We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best place to stay at in PDC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“By far the best place to stay at in PDC”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have been to PDC many times and about a year ago we discovered El Taj, we fell in love with the place, the staff, the decor, the location, all could not be better.

If you are looking for an all inclusive this place is not for you, but if you are looking for an immaculate clean, fresh, top of the line hotel in a great location this is your spot bar none!

They have a cafe out back on the beach and some of the best restaurantes in town are within 2 blocks, ceviche thats out of this world to fish tacos, to the best sushi, carne asada yum! you name it its all within a few blocks, the best part about being in PDC is experiencing the town, you can get an all inclusive anywhere but there is only 1 playa del carmen and El Taj is one of a kind place In PDC.

Room Tip: closer to the beach is better but they are all good and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    246
    65
    23
    18
See reviews for
527
435
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Rented unit 329, a 2 bedroom condo for a week with friends. The condo was immaculate with a great view of the ocean. It overlooked the pool & had a view of the beach and pier. It was very well soundproofed too, so any music on the beach didn't disturb at all. Staff was very helpful. Service while lying on the sunbeds was great with the staff shifting the umbrellas whenever we wanted protection from the sun.
Location is ideal for walking to the great variety of restaurants and shops. Our group of four women felt safe walking to and from the areas around the hotel and back to the hotel. Mega mart is a short walk and has a good selection. There is a small barbeque on the patio, by the jacuzzi so we were able to prepare our own meals when we wanted. The private jacuzzi is right outside the condo on the balcony and sitting there at sunset with a glass of wine was bliss!
Would definitely go back to this condo again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We prefer condos to AI's so we can spread out and be comfortable and also avoid eating out all the time which starts to get old. Our 2 bdrm condo Oceanfront at El Taj was beautiful and stocked with literally everything including a first aid kit. I would definitely recommend El Taj to those who want a great location near 5th Ave., want to be right on the beach, and appreciate excellent service. Best things about El Taj: The front desk staff, very friendly and helpful - we dealt with Miguel, Marco, and Marcela and all were great; the gym, beach club and spa that El Taj is associated with are all fantastic. The gym had literally everything, but bring your own big water bottle because it is humid in there, otherwise you will be purchasing several there. We had the best facials of our life at the Mayan Spa (the foot massages while our masks were on make every penny worth it). We got the basic facials and were wowed. We walked the beach in both directions every day and agreed the Indigo Beach Club in front of El Taj, with the hardest working guys you have every met, looked to be the nicest and most comfy on the beach. Breakfast was included with our rate, and we thought both breakfasts were good (at Indigo Beach Club and Imprevist) but liked that there was a buffet along with our entree at the beach club so we could have unlimited fruit, yogurt, meats, cheeses, etc. Plus eating on the beach with the sea breeze and pretty view was nice. Highlights of our trip were finding good restaurants on 5th Ave., fishing (we grilled mahi mahi my son and husband caught one night), and a really laid back day trip through YucaTreks to Tulum ruins, snorkling cenotes, and lunch on secluded beach.

El Taj is NOT for those who need a huge resort pool to hang at, or a big, wide open beach. If you have to have these things, do not stay here, you will be disappointed. The pool at Oceanfront is a very pretty design but tiny; and the beach is quite narrow in front of the condos. And of course, to address the burning issue in every review, there are boats always in front of your chairs at the beach club. Yeah, I definitely would have preferred no boats, and our first day the boat traffic was extremely heavy and it was dangerous to wade out right in front. The rest of the time was much quieter and you could wade out past the boats (still very shallow) and jump waves or take your cooling-off dip, no biggie. However, if you are a real ocean swimmer like my husband and need to get your hour-long laps in, you need to take a five minute walk to be in a location where you can do this. If you need a huge open expanse of water directly in front of you, do not stay here. Still very pretty to gaze at the water, but it won't be for you. The Beach Club and the service there are so great, it is a trade-off for some boats in the water in my opinion.

To address comments on noise - we had none. We were Oceanside South and literally did not hear the clubs (our windows were shut because it is warm and humid down there). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Touchbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville, OH
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This was our second trip to Playa, staying at El Taj for the week. It's just an awesome property in the best location. I'm kind of a finicky traveler and usually find something to complain about...but not here! Everything was perfect. We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Not all of the condos have an ocean view. Make sure you check the layout if you want to see the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Locorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We rented unit 339 via VRBO, absolutely no problems, everything as promised. We did book a unit directly with El Taj first and then canceled due to getting a better deal with VRBO. El Taj gave us our money back as promised, without any hassle.

a few quick thoughts.
- if I had preschool kids, i would be concerned as the balcony railing is far from childproof
- Inside the unit you can sit and look out at the ocean, open a window and feel the breeze. If you want privacy you can pull the curtains. however, when you are outside you can see and be seen by just about everyone. we even saw one guy setting his diner table while naked. (that provided laughter for the rest of the night). If you want privacy, your best bet is a penthouse unit. The one above us was unoccupied the first two days we were visiting so we checked out the roof top. very very nice and fairly private.

The beach is a true negative - you can walk out in knee deep water between the boats. You can also walk out on a pier and jump into shallow water there too. But if your plan is to play with your kids in the breakers on the beach... its not gonna happen. You can walk down the beach in either direction and find somewhere better. also the hotel offers to shuttle you to nice remote beach but thats kinds of a hassle.

Internet service was excellent and included a phone with unlimited calling to the US and Canada.
The unit came supplied with what was sort of a mini bar with very reasonable prices. 2$ a beer..
The location in Playa is excellent, right in the middle of 5th ave. close to everything. The local MEGA market was an easy, safe walk. we caught a cab to take us back and the cost was 15 pesos. (about a dollar).

I have read some reviews with complaints about noise and the beds.
Noise... Because we had read about the noise we brought earplugs and a sound machine. We never used ear plugs, we did use the sound machine. We did not need either. With the windows open you will hear music. we could not hear music with them closed. The beds are firm but in no way uncomfortable... to me

I would come back and bring my friends.... Shop around make sure you are getting a good price. All in all a very very nice place. Some bookings include breakfast. You can buy breakfast coupons from El Taj for $8 each. I did look at the breakfast one morning and it wasn't for me. We just cooked in the room.

Room Tip: higher up and further forward, in order to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

If you're going to Playa Del Carmen, certainly check out El Taj. Great rooms, great views and easy access to everything in Playa. I would highly recommend for families, couples and singles who want something upscale with breathing room. The staff is one of the most helpful in all my travels. Look forward to coming back with my family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldescape99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I'm not sure about all the great reviews for this place. I've been to Playa del Carmen a bunch of times and usually stay at the royal or the gran Porto real resorts but we wanted to try not an all inclusive because we eat out so much on 5 th avenue. This has the smallest pool and to get to the beach you have to go through the beach club which is always crowded. Breakfast at the beach club was pretty bad glad it was included the other restaurant for breakfast was better but not amazing. But the worst thing about this hotel is the VERY LOUD music coming from the clubs and it doesn't stop till 5 in the morning! I got no sleep the entire stay which isn't ideal for a relaxing vacation. There are so many other options in playa please don't waste it here at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jwill_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#41 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing