We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First of all, it is true that the beach is not the best. There are boats right in front, but you can walk a short distance and they aren't in the way. The service at the beach was excellent!

Secondly, I saw people complaining about the noise. It is also true that at night, if you are outside on your deck, you can hear the music from 5th Avenue. However, it is also the perfect location to go bar hopping, shopping and feel completely safe to walk home in the middle of the night. You can't have it both ways. We wanted to enjoy the night life and happening spots of Playa del Carmen, so this was perfect! We spent a few days afterward in Cancun at a resort with a beautiful beach, so we got the best of both worlds.

The condos were 1st class and very spacious! The people working there were very customer oriented and helpful. The front desk workers had a lot of knowledge about things to do and where to eat, etc.

My only complaint was that we booked two penthouses, both on the 3rd floor. We expected to be able to walk back and forth to each other, but there are two separate buildings, and even though our friends were directly across from us, the only way to get to their condo was to go down 3 flights of stairs and back up 3 flights of stairs. I wish the website had a map of the rooms before we booked, so we could have avoided this. Also, the elevator was broken the whole time we were there, which made it more difficult.

We would definitely book these condos again if we come back to Playa del Carmen. From what I saw, there wasn't any other hotels this close without being dumpy ones in town.

Room Tip: Call them to find out exactly where the room is located. There is no way of knowing online where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Colleen J,
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear you had a truly excellent experience with us during your vacation to Playa del Carmen. It is true that you can't beat our prime location in the very heart of Playa del Carmen. We are only a few convenient steps away from the beach, excellent restaurants, the best shopping, entertainment and nightlife. We apologize about the downed elevator service during your stay. This something that is quite rare and we were able to work to get it maintained as quickly as possible. Thank you for your understanding during that time. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and we do hope to see you back with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    240
    63
    22
    18
See reviews for
510
430
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife stayed here last week. The location is great, HOWEVER be wary of the noise from the clubs. Despite asking for a suite looking out over the sea (was our honeymoon) we were given a condo in the back corner away from the beach.
The staff were all very friendly and the condo was really comfortable. Unfortunately our air con broke down on our last day and despite letting reception about this in the morning nothing was fixed when we returned in the evening....we finally got a call at 11pm saying a repair man was outside the condo....no thanks!
Great value for money though and the service is very good. We used the rear pool a lot it was perfect!
Overall a really good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear chubby22,
We are glad that you had a great overall vacation with us and felt the service to be up to excellent standards. However we do apologize for some of the unsatisfactory experiences you mentioned. Regarding the noise, we are working on replacing all windows for every unit to feature new triple insulated soundproof windows.We are nearly complete with this process and very soon all units will have this great feature which will eliminate any nose from outside the hotel room. We are also sorry that we were unable to move your preselected room to a beachfront location. When you made your reservation you booked a very specific unit on our website which included photos of the unit as well as the view. We do have on file that an upgrade was requested however we didn't have any available beachfront rooms as this is high season for travel. We hope you can understand that this was beyond our control at the moment. About the air conditioning unit, we are very sorry for this. We always inspect the units prior to every check in. Unfortunately sometimes these things happen while a guest is occupying the unit. We apologize for the late arrival of the repairman and we do understand that this was an unideal situation. We are glad that the rest of your stay was wonderful and we hope that you will still consider to return back with us during future visits to Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

El Taj has been an outstanding place to stay...Great condos with such a good taste, fully equipped, best service, personalized hospitality...
A great beach club with good food and very relaxing lounge chairs..
Everyone was very friendly and making sure you were having a good time..
I'm looking fwd to going back soon and definitely the place I would recommend to any friend going to Playa..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanyGdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear DanyGdM,
We are happy to hear you had an outstanding vacation with us at El Taj! Thank you for your wonderful comments and your sincere willingness to recommend to others. Our standards of service are everything you should expect from a high quality resort and we are proud to always offer our guests the very best. Our condo hotel concept provides all the modern comforts of home, in a resort style setting offering plenty of onsite amenities. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

El Taj was a fantastic place to stay. My girlfriend and i stayed here for 7 nights during July 2014, along with two other couples.

From the staff on the beach to the girls at reception, i was impressed with there friendliness and their genuine desire to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Fernanda at reception helped me on numerous occasions. Always with a smile. I wish i could remember more names as everyone at El Taj was so nice and easy to deal with.

I recommend El Taj to anyone visiting Playa Del Carmen. Thanks a lot. i Hope to see you all again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear David A,
It is such a pleasure to receive such amazing comments regarding your experience with us at El Taj. We are happy you had a great vacation and that we were able to be a part of creating nice memories. Thank you for the kind compliments about Fernanda and our other helpful staff members as they really all do work very hard to provide the best service possible. We do hope you will return back with us soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just came back from a week in Mexico. The 3 br/3bath condo was great. And the staff at the resort were nothing short of WONDERFUL!! They were helpful, warm, friendly, and very attentive! Especially Fernanda, Milly and Brito!! I don't know if the massage on the beach is connected to El Taj....but Marta gave the best massage I EVER had!! Many thanks to all for a wonderful vacation!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuckyBarb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear LuckyBarb58,
Thank you so much for sharing your excellent review with us on Trip Advisor. Certainly we are extremely delighted that you had such a great experience with us. We are happy to hear such nice comments about the service and the staff. Our whole team works hard every day to create everlasting memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you again and we do hope you will return back with us soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our condo was great – clean, nice furniture, fully equipped kitchen. If you’re gluten free or Celiac like I am, I have the name or a great chef who came and prepared safe meals for us using our own pots and pans that we knew weren’t contaminated (can message me for info). Don’t expect gluten free food in town or at their restaurant that is safe for Celiacs, though. But, it was great to have access to a kitchen to manage the meals, too. They have an awesome pool, the beach chairs are comfy (also have couches), and the staff is very nice and helpful. The surrounding beach was very dirty, though. The location was also great – walking distance to the main shopping street and a large grocery store, as well as bars and clubs. The only downside to that is the rooms get very noisy at night! Otherwise, great stay.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms farthest from the main street (west if you are facing the beach).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSeeGlutenFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your kind review with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and that you could also take full advantage of the fully equipped kitchen. As you pointed out, having use of this special condo hotel style feature is incredibly helpful any time you need to manage special dietary needs. Also, using a private chef is an excellent way to go and we are happy you had a great experience with that as well. We do apologize for some of the downsides that you experienced. The beach is usually maintained very well. Mother nature has brought us an increased amount of seaweed which has washed upon the shore in the past several days. This can come and go but for the most part we don't have much of a problem with this at all. We will be sure communicate this to insure that the beach club will always provide the best possible surroundings for our guests. Concerning some of the noise from the neighboring nightclubs we would like to apologize. We are working with the town to limit the noise level but in the mean time we are taking our own initiatives to install triple insulated windows in all condo hotels units. Soon this project will be complete and all units will feature soundproof windows. We are very sorry for this inconvenience. We would like to thank you again and we do hope you will return back with us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in a 2bd/2bath beachside penthouse condo. The condo was well equipped had a nice view from the penthouse balcony. Service was great, the front desk was very helpful as was the concierge. The 2 pools are not large by any means, but were very nice and not too crowded. I really liked the lounge chairs at the beach and the fun umbrellas :) We had 1 lunch and 1 dinner on property, both were tasty and the beach atmosphere was great. I didn't love having the boats docked at the beach, there was lots of seaweed and a general churning of the seabed unless you got out past the boats, which I had no desire to do (being more of a pool person). That being said you just had to stroll up the beach a bit to have a clear area. In general I felt the beach in the southern area of PDC was better. You could easily walk to most everything in the area, Walmart was an easy walk just take a taxi back with your groceries. Oh, and if you plan to shop, use an ATM or go to the bank on the last day of the month...you might want to rethink that! I have never seen such lines in my entire life! Must be payday! Ok back on track...I thought the south end of town felt a bit nicer and less touristy (if that's possible) El Taj is right next to several night clubs, our condo being closest to them. They started their music around sundown and continued on until about 2am...it is VERY LOUD. We did have noise machines in our rooms which we used each night and it did drown out the noise, but just know it's loud and it's every night. We had a couple of issues with the condo that were addressed and fixed promptly and one issue with our bill at checkout that was cleared up after a few conversations. All in all El Taj was a lovely place, I'd recommend you stay towards the south end if you have the option, as this would help with the noise. If not for the boats and the noise level I would've rated it higher.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side, this will help with the nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smctys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear smctys,
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear such nice compliments about our property and the excellence of our staff and service. Surely we are sorry that you had some disappointing experiences regarding the music from the neighboring nightclub and the boats docked in front of the beach club. Concerning the music, this is something we are working hard with the town to limit, but in the mean time we are making additional efforts by installing triple insulated windows in all units of our condo hotels. We have already begun the project and soon we will be complete at being able to feature all soundproof units. Until then we do offer the white noise machines which are found to be greatly affective at eliminating the possible disruption in the units that are closer to the nightclubs. We would also like to acknowledge your comments about the boats in front of the beach club. While we could stretch our arm to potentially have these boats removed the hesitation lies within the fact that the boats belong to the old fisherman who settled in Playa many many years ago. Because of this, we are afraid that that forcing them to leave will interrupt the livelihood of the old fisherman. We try hard to create a respectful bond with all of our residents and neighbors, but we also very much value the satisfaction of our guests, 100 percent. This is why we offer complimentary beach club access to a neighboring beach club just steps away at the Lighthouse beach club. There you will find an alternate experience with a clear view and beautiful area for swimming. We offer this choice to our guests, and many find the change of scenery from time to time to be refreshing. We would like to thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will return back with us at El Taj during future trips to Playa del Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
#18 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing