We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed at El Taj Oceanfront recently and had a great experience, location is perfect off the business street in Playa yet close enough to walk to all the amenities the town has to offer. Prime location sea front with a great beach club. Service was excellent and I enjoyed the jacuzzi in our condo, we had a rainy day and I stayed sinked in warm water reading and watching the rain pouring over the plants and sea...
Food was fantastic, I had bfast at the little place around the corner - Imprevist and ate at their new restaurant PLANK, great food different and high quality if you are a foodie this is the place to visit!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiaSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    246
    65
    23
    18
See reviews for
527
435
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mpls, mn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

El Taj is a great condo-style choice in the heart of Playa Del Carmen. It is located in walking distance to most everything. I loved the Bali style decor and the property was very well maintained. The condo itself was lovely and well equipped for a family to enjoy and also have some privacy. The staff was extremely friendly and genuine which made the stay even more delightful. The breakfast was fresh and served on the beach each day. There was never any trouble getting a chair/umbrella for a day of sunning. The food served at the restaurant was nice for lunch and snacks. I recommend the pizza. The drinks were fabulous! Great selection of wine, if that's your thing and the margaritas were nummy.. just a bit small for my taste. The service was wonderful!
My only complaint would be the beach in front was full of fishing boats and really no place to swim which was a big draw back for my family. The complex pool was also cold.
All in all I would defiantly recommend if your planning a trip to PDC.

Room Tip: Get a condo on the Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymcharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

El Taj was an amazing hotel. Came down with friends and we stayed in penthouse roof top with a hot tub. The views were amazing and I have to say the service is top notch from the time you arrive till the time you leave. El Taj is just a beautiful hotel. The beach is right there and the pool is amazing. El taj was so amazing that I just booked the hotel for a vacation in April with my son and we are stoked to be staying at EL Taj.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Everything was GORGEOUS! The staff are all very helpful and very friendly. They are willing to help any way they can. The rooms are amazing and I loved everything, down to the decor. The queen bed we stayed in was so comfortable that when we left we wrote down the make/model of both the bed and the sheets; in hopes to buy both when we returned back to the US.

We spent our first four days in the top, back condo (right side, if you're facing the ocean). We finished our last 6 days in the top, front condo (now left side). We overlooked the ocean. Had full time access to our private section of the rooftop which had: a cabana, dining area, lounge chairs, mini fridge, grill, and jacuzzi. I especially loved being able to go up top to lay out and lounge; it was really nice to have another option besides just the beach. (More private, plus I had access to anything I wanted to eat or drink). Overall El Taj is definitely a 5-star hotel!! My only complaint is the busy, crowded beach. Plus all the boats are tied up right where the beach is, so there is no open area to swim unless you go out past the boats. It can also be quite loud. (But still, definitely go! You will not regret El Taj).

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the best! Especially the top, front ones that have a balcony overlooking the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smfoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

El Taj is a great condo with all the amenities of a hotel including excellent front desk and concierge services. Daily housekeeping from Noemi Cruz was excellent keeping the apartment in great shape when we would come back in the evening. Hotel was centrally located in Playa del Carmen half a block from all the clubs and restaurants making it very convenient for a night out with no taxis necessary. Noise from clubs was not a problem once doors are shut. Massages are given at a great price, and there is free access to the top of the line gym. A little expensive so would consider next time staying at other properties Porto Playa or Villa Maya which are sister hotels with same amenities. The only negative of the property is the small beach and the boats right in front. Sun sets behind the hotel early as opposed to the beach at Mamitas, but drinks and music by beach are great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ize545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

El Taj was such a great pic. We recently stayed their for a destination wedding. The bride/groom picked El Taj after doing extensive reseach of the area & we are all glad they did! We stayed in the 3 bed/3 bath penthouse suite with them and another couple. The bedrooms were roomy, the bathrooms were updated & the living area was large. The rooftop was HUGE & came with a hot tub overlooking the ocean. It was the perfect place to stay. Service was fast & friendly too. The front desk helped with everything they could.

Only complaints (minor) - the showers ran out of hot water very quickly. The hot tubs broke a few times & didn't get that hot. The maid decorated the wrong room on the wedding night (funny but could have been a disaster if the bride found out). Overall very minor things that didn't infringe on our fantastic time.

The pool was a bit strange b/c you really couldn't sit by it if you wanted sun. The only place to sit was the chairs on the sand by the ocean. You could always find one which was great. And the staff were very friendly & always willing to get you an umbrella if it was too hot. The service was good too. Shout out to Robert & Hugo. For breakfast - get the Hugo special. It was my husband's favorite dish and he ate it every day. Including breakfast was a huge plus in our eyes too. And that you could get it from either the beach area or a real restaurant down the block was great too. (The restaurant is better in my opinion). Also The Gym is free too and a short walk.

We would all definitely go back but make sure you stay in the ocean view rooms. Some of the wedding guests stayed on the other side of the hotel and didn't have a view. They weren't as happy as we were.

Lastly location was great. Walking distance to 5th ave (I think thats the name) where there are TONS of bars, restaurants, shops, etc... Also the club area is a few blocks away too.

Room Tip: Stay ocean view. Its a bit more but very much worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlsacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

First, no way could I give El Taj less than 5 stars. The staff is outstanding. Did not meet a single person who was not willing to help, answer question, find a chair, etc. All with a big smile. We stayed in #355, which is a one bedroom. Very clean and nice layout if you want to get some sleep. All we did was run the A/C fan all night for some white noise and we never heard a sound outside our room. The location on the beach is excellent. The location to 5th ave is excellent.

Improvements we would like to make on our next visit: The living room for #355 is not very useful as it really needs a true coffee table instead of that silly little table it has now. It's really just stupid. Maybe pick a room where the living room has some sort of view too. The beach is not the best because of the boats all parked there and how tight the chairs are, but we got over that pretty quickly.

All in all, it was a GREAT stay and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Playa.

Room Tip: I would not recommend first floor, 3rd or higher if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arndawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#41 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing