We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #40 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My wife and I have been to Playa a few times but have always stayed at resorts. I can honestly say El Taj blows them all away!

We stayed in unit #345 in the El Taj Oceanfront, a 3-bedroom penthouse with a private rooftop terrace and a great view of the ocean. On the rooftop is a private Jacuzzi, sofa, loungers and a bbq. The interior of the unit was designed nicer than any of the resorts we stayed at and comes with everything needed for a comfortable stay, including washer/dryer, full kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 4 TVs. Very cozy and feels just like home. Guests at El Taj were also able to use the pool at their sister resort right across the street and also allowed us access to their gym. I read some reviews where people were saying they could hear noise from the bars at night but we didn’t really notice them. Maybe it’s because our unit was the furthest from the bars, but the only time we’d hear them was when we were on the balcony at night; once inside the condo and the door shut, we couldn’t hear a thing.

The staff there was all very friendly and outgoing; they really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. Every morning we went to the beach, they would walk with us to the loungers and would lay towels on them for us and set up the umbrellas when needed. Anytime we needed anything, they were on it within minutes.

The beach was well kept and clean. Every morning they would come out and sweep up any seaweed that washed onshore. There were some boats tied down along the water’s edge, but that didn’t really bother us. We thought it was quaint, and when we went into the water, we’d just walk down the dock that took us out past the boats but was still relatively shallow.

This was our best trip to Mexico yet and we’re already looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: We really loved the rooftop on #345 with its fabulous ocean view. The unit was beautiful inside and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank optimus_megatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

We have been to Playa numerous times, but were never happy with the locations of the properties where we had stayed. Too many resorts are all inclusive and many are not within walking distance of the main attractions of Playa. I am a picky traveler, and am typically hard to please, but this property is extremely nice and has the absolute best location in Playa Del Carmen. Beachfront and within walking distance of all the excitment of Playa, there could not be a better location. I love the fact that even though this is a condo, it is run like a hotel and has all the amenities needed for a great vacation. There is a restaurant on premise as well as access to a world class workout facility. The property is beautiful during the day, and spectacular at night. Much thought went into the design, including great landscaping and lighting. This is one place that I would gladly recommend to anyone traveling to Playa Del Carmen. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!!! Give up the long cab rides and stay at the #1 place in Playa, El Taj. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Playa del Carmen and we stayed in Unit 327, a large 1 bedroom condo on the ground floor, to celebrate our anniversary. To say that we enjoyed our stay would be an understatement. This is a beautiful property that is located in the most central location one could hope for if they wanted to be in the middle of all that Playa has to offer. We walked everywhere and loved it! The unit is a beautifully decorated 1-bedroom on the bottom floor with a great ocean view from the patio and the living room/kitchen. It is literally two steps from the entrance to the jacuzzi and a few more steps down a short staircase to the pool. You can see the water from the open patio out front as well. The resort staff was wonderful. The bellmen we dealt with and the people at the front office and concierge all spoke great english which helped us tremendously since our spanish was quite limited. Everyone was friendly, welcoming, and always diligently working to keep the entire resort as clean and well-maintained as could be. Additionally, the owner was great to deal with. If we were staying at El Taj again, I'd hope to deal with the owner again because he was so thorough and easy to contact. We had a small issue with a miscommunication upon arrival and with a quick email to the owner he had it straightened out in a matter of minutes. He also was really helpful in emails prior to our trip providing us with some local tips and tricks for getting to and from the airport and eating as well! It was a real pleasure. We hope to stay there again! If you're looking for an easy going stay at a place that isn't too big like all the cookie cutter resorts, give El Taj, and specifically Unit 327, a look. You'll be hard pressed to find a better all-around experience. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Choose Unit #327. Large 1-bedroom with views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Our group of 22 friends from all over the world are a very well-traveled bunch with discerning tastes, and so El Taj had some pretty tough customers. Without exception, the experience for all was fantastic. The property is exceptionally well situated, configured, designed/furnished and staffed. Truly cannot think of a single area for improvement. Well done Jack Perlman and El Taj staff (especially Hector at front desk)!!

Room Tip: If you are 5 or more traveling together, don't miss #336. The private roof-top palapa is specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Booked this hotel 100% based on the reviews on here. Plus for a 7 day stay in October they give a 45% discount! We got a gorgeous 2 bedroom, 2 bath ocean front condo at El Taj for $1500 for 7 days. Our condo was gorgeous (unit 318 - which btw is the 2nd floor b/c the 100 level rooms are at ground level...a little confusing and deceiving). Anyway, the unit is very well thought out with everything you could ever want. Dishwasher, microwave, full stove, barware, blender, cookware, full fridge, breakfast bar, full table, family room, very nice and large bedrooms. Great bathrooms with vessel bowl sinks and lovely granite. Private hot tub outside our front door that we used every single day we were there.

The pool is awesome and we probably spent 3 hours one day sitting in the upper pool whirlpool seats reading our books (see photos). The beach club is amazing. Never ever have I sat on more comfortable, plush beds on the sand. The attendants follow you to your seat and will set up umbrellas to give you the perfect amount of shade or sun and then will come around and move them for you later in the day when the sun moves! Food can be delivered to you on the beach and they bring out these little wicker mini tables that sit right on your beach bed so you can eat comfortabley. Drinks were reasonable for a hotel at about $7-$8 for a margarita. Food is very good, especially the pizzas!

We went out to the near by Mega to stock up on food while our room was getting ready. We purchased water and ice only to learn that each unit has filtered water coolers and you can call the front desk at any point and they will bring you as many bags of free ice that you may need.

The one and only negative was the very very loud music being played until 5am at the night club next door. We are from Chicago and deal with loud city noises all the time, but this was crazy. EVen with ear plugs in, the only time I'd fall asleep was when the air con kicked in. Then I'd wake up again when it kicked off. I think you'd be perfectly shielded from the noise if you stay in the units in the front of the hotel.

Definitely check this place out. You will not regret it. It's simply gorgeous. I can't say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the rooms at the front of the property, closer to the beach to avoid the noisy nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeichmann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

As I am writing this review, I am sitting in an outside hot tub on third floor balcony, listening to the waves and watching the twinkling lights of Cozumel across the water. This is my second stay in this unit and it goes beyond the waterfront view! The El Taj Condo Hotel is an intimate and personal travel experience. A place to relax but close enough to the center of town for access to restaurants, clubs, and shopping. Fabulous food in the hotel Indigo restaurant (try the cerviche while on the beach under an umbrella!). Attentive beachside and hotel staff. Already thinking of rebooking.

Room Tip: Was in Unit #339 ocean front--great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaside116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

El Taj Oceon is the premiere place to stay in Playa Del Carmen!

My husband & I just returned home from a weeks vaca, & it was not enough!
The place is gorgeous, everything is new & very clean, & can't rave enough about the staff & Theresa (concierge) & everyone's gracious hospitality ! The pool is spectacular with built in hydro seats.
The location is fabulous right in the center of 5th ave with everything in walking distance.
We stayed in #329 & truly enjoyed our condo & views & the Indian beach club!
I would definitely recommend El Taj Ocean & will be returning soon.

Room Tip: where sturdy walking shoes for the cobble streets in Playa, I tripped on our last day & broke 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#56 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £132 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing