We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #41 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We loved every minute of our stay in this resort - we stayed in a spacious 2 bedroom apartment that came with a full kitchen, which proved to be very handy. Staff were absolutely fantastic & there was free wifi everywhere in the resort which is great! The apartment also had laundry facility which made things so much easier for us. Location was also A+, beachfront & very close to 5th ave for all the dining & shopping options. All in all, we couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonyastich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just stayed 10 nights at this hotel and frankly couldn't be happier! The rooms are fantastic- with comfy beds and sweet air conditioning if you want to escape the heat for a little while. Service is fast and friendly with great complimentary restaurant options for breakfast AND a surprisingly inexpensive and tasty room service menu.
But the best thing is the location! Right on the beach and only a short stroll to the amazing 5th ave shops, bars and restaurants. For all you party people there's a bunch of nightclubs right down the street. Go to these and avoid Coco Bongo! Lots to do around the place too - take a collectivo van and you can get basically anywhere fast and cheap!
The hotel recommends various restaurants and offers guests discounts at them. All we tried were fantastic!
All in all a dream stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siguynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just returned yesterday from our first trip to Playa, terrible weather so reconsider going in September! Tropical storms, winds and barely any sun :( Staff were extremely helpful, good food at the beach club which is right next door and right on the beach although there are boats right in front which was a little annoying but there are lots of great beaches along the coast which is good to walk either way. The pool is good although the shade covers it after about 2pm or so... We did notice the music at the beach club seems to get very loud on a sunny day when all the sunbeds are taken (which we did only experience once due to the weather) but it was better when it was quieter for us anyway. Would absolutely one hundred percent recommend Imprevist restaurant a couple of streets away - AMAZING!!! and reasonable prices - best food in playa, mexico, and any other place I've been. We were given a list on arrival of alternative discounted restaurants which we used and most were great however please stay away from La Familia pizza place about 3 streets away - worst ever food and service....ever.
As for the actual apartments, exactly what we were looking for. Nothing to complain about whatsoever and I'd recommend room 331 if you want close to the pool and beach and beach club however if you need sleep during the day you will hear pool splashing, the staff using the emergency exit near the room and music but unlikely. I wouldn't say it is a place for children due to the size and nightlife (more for younger people) but it was great for us as a couple. There is no charge to leave mexico as I know some people thought it was £40-43 pp if this is already built into your air charges and pay no more than $50 for a taxi to the airport. I would recommend arranging transfers. You can go to cancun or Tulum via a collective from the shuttle stop about 10 blocks from el taj (15 minute walk) and this costs around £3pp!

Room Tip: High rooms with sunbeds don't get the sun as you would think so I'd recommend the ground or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, amazing helpful staff, gorgeous rooms, amazing food. Amenities are great, upscale gym, free brunch, classy beach club with beds and lounge chairs. Nothing bad to say about this hotel. Will definitely be recommending to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMD911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from my 3d trip to Playa del Carmen, my first stay at El Taj. It was excellent. The only reason I didn't rate the resort a "5"' across the board was the beach and the boats. However, that can be solved by a short walk up or down the beach.

El Taj is almost like being in Tahiti or Bora bora. Beautiful building and grounds centrally located in the middle of the 5th Ave. shopping & tourist zone. Outstanding service from the entire staff. I wish to give kudos to Josue & Carolina at the front desk and Hipolito at the Indigo Beach Club.

No question about where I will stay when I return. Do yourself a favor and pamper yourself. Stay here!!!

Room Tip: Oceanside is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmyVet1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in September 2013 and had a really good experience, the staff are really nice, the hotel offers 3 different breakfast / brunch options, and also good discounts to surrounding restaurants and other service. The hotel is at the beach, has several jacuzzis and pools. The condo's are well equipped with everything you'll need and more. The hotel really does its best to attend the customers by offering concierge services and more. One of the best hotel expierences from all over the world at a good price, we are definetly coming back here.

Room Tip: There's different size condos depending on how many travellers, we had one 1 bedroom apartment a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great location, exellent apartment, friendly staff. The tranquility which can hardly be expected in the towns of Playa del Carmen.Close to the beach,a bit too expensive breakfast

A recomendation !!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#60 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
872 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £140 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing