We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Playa del Carmen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #32 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Playa del Carmen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great condos, great service, great pool(s), 3-minute-walk to 5th Avenue but still quiet, free gym (real gym, not just two bikes and a couple of weights) --> great hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    238
    61
    22
    18
See reviews for
509
426
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed a couple days at Porto Playa and moved over to El Taj for three days. If you love being on the beach, this is the place ! Both properties are wonderfully managed as condos with daily hotel services. We had a one bedroom apartment with a beautiful Gulf view from the living room and from a balcony off the bedroom. Nice to have a full size refrigerator, microwave, fully stocked kitchen. We were not staying for a long time but a washer/dryer stack in the unit was also available. It is a short walk to alot of nice restaurants. I can't say we had any noise problems that some have mentioned, however it might be advisable to ask if some units may be more quiet. Around the clock front desk service and security made our stay very peaceful and enjoyable. Can't wait to return and the only tough decision....here or Porto Playa ??

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbone91148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is my first comment on Trip Advisor, though I reference it quite often to help inform my decisions on accommodations, etc when putting together my trips. I shared Rm #32 w/ another couple (also totally impressed w/ El Taj). I stayed here Sept 2-5, 2011. I'd have to work really really hard to find anything critical to say of El Taj. The place is spectacular, the grounds are spectacular, and the staff is spectacular to boot. I arrived around 9PM into El Taj and was greeted at the entrance of the hotel, where the staff ushered us into reservations to square up on housekeeping, keys, etc. That was all of 10 minutes at which point I was given a parking pass for my stay. Parking is free, garage is clean, and you can enter grounds from the garage area itself. The first step into the place defined my whole experience: serene, easy-breezy, contemporary, relaxed, oasis. The unit itself is stellar, well appointed, comes w/ shot glasses, pints, a solid blender, cutting board, forks/knives/spoons, safes for your valuables. You'd hate to be a smidgen of dirt cause the place is super clean and you have the option of having it cleaned everyday, just got to let the cleaning people know. They arrive around 12pm daily. The pool is a winner, great temperature, great views from the pool, unique design, and just awesome. The Indigo Bar is good. I had breakfast every morning and it was fantastic, I had the buffet. I ordered a drink from the bar (Pina Colada) and if there is anything that needed any improvement, which is not easy to find at El Taj, it would be the drinks. I'd hit up Mega, right up the street, for my drinks, etc though, so getting yourself set up w/ drinks, etc is nothing more than a trip to the grocery market away. Mega is as modern and large as any large grocery market in the US, it's huge and has everything you'll need to usher in the good times. I walked along the beach as far as I possibly could before being cut off by a barrier and El Taj is bar far the most beautiful place along a 3/4 mile stretch of the beach. I researched like a dog for three weeks before pulling the trigger on El Taj and it was some of the best money I've spent in quite some time. If you are on the fences about this place, I can say w/o hesitation, you've done yourself a solid if you chosen this place. The pictures, the reviews...it all marries up the second you arrive and see it yourself. Absolutely loved this place!

Room Tip: Rm#32, 2bdrm, opens up to Oceanfront and Pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sifiso0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nriskin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

With the reviews from Tripadvisor we decided on this hotel based on the #1 standing. The staff is remarkable-they will do anything to make your visit great. The cleaning was amazing. The pools are great. The condo is like a small house with beautiful layout and furnishings. The location is perfect.Walking distance to everything. What is really important to us is the turquoise water and the peace and quiet. The water is foul-it is not clear and there is an stench. The best swimming is about a10 minute walk north after the Royal. The noise at night from the clubs is unbearable. The staff did every thing possible to solve the problem including calling the officials. The noise goes until 5 am. Unfortunately when the noise problem was minimized the condo next to us got out of control. It is so hard to write a bad review since the hotel offered do much and the staff could not be better

Room Tip: rooms on the north side close to the beach will not have the same problems with club noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nriskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We were very suspicious of all the good reviews, but have been pleasantly surprised at these fab condos just a block away from the hub of Playa Del Carmen. Having explored the rest of the town, this really is the best spot in town.

A great swimming pool, fun jacuzzi, free chairs, towels and parasols. The conceriege is so helpful and even lends out books, games, DVDs and magazines for free.

The only drawback that might upset some people are the noisy clubs which are only a few hundred metres away (particularly loud at the weekend). To be honest we were in room 319, which is probably the nearest to them and it didn't affect us. We just played some music using one of the two iPod docks provided in the Condo.

The industrial size bottle of drinking water in the kitchen was really helpful! We look forward to coming back one day!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam_Win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

As a lone femail traveler I felt very safe here and when walking from the hotel to the main street with it's shops and bars which is so close. Literally 2 minutes from my room to the beach where there are the most comfortable sunbeds and superb service. Will definitely return here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suebloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

There are not many water currents in front of the condos which is reason they park all the fishing boats there. This situation causes the pollution to accumulate and prevent any pleasent thoughts of swimming or building sand castles. You can go down the beach about a hundred yards or so where the water is cleaner to a point and where there were people swimming.
The condo beachfront minus the water was one of the better ones around with a bar and restaurant.
Partial ocean view only means your room is on the ocean side of the street that goes between the property. Only six condos could be considered ocean view. The partial ocean view would be be considered garden view at most other properties.
This is probably one of the better places to stay in Playa del Carmen. The location is great for walking to anything, yet far enough away to get some peace and quiet. The rooms are by far better than what you could get at any hotel for the price.
Plenty of beachside bars and restaurants within walking distance. Other than the water at the beach, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VIPbeachguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#25 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing