We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room, best location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #41 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

There isn't much to say about El Taj, except that it is almost perfect. Rooms are big and extremely clean, bed is tall, big and amazingly comfortable (my room was the 354).

Staff is friendly and helpful in a perfect balance without being pedant. My staying was PERFECT from the moment I booked from the moment I left the hotel.

My wife and I didn't want to stay in an all inclusive resort. I wanted to explore everything Playa has to offer, from tours to restaurants and shops. For that purpose El Taj is the best option. Location can't get any better (one block from 5th av where all restaurants and shops are)

To be honest we didn't stayed much at the hotel or the beach club, but the one time we did stay we really liked. It could get a little crowd and the beach isn't the best to swim and service was great and also food was tasty and above average for a beach restaurant

THE BEST ABOUT EL TAJ
Location
Staff
Room (size, amenities, cleaning)
Beautiful and comfy decoration

IT COULD BE BETTER
Sound proof windows - some night clubs make a lot of noise at night

TIPS
It really worth it paying a little more to stay and the ocean front buildings
There is not really an ocean view from most of the rooms

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed over spring break at El Taj in unit 354. The service on the property and ine the beech area was excellent. They have private beach recliners/beds for you with the staff constantly moving your umbrella and coming to check on you. The area on the beech is alot quieter than the more public area to the right but it is walking distance to local restaurants and shops.

The rooms are luxurious and the pool is amazing. They have a beautiful Asian/Bali type theme.
The restaurant on the property was great breakfast and lunch. We ate there several times.

I would definitely go back!!It was one of the most relaxing places I have been.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParoolK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My title says it all. While this was one of the more expensive hotels when we were booking our trip, we chose it because it because of all of the great reviews. Our intentions were to check this hotel out as a possible wedding venue for our destination wedding. We focused on the negative reviews people gave it, such as the boats on the beach and he noise from other hotels. For those reading this review I will say that we couldn't even hear the noise and as for the boats, well they kinda killed it for us. If you look at pictures they are anchored out in the water, which you will encounter if you try to swim in front of the hotel. You also can't just walk on the shore near the water without having to hop over all 15 or so ropes where the boats are tied to the shore. On a positive note, we like to dive and Phantom Divers leaves right from the front of the hotel and you get a 10% discount through the hotel. If you're the kind of person looking to just lay on the beach and not really swim or snorkel in the water, then you might be fine with this. The location is near to all the shops and eateries on 5th Ave. You can easily take the ferry to Cozumel, which you can see from the hotel. After having been to both Cozumel and Cancun, it seemed like the prices were jacked-up in the area. El Taj really had great rooms, beds and showers and the workers really were kind and great. We are budget/value travelers. We need somewhere safe and comfy to sleep at night but value a great beach, great food prices and things to do at night. I preferred our trip to the Oasis in Cancun where we paid 700 less. There was also more space at the Oasis and just like El Taj lots of marble floors and down pillows.This is not meant to be a bad review of El Taj, but it just wasn't for us. We are beach people and this hotel didn't have much of a beach.Oh I did like that they have complementary water in the rooms:)!

PS- You should see lots of reviews for El Taj, because they give guests a business card as they depart asking for reviews on tripadvisor:)

Room Tip: Rent a car. It's safe and easy to find things and the hotel has free parking. Ask the hotel abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubaAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I came to Playa in 1989 when they were building their first high rise. We stayed at the Blue Parrot in a bungalow on the beach. This was our first time back, returning with our three sons ages 14, 16, and 20. Friends and family were worried about us traveling to Mexico because there has been so many horrible things along the border of Mexico and Texas, but we did our research and can honestly say we had no problems or ever felt threatened. We chose the El Taj because of the reviews, but also because it was located very close to where the Blue Parrot bungalows used to be. The El Taj was the perfect place to stay. The best location in Playa del Carmen. Walk everywhere. Pizzas on the beach were delicious. Breakfast was excellent, no need to eat breakfast anywhere else. Crispin and Chu were our favorite waiters. Crispin loves his job and is professional and sharp. Tip them well. Be sure to get all your towel cards back. We didn't count them and ended up having to pay $25 dollars. Our hot tub was clean. The condo was lovely. They brought in a third twin bed for a small charge. No problem. The beds are firm but didn't bother us. We thought it was perfect. Didn't realize they would restock the drinks and refreshments in our room if we requested until our last day. Wish we would of because 5th avenue stores are EXPENSIVE!! Banana Boat SPF 30 was $26!!!! not pesos! GO to Playa del Carmen and stay at El Taj! Lots of good people in Playa del Carmen. 5th Ave. at nite is a blast. Never made it to the clubs or hooka bars. We were wiped out from laying out on the El Taj's comfy beach beds all day. DO NOT recommend snorkeling trip offered on the beach. Arrange through El Taj / Aventuras Mayas tours only. We did both and there was no comparison in the reef, the sea life, the equipment and safety. We hope to return soon and we will stay at El Taj.

Room Tip: We were beach view 3rd floor and had a great view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The title of this review doesn't lie. El Taj Oceanfront is a luxurious boutique resort in the best part of Playa's Zone Primera. Guests enjoy impeccable service and free-use of the resort's beach club and affiliated gym and are just a 4-minute walk from the pedestrianized Avenida Qunita and
its many diversions. Our beautifully and comfortably furnished 1-BR condo (322) was just steps away from the aqua spa, pool, and beach club, and the resort staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frangorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have an awesome time as El Taj. The place is exquisite and our concierge An and Flor provided and attended to our every need. Salvador, our personal assistant was great. We definitely recommend this place and will stay here again when we come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

El Taj not only has the best location in Playa Del Carmen, but the best sfaff as well. We were waited on very promptly by a friendly staff that bends over backwards for their guests. The condos are very clean and no expense has been spared. The rooms were spacious, the kitchen had everything that we needed and the rooftop patio with grill and fridge made the stay that much more enjoyable. The food at Mosquito beach, the beachside club, was second to none. Everything we ate there was very good.
We booked for next year before we left.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#60 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
872 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £138 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing