We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay, Great Unit, Great staff, Great Owner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #31 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay, Great Unit, Great staff, Great Owner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Playa del Carmen and we stayed in Unit 327, a large 1 bedroom condo on the ground floor, to celebrate our anniversary. To say that we enjoyed our stay would be an understatement. This is a beautiful property that is located in the most central location one could hope for if they wanted to be in the middle of all that Playa has to offer. We walked everywhere and loved it! The unit is a beautifully decorated 1-bedroom on the bottom floor with a great ocean view from the patio and the living room/kitchen. It is literally two steps from the entrance to the jacuzzi and a few more steps down a short staircase to the pool. You can see the water from the open patio out front as well. The resort staff was wonderful. The bellmen we dealt with and the people at the front office and concierge all spoke great english which helped us tremendously since our spanish was quite limited. Everyone was friendly, welcoming, and always diligently working to keep the entire resort as clean and well-maintained as could be. Additionally, the owner was great to deal with. If we were staying at El Taj again, I'd hope to deal with the owner again because he was so thorough and easy to contact. We had a small issue with a miscommunication upon arrival and with a quick email to the owner he had it straightened out in a matter of minutes. He also was really helpful in emails prior to our trip providing us with some local tips and tricks for getting to and from the airport and eating as well! It was a real pleasure. We hope to stay there again! If you're looking for an easy going stay at a place that isn't too big like all the cookie cutter resorts, give El Taj, and specifically Unit 327, a look. You'll be hard pressed to find a better all-around experience. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Choose Unit #327. Large 1-bedroom with views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    237
    61
    20
    18
See reviews for
505
423
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Our group of 22 friends from all over the world are a very well-traveled bunch with discerning tastes, and so El Taj had some pretty tough customers. Without exception, the experience for all was fantastic. The property is exceptionally well situated, configured, designed/furnished and staffed. Truly cannot think of a single area for improvement. Well done Jack Perlman and El Taj staff (especially Hector at front desk)!!

Room Tip: If you are 5 or more traveling together, don't miss #336. The private roof-top palapa is specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Booked this hotel 100% based on the reviews on here. Plus for a 7 day stay in October they give a 45% discount! We got a gorgeous 2 bedroom, 2 bath ocean front condo at El Taj for $1500 for 7 days. Our condo was gorgeous (unit 318 - which btw is the 2nd floor b/c the 100 level rooms are at ground level...a little confusing and deceiving). Anyway, the unit is very well thought out with everything you could ever want. Dishwasher, microwave, full stove, barware, blender, cookware, full fridge, breakfast bar, full table, family room, very nice and large bedrooms. Great bathrooms with vessel bowl sinks and lovely granite. Private hot tub outside our front door that we used every single day we were there.

The pool is awesome and we probably spent 3 hours one day sitting in the upper pool whirlpool seats reading our books (see photos). The beach club is amazing. Never ever have I sat on more comfortable, plush beds on the sand. The attendants follow you to your seat and will set up umbrellas to give you the perfect amount of shade or sun and then will come around and move them for you later in the day when the sun moves! Food can be delivered to you on the beach and they bring out these little wicker mini tables that sit right on your beach bed so you can eat comfortabley. Drinks were reasonable for a hotel at about $7-$8 for a margarita. Food is very good, especially the pizzas!

We went out to the near by Mega to stock up on food while our room was getting ready. We purchased water and ice only to learn that each unit has filtered water coolers and you can call the front desk at any point and they will bring you as many bags of free ice that you may need.

The one and only negative was the very very loud music being played until 5am at the night club next door. We are from Chicago and deal with loud city noises all the time, but this was crazy. EVen with ear plugs in, the only time I'd fall asleep was when the air con kicked in. Then I'd wake up again when it kicked off. I think you'd be perfectly shielded from the noise if you stay in the units in the front of the hotel.

Definitely check this place out. You will not regret it. It's simply gorgeous. I can't say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the rooms at the front of the property, closer to the beach to avoid the noisy nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeichmann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

As I am writing this review, I am sitting in an outside hot tub on third floor balcony, listening to the waves and watching the twinkling lights of Cozumel across the water. This is my second stay in this unit and it goes beyond the waterfront view! The El Taj Condo Hotel is an intimate and personal travel experience. A place to relax but close enough to the center of town for access to restaurants, clubs, and shopping. Fabulous food in the hotel Indigo restaurant (try the cerviche while on the beach under an umbrella!). Attentive beachside and hotel staff. Already thinking of rebooking.

Room Tip: Was in Unit #339 ocean front--great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaside116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

El Taj Oceon is the premiere place to stay in Playa Del Carmen!

My husband & I just returned home from a weeks vaca, & it was not enough!
The place is gorgeous, everything is new & very clean, & can't rave enough about the staff & Theresa (concierge) & everyone's gracious hospitality ! The pool is spectacular with built in hydro seats.
The location is fabulous right in the center of 5th ave with everything in walking distance.
We stayed in #329 & truly enjoyed our condo & views & the Indian beach club!
I would definitely recommend El Taj Ocean & will be returning soon.

Room Tip: where sturdy walking shoes for the cobble streets in Playa, I tripped on our last day & broke 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this oceanfront unit at El Taj, and we were blown away. We had a large living room, modern equipped kitchen and beautiful master bedroom. We felt like we were literally on the white sand beach, because the unit is on the ground floor, surrounded by floor-to-ceiling windows that brought this stunning Caribbean beach right into our living room and bedroom. What a pleasure it is to spend a completely lazy vacation days, just walking right over to the Indigo Beach Club that serves great gourmet breakfast and offers free Balinese beach beds to guests. We were also right next to the Balinese-themed pool, and would spend our evenings sipping margaritas on lounge chairs on our private terrace. The service was also great and very pleasant. We used concierge services to take some tours in the jungle and to visit ancient Mayan ruins of Tulum – there’s a lot to do in the area when you crave some action. We will definitely be back! Next time we will try to book a penthouse with a private rooftop and bring some friends to show them this hidden piece of paradise in Playa del Carmen,.

Room Tip: El Taj Oceanfront, unit #327
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolanta027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The staff is just as good as what all the other reviews are saying. Super understanding and accomodating.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank blenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#46 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acanto Condo Hotel & Vacation Rentals
Acanto Condo Hotel & Vacation Re...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#38 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing