We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great staff!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just came back from a week in Mexico. The 3 br/3bath condo was great. And the staff at the resort were nothing short of WONDERFUL!! They were helpful, warm, friendly, and very attentive! Especially Fernanda, Milly and Brito!! I don't know if the massage on the beach is connected to El Taj....but Marta gave the best massage I EVER had!! Many thanks to all for a wonderful vacation!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuckyBarb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear LuckyBarb58,
Thank you so much for sharing your excellent review with us on Trip Advisor. Certainly we are extremely delighted that you had such a great experience with us. We are happy to hear such nice comments about the service and the staff. Our whole team works hard every day to create everlasting memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you again and we do hope you will return back with us soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    240
    63
    22
    18
See reviews for
510
430
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our condo was great – clean, nice furniture, fully equipped kitchen. If you’re gluten free or Celiac like I am, I have the name or a great chef who came and prepared safe meals for us using our own pots and pans that we knew weren’t contaminated (can message me for info). Don’t expect gluten free food in town or at their restaurant that is safe for Celiacs, though. But, it was great to have access to a kitchen to manage the meals, too. They have an awesome pool, the beach chairs are comfy (also have couches), and the staff is very nice and helpful. The surrounding beach was very dirty, though. The location was also great – walking distance to the main shopping street and a large grocery store, as well as bars and clubs. The only downside to that is the rooms get very noisy at night! Otherwise, great stay.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms farthest from the main street (west if you are facing the beach).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSeeGlutenFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your kind review with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and that you could also take full advantage of the fully equipped kitchen. As you pointed out, having use of this special condo hotel style feature is incredibly helpful any time you need to manage special dietary needs. Also, using a private chef is an excellent way to go and we are happy you had a great experience with that as well. We do apologize for some of the downsides that you experienced. The beach is usually maintained very well. Mother nature has brought us an increased amount of seaweed which has washed upon the shore in the past several days. This can come and go but for the most part we don't have much of a problem with this at all. We will be sure communicate this to insure that the beach club will always provide the best possible surroundings for our guests. Concerning some of the noise from the neighboring nightclubs we would like to apologize. We are working with the town to limit the noise level but in the mean time we are taking our own initiatives to install triple insulated windows in all condo hotels units. Soon this project will be complete and all units will feature soundproof windows. We are very sorry for this inconvenience. We would like to thank you again and we do hope you will return back with us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in a 2bd/2bath beachside penthouse condo. The condo was well equipped had a nice view from the penthouse balcony. Service was great, the front desk was very helpful as was the concierge. The 2 pools are not large by any means, but were very nice and not too crowded. I really liked the lounge chairs at the beach and the fun umbrellas :) We had 1 lunch and 1 dinner on property, both were tasty and the beach atmosphere was great. I didn't love having the boats docked at the beach, there was lots of seaweed and a general churning of the seabed unless you got out past the boats, which I had no desire to do (being more of a pool person). That being said you just had to stroll up the beach a bit to have a clear area. In general I felt the beach in the southern area of PDC was better. You could easily walk to most everything in the area, Walmart was an easy walk just take a taxi back with your groceries. Oh, and if you plan to shop, use an ATM or go to the bank on the last day of the month...you might want to rethink that! I have never seen such lines in my entire life! Must be payday! Ok back on track...I thought the south end of town felt a bit nicer and less touristy (if that's possible) El Taj is right next to several night clubs, our condo being closest to them. They started their music around sundown and continued on until about 2am...it is VERY LOUD. We did have noise machines in our rooms which we used each night and it did drown out the noise, but just know it's loud and it's every night. We had a couple of issues with the condo that were addressed and fixed promptly and one issue with our bill at checkout that was cleared up after a few conversations. All in all El Taj was a lovely place, I'd recommend you stay towards the south end if you have the option, as this would help with the noise. If not for the boats and the noise level I would've rated it higher.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side, this will help with the nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smctys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear smctys,
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear such nice compliments about our property and the excellence of our staff and service. Surely we are sorry that you had some disappointing experiences regarding the music from the neighboring nightclub and the boats docked in front of the beach club. Concerning the music, this is something we are working hard with the town to limit, but in the mean time we are making additional efforts by installing triple insulated windows in all units of our condo hotels. We have already begun the project and soon we will be complete at being able to feature all soundproof units. Until then we do offer the white noise machines which are found to be greatly affective at eliminating the possible disruption in the units that are closer to the nightclubs. We would also like to acknowledge your comments about the boats in front of the beach club. While we could stretch our arm to potentially have these boats removed the hesitation lies within the fact that the boats belong to the old fisherman who settled in Playa many many years ago. Because of this, we are afraid that that forcing them to leave will interrupt the livelihood of the old fisherman. We try hard to create a respectful bond with all of our residents and neighbors, but we also very much value the satisfaction of our guests, 100 percent. This is why we offer complimentary beach club access to a neighboring beach club just steps away at the Lighthouse beach club. There you will find an alternate experience with a clear view and beautiful area for swimming. We offer this choice to our guests, and many find the change of scenery from time to time to be refreshing. We would like to thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will return back with us at El Taj during future trips to Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in a 2 bedroom, penthouse unit on the beach side. We loved the condo. Very well appointed, very comfortable, upscale and modern. The penthouse was a great add on. We didn't need the use of the hot tub as it was middle of July, but the grill and roof top dining area added to the great accommodations. This side of the street has a nice quiet pool that we deemed our private pool.

The other side (beach front) has the same wonderful atmosphere as beach side with coy ponds and wonderful foliage. The pool on this side has these wonderful jet chairs that have the amazing view of the beach front and ocean. The grill that is open all day is on the beach. Free breakfast included. The staff is amazing from the beach chair/towel guys to the restaurant and beachside service.

We took a $7 cab ride (one way) to Walmart for a weeks worth of snacks, beverages and a couple of dinners. The unit is stocked with detergents for the dishwasher and washing machine and the daily maid service takes care of everything else.

The beach is wonderful with white sand that doesn't get hot. There are a few vendors who pass by but nothing like Cabo. The only downfall is the boats that are parked there. They come and go so it leaves access to the ocean and the water is shallow and clear far past the boat, so it doesn't affect swimming at all and there really aren't waves for body surfing. We rented a paddle board 2 of the days.

When renting, ask what the possible units are that you could be in. All are video tapped and you can see the differences with each. We knew that we would have one of three options. We were closer to 5th Ave but in each of the bedrooms there were wave machines(sound machines)that we used while we slept and never heard the partying.

Bring lots of small bills for tips for the food staff, beach service, etc.

We will be back - for sure!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sannecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear sannecs,
A very big thank you for such a generous review! We really appreciate your kind words and willingness to recommend to others. We are happy that you had a beyond excellent stay with us at El Taj and that you enjoyed our property as well as the beach and nearby surroundings. Our location really is a hot spot as it is surrounded by all the best dining, shopping and entertainment in the area. Thank you again and definitely we hope to see you back with us soon!

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We researched, we read reviews, we did the things all holiday goers do nowadays. So when we finally decided to stay here we had a preconception of paradise. El Taj did not disappoint one bit.

Right from the get go we were pampered. The service staff were amazing. So much so that Andrejs went out to buy us a bottle of tequila. He helped us with all of our questions no matter how silly they were and that was the bell boy!

Breakfast is brilliant in both restaurants and the room was extremely large and comfortable.

We spent many days lazing on the beach and on one splendid day my friend lost his wedding to ring in the sand while taking it off. Within seconds Sergio had five or six staff on their hands and knees all aiding in the search. A fine gentleman Alvaro managed to find the ring after 5 minutes of sesrch in what we had already deemed a lost situation.

The above and beyond nature of all staff and the genuineness make this stay one that I will definitely recommend and come back to.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay, don't look further. This is where you need to be. Close to everything, good food but most importantly the best service I have received from any of my hotel stays.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Kenneth T,
We would love to thank you for such a brilliant review! We are thrilled that you had an excellent vacation with us and that you felt every experience to be exceptional. We truly wish all of our guests the best possible experience beyond expectations, and its nice to know that you felt the affects of our consideration and hard work. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again soon in the future at El Taj.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were looking forward to staying in a beautiful apartment in a fabulous location and we were able to get both these at the El Taj. The apartment itself was lovely and the hotel was in a great location close to 5th avenue.
Unfortunately when we arrived we were given a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. When asked if we could change rooms we were told 'no' as this was a Condo hotel and we booked through a travel agent. Apparently these rooms are allocated and prepaid to the owners so you get what you are given. Having now read some other reviews where this has happened to other people I understand thet travel agency booking must be given the worst rooms as there were certainly other rooms on higher floors available during our stay.
Another disappointment was the front beach...it is crowded with boats and weed. Had to wade through the weed and past the boats to get to a clear part of the beach to swim. The pool is very small and there were lots of families so full of children. Ultimately it was a little disappointing.
One pleasant feature was the breakfast...we ate at both restaurants offered and had delicious breakfasts at both.
I would reccoment this hotel if you check which room you will be staying in with the management at the time of booking but there are nicer parts of the beach to the south....

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the beach. Check when booking which apartment you will be rentin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieSt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear RosieSt13,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize if your experience with us was not as you would have hoped. You are right, we do operate somewhat differently than traditional hotels in that you are actually renting a condo on a property that is run in a resort style fashion with resort style amenities. For the reason that you mentioned, is why we are hard pressed to make room changes at the time of check in. We do urge people to enter our website prior to booking where you will find an extensive list of all the units with photos featuring the interior, exterior as well as the exact view you can expect. All units have similar features in the interior but it is a matter of preference when choosing location. Many times we find that those traveling with young children or those with special needs prefer the bottom floor units while others are more interested in a higher unit with a more prominent view. Our website also offers a great webcam so that all of our future guests can view the beach area in real time. We do offer two different beach club options for all of our guests during their stay. The beach club right in front of our hotel does have a scenery of some of the old time fishing boats who are owned by those who have settled in Playa many years ago. It has been a tough decision to ask the fisherman to leave as we try to respect their livelihood. We also believe it brings a special charm of the old Playa del Carmen. We also offer another complimentary beach club just steps away at the lighthouse where you could find a clear view and area for swimming. We hope that you were aware of both options during your stay. Defiantly we hope that you would like to consider to visit with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Based on the reviews here, I had high expectations. They were exceeded !

El Taj is beautiful and well maintained. The staff are incredible. So nice. And they are all working hard to keep up the property and beach area. People are always cleaning the decks, maintaining the landscaping and keeping the beach area clean of seaweed.

Service at beach club was incredible. Staff friendly, attentive and anticipated needs. No problems getting chairs, umbrellas for shade, towels and food / drink.

The boats were there, but really were not a problem for us at all. This was my only concern going into it and it was truly not a big deal. The boats add character and we enjoyed watching them come and go. All you had to do was walk out a few feet past the boats ... where the water was still shallow, clear and warm. We had no problems enjoying both the beach and water right in front of El Taj.

Unit was clean, spacious and perfect. We enjoyed the breeze on the balcony as well as the rooftop area. Plenty of space for both shade and sun.

If coming back to Playa del Carmen again, this is definitely where we would stay !

Room Tip: Would recommend beachfront with rooftop. 340 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaS-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear LisaS-6,
It is so wonderful to hear you had an excellent stay with us at El Taj and we really do appreciate the kind review. Thank you you for the compliments about the appearance and cleanliness of the property. We all work so hard to create a valuable and top notch experience for all of our guests. As you mention about the boats in front of the beach club, they really do add a bit of spirit to what used to be an old fishing village. We do offer alternate beach club access at another beach club only a few steps away, for those who prefer the change of scenery. We are certainly happy you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Direcctor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
#18 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing