We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$806
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveller rating
1,089
276
73
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
276
73
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubfishing boatscondo hotelhot tubindigo restaurantwhite noise machinebedroom penthousewasher and dryerfull kitchenrooftop terracebeautiful condorecommend elwater coolerlight sleeperrestaurants and shopsprivate balconybeach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
1,092 - 1,097 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

With the reviews from Tripadvisor we decided on this hotel based on the #1 standing. The staff is remarkable-they will do anything to make your visit great. The cleaning was amazing. The pools are great. The condo is like a small house with beautiful layout and furnishings. The location is perfect.Walking distance to everything. What is really important to us is the turquoise water and the peace and quiet. The water is foul-it is not clear and there is an stench. The best swimming is about a10 minute walk north after the Royal. The noise at night from the clubs is unbearable. The staff did every thing possible to solve the problem including calling the officials. The noise goes until 5 am. Unfortunately when the noise problem was minimized the condo next to us got out of control. It is so hard to write a bad review since the hotel offered do much and the staff could not be better

Room Tip: rooms on the north side close to the beach will not have the same problems with club noise
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nriskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We were very suspicious of all the good reviews, but have been pleasantly surprised at these fab condos just a block away from the hub of Playa Del Carmen. Having explored the rest of the town, this really is the best spot in town.

A great swimming pool, fun jacuzzi, free chairs, towels and parasols. The conceriege is so helpful and even lends out books, games, DVDs and magazines for free.

The only drawback that might upset some people are the noisy clubs which are only a few hundred metres away (particularly loud at the weekend). To be honest we were in room 319, which is probably the nearest to them and it didn't affect us. We just played some music using one of the two iPod docks provided in the Condo.

The industrial size bottle of drinking water in the kitchen was really helpful! We look forward to coming back one day!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_Win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

As a lone femail traveler I felt very safe here and when walking from the hotel to the main street with it's shops and bars which is so close. Literally 2 minutes from my room to the beach where there are the most comfortable sunbeds and superb service. Will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suebloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

There are not many water currents in front of the condos which is reason they park all the fishing boats there. This situation causes the pollution to accumulate and prevent any pleasent thoughts of swimming or building sand castles. You can go down the beach about a hundred yards or so where the water is cleaner to a point and where there were people swimming.
The condo beachfront minus the water was one of the better ones around with a bar and restaurant.
Partial ocean view only means your room is on the ocean side of the street that goes between the property. Only six condos could be considered ocean view. The partial ocean view would be be considered garden view at most other properties.
This is probably one of the better places to stay in Playa del Carmen. The location is great for walking to anything, yet far enough away to get some peace and quiet. The rooms are by far better than what you could get at any hotel for the price.
Plenty of beachside bars and restaurants within walking distance. Other than the water at the beach, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VIPbeachguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We chose El Taj for the great reviews on trip advisor and the Number one rating. I am not sure why they are rated number one! We travel a lot, and love the Mexican Riviera for good R and R, but El Taj and R and R should not be used together.
This is our honeymoon, and we wanted the best. When we arrived, it was a nightmare! We were told that we had been UPGRADED to a two room condo- we only needed one bedroom, but we thought we would look at it, thinking it would be a better location. We nicknamed this unit the fish-bowl. It is directly above the check in desk, facing the street and the discos. So, it was very load. NO view of anything, expect the maids who congregated outside the window, and everyone who walked through the hotel, since it is the first room at the top of the stairs. We refused this room, and were told the only other room available was a one bedroom on the third floor. When we went to look at this, the room was ok- quieter, but REEKED of smoke! My husband is horribly allergic. The desk people refused to give us any other chose, since we HAD BOOKED THROUGH A TRAVEL AGENCY, not directly with them. ??????????????? We were mystified by this reasoning. We tried to call our travel agent, but could not get a line out since we were in Mexico, and the man at the desk refused to help us. We were stuck! We took the stinky room and opened all the windows and the maid lit incense. After three days, the smell went away, but my husband was horribly ill. The fish bowl would have been just as bad since it backed onto the alley and was directly above were the staff smoked on the street.
Each day we asked to change, but were told they were sold out- although it looked that half the units were open each night!
Service at the beach club was minimal, unless you were a cute girl that kissed the beach boys. Only once in 5 days did anyone offer to clean our glasses, or ask if we needed a drink. It was pretty much self serve at the over priced bar attached.
Beds were hard as a rock!!!
Pools have only a couple of chairs by each and do not entice you to lay by them. They are very cramped areas
Good points/ The maids and grounds keepers are amazing. We did go fishing with the boats out front- my husband made arrangements with Jesus and his assistant Fabio- they are the red boats just to the right. We caught red snapper until our arms hurt!

Room Tip: YOU must book with them directly DO NOT USE travel agent or they will give you the WORST rooms and NO refund!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank gusngladisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews