We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We just got back from a trip where we stayed at a resort outside of Playa, but we wanted to stay one night in town. What a difference! Granted, we paid much more for the resort, but this is very much a budget motel. Our room (I think 113), was like a cave. It was at the back of the property and we went to bed listening to all of the bars and the drunks and woke up bright and early with all of the workers yelling at each other on the sidewalk outside our window. I was really grateful that we were only staying one night.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, don't stay at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    273
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
107
550
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We liked it because it's on the beach ( though it's not a good place to swim because there are boats exactly in front of the hotel). The apartments are comfortable, nice deco and new kitchen appliances. It's also very close to the 5th ave. because there are several night clubs around, you might hear their noise, but the acoustic isolation was enough to let us sleep.
If you come with children I suggest you go to a Walmart near there to get some fruits, cereals, pasta and so on...

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KKnobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for the kind of our hotel. we are glad you enjoyed our hotel and our location, on the beach but still everything handy. I am also glad to hear that you found our sound insulating windows worked well even though you were here for during the music festival.

Kind regards,

Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is lovely. Its super close to all the action in the city so you can walk anywhere. Even to the bus depot which was a plus coz we took the bus from the airport. The rooms are nice and big with a cute patio and hammock where you eat the morning breakfast which is fairly simple. Its right on the beach which is also stunning! There's a coffee maker which is just so important to us. The staff is just amazingly sweet. We were in the hotel on christmas eve and we celebrated with them by singing posadas and enjoying some hot fruit punch and churros. Some of the staff members decided to work even though they were technically not working that day, just to celebrate with the hotel guest which is just awfully nice of them! The housekeeping can be slightly slack, we felt that our soap wasn't replenished which was just so strange! And i also did not notice a change of sheets in our 5-day stay which is fine but i know even eco-friendly hotels change your sheets every 3 days. But the towel animals were really cute.

Now the slightly off-putting part. So this hotel is soooo very close to 4 or 5 nightclubs which blast music SO LOUD wayyy into the night. I loved the hotel, but they really need some soundproofing. We were not really partying on this trip and hence would turn in early enough and it was impossible to fall asleep unless we decided to chug down some nyquil. But the earplugs we bought did help. So either you keep up with the party crowd or invest in earplugs or nyquil. We were in room 107, I am unsure if the loud music was just a problem for us or other people in the hotel too but it truly was a ginormous annoyance for us.
But all in all, good value for money and gorgeous hotel! Kudos to the staff too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StartupTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time and writing a review from your stay at Playa Palms.

I am glad to hear you had a positive experience of our hotel, and that you enjoyed our rooms, staff, and exclusive beach.

Regarding noise, as well as some other recent reviewers you have stayed during the most intensive party period of the year. All our rooms are actually sound insulated(since two years) but during this holiday season, the rooms at the street side where you stayed are unfortunately still affected by the music. We will further improve the soundinsulation of these affected units before the next Christmas and New Year season.

Sincerely yours,
Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is the best location in Playa del Carmen. Right on the beach. And, easy 1 block walk to all restaurants and shops. The pool is small and more decorative the functional; but, with the beautiful beach right there, who wants to sit at the pool?
The room are clean and fairly basic. They are a good value for the price. The ocean front rooms are worth the extra money. The ocean view rooms face each other ever a courtyard and privacy is limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottTAMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was a huge disappointment yet could be so good. Someone buy it out and make it over!!!

The layout is rather built up and it takes a while to get used to after arriving from remote beach resorts in Tulum. The rooms are large and well equipped with a kitchenette area and ability to make coffee/cook dinner with a fridge. The balcony with hammock is a nice touch although the 'ocean view' room was really only 'just a view of the ocean room'

The small complex has a central pool and it's an easy walk to the beach - the staff are lovely and the look and feel of the place was really actually very nice.

Because there's no bar or restaurant it sadly lacks soul. A a a result they offer an inclusive breakfast service brought to your balcony at whatever time you book. Great idea but dire breakfast. Croissant or fruit or rubber (bread) with coffee and juice. Why go to the effort of offering such a fab service but not add more chargeable food to the menu???

The hotel next door had a great breakfast/dining restaurant which non guests could use with a huge selection and lovely beach seating area.

The private beach for this hotel is just cheap plastic sun beds. No drink service. No food service. Nothing.

Both we and my parents had alternate days where there was no hot water either. Plus the toilet blocked twice.

And to be clear - this is NOT a cheap hotel so I can't even say you get what you pay for.

BUT what they don't tell you in anywhere is that you are right next door to 3 of the biggest loudest all night bars/clubs that people JUST come to Playa del Carmen for.

Im a fan of Ibiza and go most years. I love clubs. I love music. I get it. What I don't understand is how a hotel can be right next to the clubs and despite double glazing you can still hear the music and therefore not sleep until it stops at 6am.

I dare say the closer you are to the beach end its a little quieter but I don't think you can easily escape it anywhere.

I felt so sorry for people coming here for a true relaxation break or with kids who will not have slept through it.

Someone needs to put their foot down with the noise level or at last invest in triple glazing or some sort of soundproofing. Its horrific.

And this is not one off those reviews where they say the street noise is loud so beware. I read some reviews here and thought it was just an older person moaning about busily fun passing nightlife. This is another level.

I would not stay here again simply because of that and sadly can't recommend anybody stay here unless you are here for the clubs and in which case it's perfect for you.

I dare say the fact I've rated the room and cleanliness will give this a better star rating overall than I'd like - if tripadvisor could give it 1 star or no stars that would be more accurate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for your response and we apologise for any inconvenience you experienced while at Playa Palms. The particular week you stayed happened unfortunately to be one of the busiest weeks of the year for all of Playa Del Carmen. With busy weeks, most hotels in Playa del Carmen suffer from more noise than usual.

Playa Palms is generally a very quiet place to stay, as we have two years ago installed triple pane soundproofing windows throughout the hotel. As you can notice in other Tripadvisor reviews our guests are very satisfied with the quietness of our rooms.

Our complimentary continental breakfasts are actually very appreciated by our guests. To start the day enjoying a light breakfast served on a private terrace looking out over Carribbean Sea is seen as a big plus in many comments on this forum. For those who want a heavier breakfast, there is always Indigo next door to us with a complete restaurant service.

Regarding our beach service. There is a waitor from a neighbouring beach club always attentive for our guests. However, you are not required to order drinks in this way, you may also bring your own cooler and snacks if you want. On the contrary to most other beach hotels, our beach is exclusive to our own guests and as a result there is always loungers available, more space and a relaxing ambience for our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

First impression of room when we arrived was nice. We had a larger kitchenette room #105. Very simple and clean. Nice bathroom. No problem with hot water. Large patio with hammock which is so relaxing in the evening for a mid-day siesta. Simple continental breakfast served at your requested time everyday is nice touch. Every day towels folded in shape of different sea creatures or animals on bed was amusing. Hotel beach is ok. Go to mamaitas beach for more fun and swimming. A lot of boats in front. Water is very shallow so you can walk out really far, which is cool. Clubs right next door, but with doors closed and a/c on, you don't notice it. Relaxing on your balcony can be a challenge because the hotel is skinny and balconies close together so you hear people right next to you and there can be a lot of foot traffic. I guess I notice more since we were on the first floor. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougnchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

loved everything except taking cold showers, Breakfast was included and delivered to the room balcany. I loved that. Free use of beach loungers. I will probably return. The clubs for the young are very close but the music at night was not a problem at all

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Address: 1st Avenue Bis | Between 12th and 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Palms Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, lush tropical gardens and sweeping Caribbean views frame the charming palapa-roofed architecture of Playa Palms Boutique Beach Hotel. We welcome you to enjoy Playa del Carmen as it is meant to be experienced - where gracious service, superb amenities and exhilarating activities deliver just the Mexico you came to see. As the "alternative to all-inclusives," Playa Palms offers a relaxed and intimate departure from the larger resorts on the Riviera Maya. Stay walking distance from the vibrant shops, restaurants, and bars of 5th Avenue, known locally as "La Quinta." When relaxing at the hotel, guests have their choice of amenities and adventures. Whether you want to indulge in the delicious local cuisine, partake in a wide range of water sports, or lounge in a hammock on your private terrace while basking inexquisite ocean views, Playa Palms is an elegant oasis for relaxation in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Come to Playa Palms and Wake Up Inside Your Dream! Enjoy a complimentary Continental breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the Caribbean when you book your reservations directly through the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing