We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Blue Parrot Suites(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cohiba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Eclipse(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveller rating
1,083
272
73
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
272
73
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubfishing boatscondo hotelhot tubindigo restaurantwhite noise machinebedroom penthousewasher and dryerfull kitchenrooftop terracebeautiful condorecommend elwater coolerlight sleeperrestaurants and shopsprivate balconybeach chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,190 - 1,195 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed at El Taj for two weeks over Christmas and New Years. We loved all of our time at El Taj in every respect. The location is the best in Playa del Carmen. The facility is the best in every way. .. clean, professional staff, etc. We had full use of the Indigo Beach Club and The Gym, also the best in Playa.
We used the concierge service to enhance our days.
Overall this was our best time in the Mayan Riviera and it started with El Taj.
Gracias.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We just returned from our 10 day stay at El Taj and my husband said while we were there; normally, when he is at a hotel, he is admiring all the other accommodation options and wishing we were staying there, but this time, we were at the place everyone wanted to stay.

It really was the best place to stay in Playa. We stayed in room 307 at the beachside which suited us fine. The weather wasn't the best while we were there, so we loved that the pool at beachside was enclosed so you couldn't feel the wind and it was slightly heated and the jacuzzi was very warm. We tried swimming at the oceanfront pool a few times, but the wind coming off the ocean made it cold. You can use both pools though, when staying at either El taj place, which is great, as both are nice.

We were travelling with a 16month old and a 4 year old, so the two bedroom accommodation suited us great. It isn't a holiday if I have to stay in a hotel room with my kids in the room with me! All the furniture and appliances are new and great quality. And there is a washing machine and dryer in room 307, which is handy with kids.

We stayed over christmas and new years eve, so we heard the worst there was of the loud music from the nightclub strip. Neither el Taj places are adjoining any nightclubs. Both adjoin other hotels, but they are very close to the nightclub strip. Maybe 50meters away. However in our room, we couldn't hear the noise at all. At beachside, all the main bedrooms face in towards the pool, so it blocks a lot of sound. The kids room faced over the empty block behind, which got a lot more noise, but nothing that you couldn't sleep through. It never affected the kids. It really wasn't loud enough.

The location of El Taj is also perfect. I was actually surprised how close beachside was to the beach. I had thought it would be further away, but seriously, it took all of about 30 seconds to get to the beach. Across the small road (more like a laneway) and you walk straight through El Taj oceanfront.
And it is fantastic being so close to 5th Ave. We didnt' want to stay at an all inclusive resort, as being able to walk down 5th Ave every night and discover new restaurants is so much a part of the fun. Or if you wanted to stay in one night, there are plenty of home delivery options. We could walk to 5th Ave in about 2 minutes. It really is perfectly located between the beach and the activity of 5th Av.

The Indigo beach club was also great. It is breakfast buffet only and drinks up until 1pm though, but then lunches were great (albeit small), service good and great location.

So that is about it I think to sum up. There is obviously no kids club, which some people want, but we wouldn' t have used it anyway. We also got the concierge to organize babysitting a few nights which was easy. It is US$20 and hour, which hurts when you live in South America and babysitting costs 1/4 of that, but both girls we had were professional (from some agency, not directly employed by the hotel).
I would easily say for people that have kids and hate pokey hotel rooms, this is by far the best place to stay.

Oh yeah the internet wifi was also good. It costs US$50 for the week and includes free international phone calls. And we hired a car for 3 days and parking underneath is also free.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExpatinChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This condo-hotel is a wonderful place to stay! Great attention to detail in every room. A quick walk to the beach or to the Quinta Avenida. We had a wonderful stay and felt pampered by the staff. The view is breathtaking, too! We stayed for a few days at the beachfront cond (which is across the street) and enjoyed the privacy of the swimming pool there. Then, we moved to the oceanfront room and enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi and great view. The kids felt right at home and enjoyed walking to the vibrant nighttime activity nearby. The staff is very oriented towards service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Convenient location in the heart of Playa del Carmen and only one block from the beach. Exceptional quality in the unit and grounds outside. Penthouse units include a large private rooftop with sunning area, hot tub, and barbecue. Some units have better views than others. Only negative is the loud music heard from the Blue Parriott and other clubs a block away but the unit soundproofing blocks out 90% of the late night noise and it was a minor issue overall.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moss333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We spent 8 days at El Taj to celebrate a big b-day for my wife and could not have been more pleased with our choice. The complex is in a perfect location in paradise and the condo itself was amazing with post card views. We have stayed at some of the nicer ai's, boutique hotels and condos in Playa and El Taj topped them all. We will be back for sure!

Some standout places to eat
La Cueva del Chango is a must for breakfast
Carboncitas for their Al pastor tacos among other things
Wicky's - pricey for dinner ( but amazing) and reasonable for lunch
El Fogon - Authentic mexican (off the strip)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank localit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews