We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Fyffe, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place !!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place was immaculate ! The floors and walls were mostly beautiful marble. The beds were very soft and comfortable. There were 3 flat screen Tv's and a nice refrigerator. It is located 2 blocks from the beach and 2 blocks from 5th street which is the happening place so the location is perfect ! I could sit out on my balcony and hear the music but once I went inside it was quiet enough to get a great night sleep. The staff is extremely nice and pleasant. They keep someone at the gate at most all times and never failed to say "ola" when we passed them. The grounds are beautiful with a unique swimming pool and a waterfall This was the nicest place that we saw around our area and would definitely stay again. We have only been gone a week and my kids are ready to go back again. They said they missed the people from the condo and the hospitality of Mexico.

Room Tip: I liked my balcony being on the street but you may prefer to be in the back part overlooking the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Tina T,
We are so thrilled that you had such an amazing experience with us at El Taj. Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent review - we really appreciate all of the kind comments. El Taj really does have a super location which is only steps away from the beach plus nearby to the best, shopping and dining option in the entire area. We are a family hotel so is makes us happy to hear that your children also enjoyed! We hope to see you again soon in the future.

King Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    241
    65
    22
    18
See reviews for
513
432
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I and our two kids (7 and 5) wanted to take a trip to Mexico but as people who love the language and the country, we didn't want to stay in one of the large hotels where we are away from the *real* parts of town. I hunted for a hotel that would be kid friendly, with multiple rooms, room service, washer and dryer, and safe. We didn't want Cancun so I was looking in a small town on the beach, has a pool, A/C, near the ruins, by restaurants and ice cream shops, we wanted to swim in cenotes, see the sights, etc. These are very high expectations. El Taj exceeded them all around. The "condo hotel" feels just like this, it's a condo/home like feel but you have the service of a hotel. It's directly on the beach and the kids has a blast in the beautiful and perfectly sized pool. We had our own private jacuzzi for our unit and the service and food was outstanding. You can use three different restaurants all attached to the property and they were delicious but you can also go to the grocery store (Mega and WalMart are 3 min away) as there is a full kitchen. And there is a great fitness center to use. Our concierge Manuel welcomed us well before we even arrived and took care of us while we were there -- five star service from all of the staff and the wait staff at Indigo. The complimentary breakfast every morning at two different restaurants was gourmet and it felt so amazing to have our feet in the sand for breakfast every morning. We are already planning a trip back with more of our family. Thank you El Taj! Our children LOVED their first trip to Mexico, they climbed the pyramid in Coba, they swam in the cenotes near Coba which are amazing, and we enjoyed the beaches in Tulum which are all easy afternoon/day trips. We can't wait until we go back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good but 2nd and 3 floor with 3 bedroom units are ocean view and amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear juliesup,
Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing review. We appreciate all of your nice comments and certainly we are more than happy that we were able to provide excellent accommodations and exceed exceptions. Surely we hope you will be back soon!

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

this was our first stay at a condo hotel so I was a bit nervous but it was amazing! A few highlights:
1. Location: perfect, close to all the amenities but a couple of blocks off of the craziness so you are in your own little area. The hotel is also right on the beach. There are small fishing boats in the water but in my opinion that really didn't detract much from the beach. you can easily swim between the boats out into the water. The beach lounge setup is great too.
2. All the typical amenities you get with a regular hotel, but better. The gym that is affiliated with the hotel is a block away and is totally awesome.Cleaning services come once a day, which was enough for us. There is also a pool, hot tub, and two affiliated restaurants for breakfast.
3. The rooms are at minimum a one bedroom condo, so basically a suite with a full kitchen. The beds are quite firm, even for someone that likes a firm mattress. It's a pretty new condo, so the kitchen, decor, etc are all new.
4. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they have a lobby just like any other hotel.
I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay somewhere in playa del Carmen and is not looking for an all inclusive. Awesome place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear katiebear83,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience about El Taj on Trip Advisor. We are so very happy that you had a great time and you found your condo unit to be pristine, and all amenities exceeding to expectations. The condo hotel concept is truly wonderful as it provides choice for the guest. We want our guests to have the option to truly enjoy time in their condo rather than just using it for a place to sleep. Just a last note: If you should find your mattress too firm for your liking, we do have various mattress toppers with different levels of firmness free of charge upon request. Thank you again and we hope that we see you again at El Taj in the future!

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I rarely write reviews on tripadvisor, but feel absolutely compelled to do so after a truly outstanding stay at El Taj.

I spent five nights here with my girlfriends and had such a great time I think we'll be back next year!

The hotel itself is stunning with a real Indonesian feel in Mexico. The rooms are spacious and spotless with all the facilities you would expect of a 5 star resort (beautiful eco-friendly shower products/ safe/ state of the art coffee maker/fridge etc)

We stayed in the penthouse which was worth every penny, offering incredible views of the ocean and your own private terrace with a BBQ.

The location is perfect... within walking distance of all the best bars and restaurants (you MUST try Plank!) but far enough away that it still feels tranquil. There is a beautiful beach on your door step with cushioned sun loungers and a great in-house restaurant.

As part of your stay you receive complimentary access to their incredible gym and gym classes. The yoga classes on offer here are plentiful and the teachers rival some of the best ones I've visited in London!

What really sets this hotel apart though is the friendly atmosphere it promotes. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and always happy to go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay.

It absolutely lives up to expectations and is the perfect accommodation for friends/couples or families looking for luxury in Playa Del Carmen.

Room Tip: splash out on a sea view... it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Charlotte F,
We are just completely taken away by this exceptional review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about El Taj with the world. Creating outstanding experiences and illustrating quality is what we strive to do each and every day! We do have many options but it seems to be a consensus that going for that ocean view penthouse can make all the difference especially when traveling with groups over 2 people! Glad you enjoyed! We look forward to seeing you the next time you return back to Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Myself and 4 of my girlfriends spent memorial day weekend at El Taj room 337 it is on the second level with a great view and close to the pool and Indigo Beach club. This made it very convenient to order food and drinks and have then brought up to our room. Pedro at Indigo was amazing, from the time we got there and he set us up with beach chairs and made sure we had everything we needed in our room. We had a wonderful weekend, had a massage down the beach and went fishing and caught 2 red snapper that Pedro had cooked for us and delivered to our room in the most amazing presentation. It was the best fish I have had in a very long time. One of my friends doesn't even like fish and she actually ate some and said if it tasted like that all the time she would eat it! Overall fantastic stay great location close to 5th avenue, clean rooms and fantastic service.

Room Tip: Ocean front is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear SiobhanCF,
Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience about El Taj on Trip Advisor. Its wonderful to hear such lovely feedback about your stay. Certainly we all work hard to provide the best experience for our guests. Quality and care are two ingredients that truly help to keep us on top! Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friends ands I rented two rooms here during memorial day weekend 2014 and had a blast. The pool, gym and food were all top notch and the location couldn't be more central. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Some have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Mikael L,
Wow! It's so nice to hear such wonderful comments. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We do offer an incredible amount of quality amenities with only the best service to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We are glad that we could accommodate a very pleasant stay for you and your friends. We do hope that you will return back soon!

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I hate to share this little secret because it's one I'd like to keep to myself, but... Just spent 4 nights here and have to say it was fabulous. The staff and amenities were all perfect, friendly, and go out of their way to make you comfortable and take care of you. Very clean, right on the beach and in the middle of the nightlife. It's the large resorts rolled into a small, quaint place. Never will I stay anywhere else in Playa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBuryPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear IBuryPaul,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments! We are so delighted that we were able to create a memorable and enjoyable experience for you during your stay in Playa del Carmen. We realize that you have a choice so it means a lot to us that you chose us and will continue to do so. We have a fantastic staff who sets out to give only the very best each and every day and clearly you felt the affects of these efforts. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#13 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#29 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing