this place advertises. Also, there should be an option to sign food and beverages to your room at the beach club so that guests don't have to carry cash to the beach-and potentially leave it unattended while swimming. As a potential buyer, I find this place to be nice, but perhaps not where I would want to spend an extended period of time as it feels a little too crowded and more of a hotel suite than a condo or home. Overall though, a positive experience and I would consider a return visit for shorter term stays.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mistylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My husband and I just spent Memorial weekend at the El Taj Hotel. It was our first visit to the El Taj and we will absolutely stay here again! Everything about this hotel is perfect! Great views, great beach, fun atmosphere!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRKSanClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The penthouse condo with the rooftop terrace was superbly beautiful. Our group of six was very pleased with the friendly staff; clean, modern, spacious, quiet room; delicious breakfast; beach service and activities; convenient location (within walking distance to shops, restaurants, night life, etc.). The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were better than home (I'm very pillow picky). The rooftop terrace was a highlight of the room with its' spectacular view and comfortably large seating area. A less desirable comment -- during our stay the elevator was out of service, and the hot tub heater stopped working on the last day. However, the staff compensated with free breakfasts. We loved our El Taj getaway and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The penthouse has fantastic views.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseO2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews