We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Ranked #130 of 216 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My husband I stayed at Pueblito Escondido for 10 days to celebrate our 25th anniversary.
We stayed in a one bedroom which we had booked directly through the owner on VRBO.com. It was much cheaper than going through the condo itself. The scenery from the roof top pool is so beautiful and amazing it's hard to put into words. It is picture perfect. The rooms were clean and had all you would need for a stay away from home. The beach is only steps away and not crowded. The sand is beautiful and the ocean is amazing. There are many colors of blues and greens. The beach was clean and we enjoyed watching the people, swimming in the ocean and just basking in the sun. Pueblito Escondido is on the quiet end of town but definitely within walking distance to many things. We like to walk and even with the high temps. of 80's and 90's and very humid, we were able to walk everywhere. There is a little convenience store near the condo for quick trips for drinks and other grocery items. There is also a laundry mat near the store if you need to do laundry on a long stay. It was only 25 pesos for the washer and 20 pesos for the dryer. A few blocks away is also the Mega Store - like a Wal-Mart where we did our grocery shopping. Very reasonable prices there. We took a cab back to the condo due to the distance and heavy bags.
We walked to 5th ave. which is filled with little shops for T-shirts, jewelry, liquor, pharmacy and Mexican crafts. Also along 5th ave. are many restaurants to choose from. It is a fun place to visit and we will definitely go back to Playa and stay at Pueblito Escondido

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbarnes517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

Our stay at this condo was a pleasant one. For as new as the building is though, our room looked a little bit weary. (and smelled very musty!) We loved the location of the condo because the beach was great, it was far enough away from all the noise of 5th ave, but still within easy walking distance of everything. One disappointment was that they have limited chairs and umbrellas to offer their guests. If you didn't pick these up early from the front desk, you were out of luck for the day. We checked out some other hotels while in Playa and were happy that we choose PE. It was a good value for $200.00 a night including taxes because it's so close to a wonderful beach. The food in Playa is wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

My wife and I have been to Playa three times in the last 12 months. The first two times we stayed in all inclusives, Royal Hideaway and Riu Palace Mexico in Playacar. We had great vacations but found that we were missing great opportunities to sample the restaurants and lively atmosphere of Playa Del Carmen.
We wanted to be on the quieter North side of town but a short walk to the action of 5th avenue. We also wante the beach.
This hotel was perfect. We were upgraded from a studio to a 2 bedroom. The rooms are contemporary and beautiful. Everything worked perfectly and the daily maid service was excellent. You can not beat the roof top infinity pool. Quiet but just enough quests for some pleasant conversations.
There was something wrong with the pool filter system for two of the days but they fixed it. No big deal because you are steps from the beach and there is a nice shower on the path back into the property. We had a great time.
Breakfast every morning at Cuervo Del Chango was soooo good. We highly recommend if you want to have everything but explore the dining and emntertainment options that surround this city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rasvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay at Pueblito Escondido. We got a penthouse suite, which was more than enough room for 2 of us. As others have mentioned, the rooftop pool is not very private, nor is it big, but it is still nice to have right outside your room if you can afford the upgrade. There is plenty of seating up there as well. There are even electrical outlets, which allowed us to watch a movie outside one night one our portable DVD player and take in the cool night breeze.

As others note, the rooftop pool has the best views. Arturo, the bartender, was friendly and made very good drinks (expect "resort" prices). We were not bothered by the music on the roof as others have mentioned. We did not use the ground level pool at all, but it looked nice.

The room itself was nicely accommodated, with housekeeping performed daily (usually around 2:00 for us). Our maid was friendly and went out of her way to make us towel animals and clean our dirty dishes in the kitchen sink each day (make sure you leave her a tip). The only snafu we ran into was that our air conditioner started leaking on our last night there. There was a lot of water coming into the master bathroom area from above the ceiling. It was around 10:00pm and the front desk did not have any maintenance people around to come take a look at it. They did offer to have housekeeping come and clean up the water, but the only solution they offered was to turn up the A/C so that it would not freeze up (sounds like this has happened before). It got pretty warm in the room without the A/C, and had it not been our last night we probably would have been more upset with the way it was handled. However, I have no doubt they would have been more responsive had it been a decent hour of the day.

The location was great. So close to the beach, and about 10 minutes from the main section of 5th Ave. We enjoyed the extra walk as a good way to burn off those dinner calories and to see more of the town. We always felt safe on the walk, and they were installing extra lighting along 38th as we were there which should make it even better. There are plenty of convenience stores near the hotel for stocking up your fridge with snacks and drinks. The Mega is not all that far away either and probably has better prices.

We did not try the hotel's Italian restaurant, but it was pretty dead the entire week we were there. No more than one or two tables occupied every night. It had a nice atmosphere, but we just preferred to go out closer to town.

All-in-all, a great trip. Although a little north of all the action, this part of town seems to be newer and will likely be just as active in a few short years.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jphaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We were blown away by this place. We got the 3rd-floor suite with the roof-top pool and our jaws dropped when we walked in! Gorgeous suite with top-notch furnishings and decor.

I keep reading reviews where guests criticize this property for mosquitos. We never saw one nor have we any of the other half-dozen times we've gone to Playa. Either way, what does this have to do with the quality of this location? Absurd!

We had the same maid the whole eight days and she was thorough and never in the way. In fact, we felt she went out of her way to accomodate our schedule.

The front desk staff was also kind and extremely helpful with advice and finding and contacting local businesses. They even gave us a 4pm checkout on our last day so we could hang out at the beach before catching our red-eye.

As for location, I would give it a 9. The only way it could be better is if it were right on the beach instead of 50' from it!

Our entire family highly recommends this property and will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveBaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and of all the places we saw in Playa (always want to make sure we made the right choice); this is the place we would actually stay at again. This hotel is very beautiful and perfect if you DON'T want to be right in the middle of downtown Playa. We were looking for a quiet location within walking distance to the main part of town and this was an excellent option. We rented a penthouse as a treat for my husband's 40th and it was nicely decorated with a kitchenette, two bedrooms and bathrooms, two plasma TVs, DVD player, dining area and a rooftop deck/pool. The rooftop area is not 100% private, as it is connected to the infinity pool/bar area and all residents are able to go up there; however it was still nice and quiet and the infinity pool is the best place to be anyway (best views!). We wouldn't really recommend the penthouse to a group of people as the setup was a little odd...you enter the penthouse through the first bedroom and therefore there would be little privacy if you were not all on the same schedule.
The staff was very nice, but you have to ask a few times to get what you need. The beach is about 200 feet away and is cleaner and less crowded than the downtown Playa area. It's about a mile walk downtown or a 20-30 peso taxi ride (depending on who you get and how much you want to argue). There are some nice places to eat right around the hotel (La Cueva Del Chango-best breakfast, seriously; Kool Fish-get the chipotle fish tacos) and the hotel caters from an Italian place around the corner (dinner here was alright-nothing spectacular; pizza's looked good, but we didn't try them). Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want something clean, quiet and close to the beach without being right in the heart of town. Worth the walk and the price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddrgnfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We spent 5 nights at Pueblito Escondido and found it to be a very nice place. The Junior suite is very modern with many upgrades. Two plasma TV's and a DVD player were handy. As a condo resort, they have a full kitchen with very basic amenities. The microwave has Spanish instructions. Be aware there are only the barest essentials, and no paper towels, dish soap, napkins. We forgot coffee filters! THe resort has no shop where you can purchase groceries, etc. The rooftop bar was closed Sunday, as no staff was available (they had a party the night before.) THe hotel is very near the beach, but has no chairs, palapas or other equipment for hotel guests.
We found the resort to be very quiet and private. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom beautiful and spacious. Lots of hot water! The area is off the beaten path but close to services.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worfrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
#183 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#61 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#38 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#91 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
185 reviews
0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblito Luxury Condohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblito Luxury Condohotel

Address: Av. 38 Norte S/N Col. Centro | On 38th St. And the Beach, Playa del Carmen 77720, Mexico (Formerly Mistik Residence Club)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £110 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblito Luxury Condohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the placid waters of the Mexican Caribbean, Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel emerges in the midst of the vibrant atmosphere of Playa del Carmen as an exquisite luxury resort that, with a magical aura, enriches the cosmopolitan Quinta Avenida and its shops, boutiques, restaurants, bars as well as its magnificent nightlife. Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel, Playa del Carmen offers comfortable lodging with spacious and modern suites of different sizes and excellent amenities that enhance the enjoyment of the white sand beaches, beside the property. With a sense of exclusivity, Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel is the absolute place to feel at ease and enjoy an unforgettable vacation at this luxury condominium complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblito Luxury Condohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Pueblito Escondido Hotel
Hotel Pueblito Escondido
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing