We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value - Stylish apartments and nice facility - but pick your rooms carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #33 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
NY, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good value - Stylish apartments and nice facility - but pick your rooms carefully”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a very enjoyable week at El Taj in March 2011. The weather was great, and although it was the spring break timeframe, the place was not overcrowded. In fact we had the small pool outside our "beachside" condo to ourselves most of the time. All the other earlier reviews on this place were exactly accurate as to the benefits and downsides of the two different buildings of this resort. We stayed in Apt 307 in the "Beachside" building, which is definitely not on the beach, but is just a quick walk away through the other "Oceanfront" building. We did not find that problematic in the least, but if you are hoping to see the ocean from your apartment or walk right from your apartment onto the beach, you do not want to be in the Beachside building. None of the upper level apartments in the Oceanfront building were available when we rented, so we rented instead Apt 307 in the Beachside building, and it was exactly what we expected - stylish, clean, two nice size bedrooms, very comfortable beds in each, two well appointed bathrooms, and a very useful kitchen and living area, as well a nice outdoor space overlooking the small pool for that building. We did have a problem with the air conditioning in the master bedroom for much of the stay, and I'm not sure they really fixed it by the time we left, but the other airconditioning units worked very well. Although the Beachside building pool is right next to the street, it is surrounded by jungle plantings, so you feel as if you are much more private setting than it actually is. This is not one of those oceanside full-service resorts with large beachfront property of its own. The beach outside the Oceanside building is actually just part of the long public beach that runs along an assortment of restaurants, bars and hotels in Playa del Carmen (although the El Taj does have a very small area with its own chiase lounges and a small beach restaurant). The one downside to the beach at El Taj is that the swimming area is essentially non-existent because the many fishing/tourist boats anchor right at the beach, taking up almost all the swimming area. We walked about 3 minutes down the beach to swim, which was not a big deal for us, but if you have young children and are looking for a beach area outside your resort where your kids could run in and out of the water easily while you watch them from you lounge chair - this is not the set-up for you. This is a small complex in downtown Playa del Carmen, very convenient to all the restaurants and shops. If you are looking for total beach seclusion, this isn't the place for you. But if you want to be centrally located, near the beach and have a modern, comfortable apartment with kitchen rather than a small hotel room, this place is perfect. If we went back, I would want to try to get one of the upper level apartments overlooking the ocean in the Oceanside building for a different experience.

Room Tip: Choose your building - Oceanfront or Beachside - carefully and make sure the room faces the ocean if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    246
    66
    23
    19
See reviews for
538
435
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay (4 nights) and loved every minute. The condos are beautiful and exactly as advertised. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great! Enjoyed using the gym. The Beach Club was really nice - great ammenities. The location (near 5th Ave) made it easy to walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I really wish I could give El Taj a higher rating than a 5. It was amazing!!! We had so much anticipation for this property and it was everything I expected and beyond!! We had room 349 which looked just like it does if not better than in the pictures. Our hot tub was such a great treat to have, especially when the thunderstorm rolled in. We were at El Taj Oceanfront with a group of about 40 there for a wedding. Its such a wonderful place for family and friends who are in town for a wedding. So close to all the nightlife (never once heard the music in our condo), the beach is amazing, the beachclub top notch (from raking the sand, the drinks, umbrella service, etc.) and the pools at all the propertys are wonderful. From check-in to check-out everything was top notch!! Thank you El Taj, we will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We just got back from 10 days at El Taj. Truly a remarkable condo. We stayed in room 341 (the best one bedroom). We had an ocean view from our living room and two great patios. The unit was very comfortable and extremely well maintained. The service at El Taj is excellent. The beach in front of El Taj is not the best though. There are several boats anchored there making the water 'oily'. A short walk down the beach and it is very nice for swimming. You are within walking distance to an amazing array of restaurants and shops. When we return to Playa del Carmen, we will definitely stay at El Taj again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodgie0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have nothing but good things to say about El Taj. Very nice facility, staff, really liked our condo, breakfast was very enjoyable. Enjoyed the pool(s). Location is convenient. The hotel itself is top notch. However, we were a little disappointed with Playa Del Carmen in general. Ocean smelled like sewage, and the shop owners pester you to come in their stores to name a few complaints. El Taj is too good for Playa Del Dumpo!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I've just got back from Playa del Carmen and I have to say I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay! Ok, it was a little hard to get to the Condos to begin with (as no one there seems to know this place or its street name), but as soon as I got there, I know it was worth all the effort!
The condos are amazing! Perfectly decorated, really modern and spacious... The kitchen had everything you could possibly think of, the bed was really comfortable and the jacuzzi in the balcony... That was just perfect!
The beach club is also a great idea, as you can just relax there while being served with excellent food and drinks... Oh, and the location is ideal: you can walk to the main restaurants and night clubs there!
I can't think of a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaPSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband and I chose El Taj for the first part of our trip to Playa del Carmen where we were having a trash the dress session and jewelry photo shoot. We heard amazing things about the hotel and the location near 5th Avenue was perfect. I was even more pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The front desk check-in process was easy and they provided us with plenty of maps and recommendations around Playa. I was impressed at how much material they supplied complete with Trip Advisor recommended restaurants. The hotel itself was phenomenal. We walked up the stairs over the koi pond where you were transported into a Balinese garden. Plants, trees and gorgeous wooden furniture lined the main entrance towards our room. The man who brought our luggage took us through our beautiful condo. Here are some of the details:

ROOM: When we first walked into the condo there was a great living room with a comfortable couch, coffee table and new flat screen TV. There was a little bar area with two modern chairs overlooking the kitchen. The kitchen was beautiful and was obvious that time and money was clearly spent on high end cabinets, granite counter tops and every appliance. You could definitely make every meal here if that's what you wanted to do! There was a cooktop, microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, blender and every piece of kitchen equipment & glassware necessary. The bathroom was beautiful with marble, a glass shower and a modern bowl sink. The bedroom was simple and modern with a large bed and another flat screen tv. I loved having the bedroom sectioned off from the rest of the condo. Dark wooden furniture in the Balinese style was beautiful against the chic white linens of the rest of the room.

HOTEL: Walking outside of our condo was a round infinity pool complete with built in tiled seats and jacuzzi jets. This was one of our favorite spots to relax. Walking down the stairs we felt almost like we were in an exotic treehouse! On the lower level was the rest of the pool which was never crowded. It also had it's own wooden beach chairs and beautiful furniture. My husband and I even decided to take some photos around this area wearing the jewelry. It was such a perfect setting. The day that we did the trash the dress and jewelry photo shoot, our photographers (Del Sol) took us to the top of the hotel on one of the private decks. The views were absolutely stunning and I can't wait to see those photos! There was a sectional wrap around couch, grill and hot tub...WOW. That will have to happen next time! I can only imagine how beautiful this location would be for weddings. From the amenities that are included with every condo and stunning location, El Taj would be an amazing choice. This hotel's architectural style and decor are absolutely incredible and unlike anything else I've seen.

BEACH CLUB: Another great bonus was that we were able to use the beach beds and lounge chairs at Indigo Beach Club which was right downstairs. Typically there is a charge but as a guest of Condo Hotels, it was free! We did have breakfast at the beach club one morning which was very good. We ordered drinks while on the beach beds and everything was reasonably priced.

LOCATION: We really couldn't have asked for anything better. It was an easy walk around the corner and up the street to get right up to 5th avenue. From the beach it was an easy walk to any of the little beach restaurants to visit for a happy hour or a bite to eat. Both from a beach standpoint and from a nightlife standpoint, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was 342 (first floor). It was perfectly quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedIbyChelseaJewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#19 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#46 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing