We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved This Course!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playacar Golf Club

Playacar Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Loved This Course!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

One of my favorite rounds of golf ... ever!
Very challenging. Loved the water features,
the animals, the tiny greens ... what a beautiful
tract!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    112
    38
    9
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun...Beautiful...Hard!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This course is a BLAST to play but you better bring your A+ game! The fairways are not particularly tight, but EVERY possible shot at any part of the game has some kind of devilishly placed obstacle. Every shot has to be carefully thought out and well executed, which makes it SO much fun to play and such a challenge. The greens are so well protected by surrounding bunkers, rocks, cenotes, trees or whatever, that even the 'bail-out' approach is protected. And the greens...fast, fast, fast. The staff - from the front desk to the starters to the drink cart - are friendly, helpful and will put a smile on your face. The holes are interesting, the course is always in almost perfect shape, and the wildlife is an added treat. So be prepared for a lot of fun...but bring a bagful of balls!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery and wild life! Very Green!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Party of 4, for the day, because it kept getting better! Super staff, impeccably manicured greens, great food nice pro shop and a lot of fun. Great! Thanks Adan!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome greens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

You won't be disappointed when you golf at this course. I was very excited to see a Jack Nicklaus course. I golfed at 3:00 in the afternoon and it was very hot....but the staff was very attentive and constantly brought water. Great experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhenomenialGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A course to play well or to play bad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I'd review this course as one in which you could either score very well or have a shocker.

I didn't feel fairways too tight as some people suggest I actually thought they were quite open compared to what I was use to.

However the greens were ridiculously small the tightest I've ever played.

Lots of water hazards and bunkers made pitching to greens tough.

I played from white tees and shot 6 over my handicap but didn't play particularly well.

Unlimited food, drinks & range balls was a bonus & played just after 2pm for a very reasonable twilight fee.

Only negative (& not that it was the clubs fault) but I was suppose to be playing with a 3 ball however thru didn't show up so ended up playing alone.

I was fine with it however it didn't help me understand where to drive to. There was no course planner available & would have really benefited from one.

Would definitely recommend in fact I aim to play again next week.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bunn-Sollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playacar Golf Club also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
 

Been to Playacar Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing