We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE Playa & El Taj!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #36 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Brecksville, OH
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOVE Playa & El Taj!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This was our second trip to Playa, staying at El Taj for the week. It's just an awesome property in the best location. I'm kind of a finicky traveler and usually find something to complain about...but not here! Everything was perfect. We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Not all of the condos have an ocean view. Make sure you check the layout if you want to see the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Locorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    247
    65
    23
    18
See reviews for
529
435
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We rented unit 339 via VRBO, absolutely no problems, everything as promised. We did book a unit directly with El Taj first and then canceled due to getting a better deal with VRBO. El Taj gave us our money back as promised, without any hassle.

a few quick thoughts.
- if I had preschool kids, i would be concerned as the balcony railing is far from childproof
- Inside the unit you can sit and look out at the ocean, open a window and feel the breeze. If you want privacy you can pull the curtains. however, when you are outside you can see and be seen by just about everyone. we even saw one guy setting his diner table while naked. (that provided laughter for the rest of the night). If you want privacy, your best bet is a penthouse unit. The one above us was unoccupied the first two days we were visiting so we checked out the roof top. very very nice and fairly private.

The beach is a true negative - you can walk out in knee deep water between the boats. You can also walk out on a pier and jump into shallow water there too. But if your plan is to play with your kids in the breakers on the beach... its not gonna happen. You can walk down the beach in either direction and find somewhere better. also the hotel offers to shuttle you to nice remote beach but thats kinds of a hassle.

Internet service was excellent and included a phone with unlimited calling to the US and Canada.
The unit came supplied with what was sort of a mini bar with very reasonable prices. 2$ a beer..
The location in Playa is excellent, right in the middle of 5th ave. close to everything. The local MEGA market was an easy, safe walk. we caught a cab to take us back and the cost was 15 pesos. (about a dollar).

I have read some reviews with complaints about noise and the beds.
Noise... Because we had read about the noise we brought earplugs and a sound machine. We never used ear plugs, we did use the sound machine. We did not need either. With the windows open you will hear music. we could not hear music with them closed. The beds are firm but in no way uncomfortable... to me

I would come back and bring my friends.... Shop around make sure you are getting a good price. All in all a very very nice place. Some bookings include breakfast. You can buy breakfast coupons from El Taj for $8 each. I did look at the breakfast one morning and it wasn't for me. We just cooked in the room.

Room Tip: higher up and further forward, in order to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

If you're going to Playa Del Carmen, certainly check out El Taj. Great rooms, great views and easy access to everything in Playa. I would highly recommend for families, couples and singles who want something upscale with breathing room. The staff is one of the most helpful in all my travels. Look forward to coming back with my family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldescape99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I'm not sure about all the great reviews for this place. I've been to Playa del Carmen a bunch of times and usually stay at the royal or the gran Porto real resorts but we wanted to try not an all inclusive because we eat out so much on 5 th avenue. This has the smallest pool and to get to the beach you have to go through the beach club which is always crowded. Breakfast at the beach club was pretty bad glad it was included the other restaurant for breakfast was better but not amazing. But the worst thing about this hotel is the VERY LOUD music coming from the clubs and it doesn't stop till 5 in the morning! I got no sleep the entire stay which isn't ideal for a relaxing vacation. There are so many other options in playa please don't waste it here at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jwill_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We just spent a week there in unit #51 beachfront faceing north (not the night club side).
This place is all about service,from the moment we checked in till the late checkout i asked
for and got ($25) but so worth it. The beach was great it narrows so if your a people watcher
you get to see all the shapes and sizes, sure the boats are there local tour operators and fisherman just adds to the experience. we would walk everyday and the best swiming is on the other side of the pier anyways always a place to cool off, great walks every day and the gym, just around the corner is as good as any i go to, three levels and all the newest equipment, life cycle.hammer strength. and great free weights.Remember this is NOT an all inclusive and tipping will get you top notch service,forgot your cash or card no problem pay us later,or they
politely remind you the next day.Ask for the north side of bldg in beachfront if noise bothers you i'm a light sleeper and after 10:00 pm never heard a thing, we cooked about half the time buying our food and snacks at walmart $ 80 bucks for the week and some great dnners on fifth ave,takes about 3 min walk and your right in the middle of all the action. Weather was hot and sunny and our room being 30 sec from the beach was a great place for afternoon naps *wink* and cooling off with a great walk in shower. in closeing if your looking for higher end trip and some great service this is the place,fantastic resort in heart of "PLAYA" ..........

Room Tip: North side in the beachside units for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had an amazing time in Playa and the El Taj made the stay that much more enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable very homey and spacious, including the bed. The grounds were beautiful and private, we stayed on the Beachside, I was a little disappointed when we first arrived that we were not in the main area along the actual beach, but by the end I was very pleased with the location of our room and the Beachside complex. We are not light sleepers, so we have absolutely no complaints about the club music and actually discussed how amazed we were that we could not here the music. No complaints on the cleanliness, perfect, and the maid service was efficient and thorough. The front desk and concierge (Roberto and the girl, can't remember her name) were very friendly and helpful with anything we had questions or concerns about. We did have a small problem with the lock on our door that we asked to be fixed that never did get fixed, but it was safe and there was nothing to worry about. The security guards were consistent and friendly as well. The Indigo Beach staff was Aaa-mazing! Friendly, funny, and super efficient! Keke, Roberto, and Chuc were our main waiters and by the end of our stay it was almost sad to leave them. The rest of the staff there was just as efficient and memorable, this includes the beach attendants, Juan specifically. The food was great and the drinks even better, complimentary breakfast was delicious! We would definitely recommend a night at Improvist too.The beach was beautiful, there was a bit of a turn off with the boats but we got used to it and swam out along them, were pretty easy to please. The pools were a perfect temperature, a nice escape from the sun, and nice option to have two pool locations as well as hot tub. The location was great to the restaurants, bars/clubs, shopping, and Ferry to Cozumel. In addition my boyfriend (of 6 years) also proposed to me here, so we will definitely be returning every year to enjoy that special occasion! In the end we left rested and really did not want to return to our snowy cold Boston home. We have even been discussing buying a Condo! Yeah it was that good!!!! If your going to Playa del Carmen, this is the place to stay. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: request Beachside if you want more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

It'a a very Nice place to stay and there is not much you can say badly about this place! It is the best service, with nice rooms!
The only problem is the Beach. It's a perfect beach, But there are to many boats lying infront!
It's also a shame that the pool dosen't have sunlight all the day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikkelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing