We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Accommodation Beautiful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning Accommodation Beautiful Staff”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

What an amazing place to stay when visiting beautiful Mexico.
The location is just perfect, right on the beach. The staff were amazing always so helpful & going out of their way for us. The receptionist even let me use her PC to add credit to my phone because I couldn’t manage it myself on my BlackBerry!
The restaurant staff were just beautiful, always so helpful and willing to go that extra mile. At times we would even having them move our umbrellas with the sun (not because we asked because they noticed the sun in our eyes!) By the end of our stay we did not want to leave them let alone the beach! The condos we clean, modern & comfortable. We had a BBQ / sauna rooftop area which was perfect as well although we didn’t seem to use it as much as anticipated. Maybe because we didn’t want to get off the beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffa-ella2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    241
    65
    22
    18
See reviews for
513
432
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

What can i say that hasnt already been said before. Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Everyone was really nice and helpful. Juan went out of his way to help us get some supplies one evening. We really appreciated that. We stayed in the oceanside penthouse (room 340). The room and views from the private rooftop deck were amazing. We enjoyed it daily. Everything you need is close by. Took an excursion to Xplor and rented a car to see the ruins at Tulum one day without an issues. Teresa, as mentioned in other reviews, was very helpful. She told us the best way to get to Xplor and helped us get a car to rent. All in all, we had a great time and we will definitly be back!!!.

Room Tip: The penthouse (room 340) was very quiet. You know the clubs are there because we went to them all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RACERXXX8049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This place is perfect...Rooms are beautiful and they have everything you need.Pools are nice.Its spotless,,,the workers are the best,,,,especially Luis...and the maids.You are one block off 5th Ave so there is always something to do....

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jssr319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

After reading the glowing Trip Advisor reports about Maya Villa, El Taj, and other the CondoHotels properties I thought that some were too good to be true. There are many reviews by first time posters that appear to have been written by the same person. However, after experiencing CondoHotels firsthand I have to agree that they deserve excellent ratings.

We have found that vacation condos work out great for our family. Sharing a regular 450 square foot hotel suite with the standard 2 double beds, 1 bathroom, and 4 people can get old rather quickly (which we also did on this same trip - we stayed 2 nights at Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach in Cancun).

I booked a Maya Villa 2 bedroom penthouse condo from July 12 - 18 for my family using Expedia. When we arrived we were informed that they had overbooked the resort and moved us to Porto Playa instead. We weren’t happy with the change because it wasn’t what I had booked and our Porto Playa condo (#206) had major problems. The temperature in our bedroom was 8 degrees warmer than the rest of the condo, and the A/C unit was very noisy, the bed was hard and tiny (we had booked a king size bed at Maya Villa), there was water damage on the living room ceiling and wall, the toaster oven didn’t work, and the condo décor was lame to nonexistent. After a very uncomfortable first night CondoHotels representative Frederick came through big time and upgraded us to a 2 bedroom penthouse condo at El Taj Beachside.

Porto Playa is a great resort if you get a good condo; the pool is very nice, the landscaping lush, and it is literally steps from 5th Ave. Also, the stairs to our rooftop were within the condo in contrast to our El Taj rooftop that had to be accessed via outside stairs that are accessible to all guests.

We loved our El Taj condo (#315)! It was well decorated by the owners with contemporary furnishings, the A/C worked great, the king size bed was comfortable, all the appliances worked, the location is close to the beach, the view was good, and The Beachside iridescent black tile pool is uniquely intimate. The condo has a washer and dryer unit which is very useful in the extreme humidity, salt, and sand environment.

The landscaping is phenomenal.

El Taj is in a loud music area (there are several all night discos within a block or two that begin to crank up around 8-10PM) but with the A/C fan set to run all night the noise was not a problem. I initially thought there was another disco north of El Taj but I eventually figured out that it was the sound from the south discos reflecting off the north side of the El Taj resort. It is quieter in Porto Playa and Maya Villa because they are farther away from the district.

There was a raw sewage smell in the condo on several occasions and we could not pin down the source. We opened the windows and it was gone within a few minutes. We reported it but cancelled the service call because the smell was already gone.

The maid will spend more than 2 hours cleaning the unit every day if allowed. That’s nice but it can interfere with the vacation. We only allowed the maid service twice. She was friendly, did a good job, and naturally we tipped her.

We made a trip to the Mega store to stock up and we had breakfast in the condo every morning. I also used the rooftop gas grill a few times. We found food and drinks to be very expensive in Playa Del Carmen in both the restaurants and grocery stores.

Some staple foods are different in the area. Eggs are not refrigerated but are very fresh and can be bought from convenience stores. You may see a feather or two protruding from an egg! Milk; well, it is not fresh, it is definitely sterilized, tastes weird, comes only in cardboard type containers, and is very expensive.

We had a sushi dinner one evening at the Indigo Beach Club that was delicious. The service attitude there is a little cold and the drink prices varied from the price list. If you order water watch out for the $5 charge for a bottle and instead specify a free glass of purified water. We thought the food and service at El Faro’s Wicky's were better, it’s a much larger operation, and they had live music. And it cost less. But it depends upon what you are looking for. During the day Indigo is a hot spot for hip people to hang out in that are mostly from El Taj.

We did a little snorkeling out past the boats on the beach and it was fun. Not many fish but there were enough to keep the kids entertained. Some days there was a fair amount of seaweed on the beach. If you walk out about 75 feet into the ocean the water is clean, though. The beach is nicer past Porto Real but very crowded until you walk further north.
The 60% chance of rain weather forecast every day was amusing because it only sprinkled twice the entire 9 days we were in Mexico.

I did a Discover Scuba trip with the affiliated Phantom Divers shop which is a block away. It was a lot of fun and the guides were cool. It was very informal with no wet suits. After the practice dives the “reef” dive begins almost in front of El Taj (much further out in the ocean of course) and ends in front of the Cool Club area. The bad: no shade cover on the diving boat. After each dive is over you swim to the boat and hand up your equipment to the boat driver, then climb in. From the water you can’t see where your rental gear ends up and it all looks the same. You end up sharing regulators and tanks. I had 3 different regulators – yuck. Cost was about $90US for 2 tanks and included everything needed except sunscreen. Book it directly at the shop; don’t use the concierge and you will get a less expensive price and more accurate advance information. Don’t forget your CondoHotels 10% discount card. If you decide to do it bring something to mark your regulator/BCD.

We stopped by Maya Villa to check it out and the place is beautiful. The lizard pool is small but way cool. The place is very private, intimate, and new. It has a huge privacy wall on one side of the resort. I’d still like to stay there someday. If you book directly with the property there is a disclaimer on their site that states that you may not end up in the resort that you booked. That disclaimer is not on the Expedia site.

That reminds that many reviewers have reported that the properties have security but the personnel are sometimes not at their posts. Each property does indeed have a doorman but I would not consider them to be security. They have other responsibilities (like helping out with luggage and arranging taxi service) so they will not always be at the door.

El Taj is a fantastic resort and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure to read up on the 5th Ave restaurants ahead of time or you are very likely to experience s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blakester49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Love these condos! We have been to playa over 20 times and this time we had our 4 month old baby girl with us. The condo and property are very clean, the staff was always great! We always felt safe. Highly recommend if you are traveling alone, as a couple or a faimly. The beach is so nice and clean, the staff is always happy to make sure that you have a drink. The food was good as well!

P.S. We loved it so much that we are headed back to a larger condo for the holiday's with more family!

Room Tip: the bedrooms do get chilly becuase the vent is blowng on you, you can stand on a chair and change th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmholub21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Luv, luv, luv this resort! We've stayed at El Taj twice and both times had an awesome time. The staff is unbelievably helpful and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. El Taj is in an excellent location only one block to 5th Avenue. Also near all the nightlife. The restaurant food was very good and the waiters friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay at El Taj anytime we return to Playa del Carmen. I hope it's soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at El Taj for a week on the third floor, oceanside. The room was really nice, clean and cool! We had a private balcony off our bedroom on the side of the building with views of the beach and water. Only thing with our room was that it was quite dark, not many windows, and I like to have sunshine. We loved the restaurant/cafe on the ground floor of the building, right on the beach! Food and service was good! The waiters would also help finding a sunbed or daybed, move our umbrella and were very efficient with drinks etc. El Taj was so close to everything without it being noisy. There were two nightclubs only doors down the road, but we never heard a thing. We found all staff very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We loved El Taj for the position, you walk past the pool straight onto the beach!

Room Tip: Go beach frontage/penthouse if you can, we wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing