We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$806
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveller rating
1,089
276
73
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
276
73
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubfishing boatscondo hotelhot tubindigo restaurantwhite noise machinebedroom penthousewasher and dryerfull kitchenrooftop terracebeautiful condorecommend elwater coolerlight sleeperrestaurants and shopsprivate balconybeach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This condo-hotel is a wonderful place to stay! Great attention to detail in every room. A quick walk to the beach or to the Quinta Avenida. We had a wonderful stay and felt pampered by the staff. The view is breathtaking, too! We stayed for a few days at the beachfront cond (which is across the street) and enjoyed the privacy of the swimming pool there. Then, we moved to the oceanfront room and enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi and great view. The kids felt right at home and enjoyed walking to the vibrant nighttime activity nearby. The staff is very oriented towards service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Convenient location in the heart of Playa del Carmen and only one block from the beach. Exceptional quality in the unit and grounds outside. Penthouse units include a large private rooftop with sunning area, hot tub, and barbecue. Some units have better views than others. Only negative is the loud music heard from the Blue Parriott and other clubs a block away but the unit soundproofing blocks out 90% of the late night noise and it was a minor issue overall.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moss333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We spent 8 days at El Taj to celebrate a big b-day for my wife and could not have been more pleased with our choice. The complex is in a perfect location in paradise and the condo itself was amazing with post card views. We have stayed at some of the nicer ai's, boutique hotels and condos in Playa and El Taj topped them all. We will be back for sure!

Some standout places to eat
La Cueva del Chango is a must for breakfast
Carboncitas for their Al pastor tacos among other things
Wicky's - pricey for dinner ( but amazing) and reasonable for lunch
El Fogon - Authentic mexican (off the strip)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank localit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We've been to Playa del Carmen three times and to other resorts on the Mayan Riviera three times and without question, El Taj is the most amazing place we have stayed. From the moment the car meets you at the airport (wonderful Fernando with the cool facecloths and bottles of water) to the greeting at check in (lovely and helpful Teresa) arriving at El Taj was a breeze. Check In was handled quickly and professionally, with all of our keys and support material ready to go when we arrived. Our bags were whisked to our room, a two-bedroom; two-bathroom suite (#308) overlooking the black pool. The suite was stunning - every room more lovely than the one before. The balcony felt very private because of the design and decor. There wasn’t anything lacking in the suite, as far as amenities go. There was a water cooler which came in very handy for both cold and hot water. There is wonderful Mexican coffee provided and Splenda. Unfortunately no real sugar so we picked some up at the market just up the street. The bathrooms were both very large and beautifully appointed. Housekeeping did a great job keeping our suite clean, although we did not request our room to be serviced every day. We spent each day at the El Taj beach - most comfortable lounge chairs on the Mayan Riviera! Great service from the Indigo Beach Club and although we only ate one breakfast there and one lunch, the food was excellent both times. Don't miss the calamari and the fish ceviche. El Taj's location is absolutely perfect - two blocks from the main pedestrian street and right on the beach. The hotel is serviced by a gym about 1/2 a block away and it's a really great facility with all of the machines and weights you'd want. We didn't try the spa but it looked lovely. There are two pools although we only used the one near the beach - it's breathtaking. Really, there are too many wonderful things about El Taj to describe them all. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martini1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

El Taj is, in my opinion, now the best place to stay in Playa. The location is perfect, right on the beach between 12-14, the rooms are spacious, gorgeous, and very well appointed, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the beautiful beach is just steps away.

Rooms: Simply put, I've never stayed in a better room. Our unit (#356) was a one-bedroom condo with a stove, fridge, cooking/eating utensils, HUGE couch, two flat screens with digital cable, floor to ceiling window in bedroom, big lovely bathroom, shower, big King Bed. The decor is a fusion of contemporary and tropical Balinese that blends really well.
*nicks: bed is REALLY firm and pillows are huge a clunky. This didn't bother me but my girlfriend had to use a couch pillow.
* notes: I would recommend asking for square footage when requesting available rooms. We learned that there was a 300 sq ft difference between equally priced one-bedroom units that you can't really discern from the pictures. So naturally we choose the largest one (#356 - 860 sq foot).

Beach (Indigo Beach Club): The beach is beautiful, the day beds are heavenly and the food/drinks are overall good.
*nicks: There are boats directly in front the resort so you need to stroll down the beach a bit or swim in between them. The chicken satay from Indigo was tiny. Not enough food for a single person appetizer.

Pool/Jacuzzi: Well they look beautiful. But they are not heated and get no sunshine after noon, so we never stepped foot in. But we are beach people anyway.

Service/Staff: Excellent. Everyone is so friendly! We had a few issues with our door lock and phone, and the staff fixed both in a timely manner. Security was very prevalent and premises were secure 24 hours.

The only drawbacks: cool pools, no ice machine, fishing boats on beach, no room service or food for dinner.

The positives: EVERYTHING ELSE.

Love this place! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Playa.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews