We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Potential to be great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Ranked #122 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2011

As previous reviews have indicated, there are pros/cons to this condo/hotel. The rooms are nice & spacious, close access to the beach, quiet area but yet short walk to restaurants/shopping on 5th Ave. Several of the staff are very friendly but not all - could be more customer service focused.

Make sure you make an inventory of all the items in the kitchen, as they are often missing on check-in, and attempts will be made to charge you for items on your check out- you'll need to stand your ground and refuse to pay. The restaurant next door has a great breakfast and the staff there is very nice. The first day we were there was no hot water which previous reviews have mentioned - after that no problems. One of the other guests while we were there was complaining about problems with their toilet and seemed upset.

I don't know if we would return as there are other hotels/condos in Playa that are more customer service friendly and not so apt to want to take advantage of their guests. It has the potential to be great due to its location & easy access to the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cinder55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

If going to Playa del Carmen, I would stay here over any of the overly-expensive all-inclusive resorts. Get a great room right near the beach and you can then enjoy other parts of the town/area without feeling guilty b/c you think you should stay at your resort the whole trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in December over Christmas. It was a similar experience to staying in a Villa with many positive and unfortunately negative aspects. I don't know that any of the negatives were really big enough to not come back (and it certainly didn't hamper our vacation) but they are worth noting. First the good:

Room: we were in PH 305, a 2 bdrm, 2 ba duplex with the private pool. This apt was spacious, clean and comfortable for an adult family of 5. The private pool we didn't use as the roof top infinity pool was so beautiful, we opted to use that. The kitchen was fully equipped except for a dishwasher. Free wireless in the room, huge plus. After a week I was stuck in Playa due to a blizzard in NYC so my family left and I stayed a few extra days and switched to room 107- ground floor 1 bdrm that was HUGE, actually bigger living area than the PH.

Food: Breakfast was included daily in the restaurant. Service was slow but this was because everything was made fresh to order. It was good food, lots of fresh juices.

Location: can't be beat. Steps to the beach and 5th Ave, everything we needed was walking distance.

Negatives: major hot water problem in the hotel. We complained the first day. By day 2 when I took a cold shower I was somewhat enraged. They apologized and said it was a boiler issue and they were working on it. By day 3 they shut off the water without warning and it wasn't on again until 6 pm (toilets were not working during this time). Zero water pressure throughout the stay. There were never enough towels in the room. When we asked for more they told us they had to charge us. Um, I don't think so. Some firm albeit polite words had numerous towels in our room 10 min later. Staff was friendly and accommodating so we couldn't fault them on anything, but management is definitely poor. There was no memo, nothing to let us know about the water situation. Once I switched to room 107, the phone was not working. They sent several people to look at it but could never fix it. Normally this wouldn’t be an issue but I had to contact the airline to book a new flight and had to keep going to a pay phone. Some people commented that the staff doesn’t speak English well- they don’t. But you know what? We are in THEIR country and they don't need to speak our language. Practice your Spanish.

Beach access: as mentioned, the beach was steps to the hotel. However, please note this hotel doesn't have an immediate area where one can sit with beach loungers/umbrellas. That being said, you have the option of a few beach bars. We had to take a stroll down the beach (turn left on beach and walk down about 5 min) to Canibal Royal- a restaurant/beach club where we could use the chairs etc without a cost. The place was amazing- good DJ and vibe, yummy food (best cerviche and fish tacos). Young/hip staff and everyone was so nice. On Sat it was similar to Nikki Beach- house DJ, def a vibe. Other days it was chill music or they played salsa/meringue, lots of locals. One day we ventured to Mamitas and wow, what a difference. The place was huge, crowded and lacking personal service. However if you sit near the area where they have the beds, it’s also a good crowd and the DJ was pretty great.

Overall, we had the feel of a villa with hotel amenities. Unlike staying in a villa where you are self sufficient, you had the room cleaned each day which was nice. On the flip side, there is nothing extra in the apt- cooler for beach, smaller beach chairs, umbrella etc. Also the kitchen didn't have anything if you plan to cook- no salt, pepper, napkins etc. You need to provide everything.

Tips: we used Balam Transportation for round trip airport transport and also when we did a day trip. After they picked us up at the airport, we asked to stop by a grocery store where we stocked up on food/water. We did Tulum and Akmal Beach which I would highly recommend. Our driver was professional, on time and wonderful to spend the day with.

Overall: this hotel is great if you don't encounter any problems during your trip and its well worth the value. I booked in August and got 30% off the rate so we had a deal. However, its not service oriented and while the staff is very friendly, they are somewhat clueless (we had to call 2x for them to bring a roll away bed and when they finally came, house keeping showed up with a pillow and a sheet, no bed.. Ha ha). The water issue was beyond annoying but what can you do? If I were to get another good rate, I would book again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We have been to this hotel twice in the last three years. Ever since our first visit we fell in loved with the area and this hotel. This is not a typical hotel. This is more of an condo building that rents out units as part of the hotel service. As such, there is not fancy lobby, bar, restaurant, which is fine when you are looking for a good place to relax. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. An the beach is only steps from the hotel. The apartments are outstanding. Fully furnished with modern, high quality and clean furniture. The top floor with the infinity pool and bar are awesome. I definitely recommend it to couples or families.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calivea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

WOW .. what can i say more ... Stayed in a 2 bdrm penthouse condo with our own private pool and lanaii. We saw only one more couple the 4 days we stayed at that resort. Verrry verry quiet place. They advertise as being one block from the beach but it is not true. When you exit the hotel via the stairs nest to the adult pool , the beach is 20 steps away ! great view of beach/ocean from infinity pool. We were so comfy that we didnt leave that paradise during our entire stay. went grocery shopping at walmart and at local grocery store next to walmart and didnt go out at all. We cooked our meal every day, even if we were suppose to go out at diner for dinner. We watch movie on a nice flat screen, had meal outside or inside, simply amazing vacation.
Pool bar was only open 1 day during our stay. We didnt mind, we had bought what we needed at walmart (liquor,wine,beer)
No restaurant on site. they have room service but i think it is coming from a near by restaurant.
We paid $250/ngts. Best internet service ever and it was included in price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbeaujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Prior reviews on this site began to strike fear into the hearts of my husband and I, along with the other two couples we traveled to Playa with in March. I'd booked Pueblito Escondido at the solid recommendation of a friend who frequently travels to Playa, yet mixed reviews here on Trip Advisor had us more than a little concerned. Our fears were completely unfounded, and all in all we enjoyed a fantastic stay here!

PROS: location, location, location!!! On the North end, just a mere stone's throw from the beach, and walking distance to 5th Avenue and your choice of restaurants & bars, including the phenomenally cool La Cuevo de la Chango! Very short walk down the beach to the beach clubs; we loved Las Palapas, with their beachfront bar and palapa-style umbrellas. The condo offered tons of space for the money, including a fully-furnished kitchen (yes, with a blender for margarita-making!) I loved the layout of the space, and how the bedroom windows faced an inner open-air hallway, which made for very dark sleeping conditions at night & well into the late morning (of which I am a huge fan!) The resort features contemporary decor, & is kept very, very clean. The rooftop pool is a beautiful space, but the water was just too cold to really enjoy while we were there in March. Pueblito Escondido was a great value for the level of accommodations and such a superb location; we paid $200/night for a Jr Suite booked through Splendia.com, a full $80 less than the official hotel website had charged us. Free wi-fi!

CONS: Management is not up to par & seems disorganized in general. While our reservation was on file when we arrived, the hotel had no record of the deposit we'd already paid, or at what rate we had booked our room. Bring printouts of your online confirmations -- you will need them! I honestly don't think that the false charges other reviews are complaining about are malicious or intended...it really seems to be a language barrier and lack of solid bookkeeping that's to blame. (Note that there is an additional room tax on top of the rate, and this was charged to us upon checkout...wondering if some people mistook this for an overpayment?) We had no issues with theft as also mentioned in prior reviews, but we used the in-room safe religiously. It operates differently from most hotel safes I've used, so its entirely possible that other users didn't actually have it locked when they thought they did. Our friends rented a Penthouse suite -- probably not worth the extra money, unless you just need the extra (twin beds only) bedroom. While beautiful, the plunge pools are not at all private, are actually very accessible to anyone at the rooftop pool. We did, however, enjoy their "private" outdoor seating area at night...a lovely spot from which to enjoy sips of our new favorite, Clase Azul tequila! The pool bar was only open one afternoon during our stay, while we were lounging in the cabanas on the roof; very inconsistent bar service available. A Mexican restaurant is now open at ground level of the hotel, but there is still a general lack of amenities, such as fitness center, spa services, etc.

I would stay at Pueblito Escondido again without hesitation, but when we return to Playa (and we most definitely will return!), we will probably explore some of the other great lodging options that Playa has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangekoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We actually stayed here a couple of years ago when it first opened, but since we are planning another trip back I felt the need to write a review of this place.

We stayed in a 1-bedroom ground floor room and loved it. The hotel itself was great, rooms were big, the place was quiet, and the rooftop pool and bar were awesome. The service was good except for the early early morning room service knocks.

The location of this place is the best part of it all. You are just a few short feet to the beach, and a little stroll to downtown PDC. You are far enough away for noise but close enough to walk everywhere. We were here a week and would not have picked a better location. And there are so many restaurants and bars within walking distance that are fantastic.

We loved this place because it was nice enough to spend a day relaxing if we didn't want to leave and close enough to experience other great places in PDC. Next time we go back, this will be on the top of our list.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graveetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#96 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
#177 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport House Playa del Carmen
Newport House Playa del Carmen
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblito Luxury Condohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblito Luxury Condohotel

Address: Av. 38 Norte S/N Col. Centro | On 38th St. And the Beach (North Downtown Playa), Playa del Carmen 77720, Mexico (Formerly Mistik Residence Club)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £71 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblito Luxury Condohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the placid waters of the Mexican Caribbean, Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel emerges in the midst of the vibrant atmosphere of Playa del Carmen as an exquisite luxury resort that, with a magical aura, enriches the cosmopolitan Quinta Avenida and its shops, boutiques, restaurants, bars as well as its magnificent nightlife. Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel, Playa del Carmen offers comfortable lodging with spacious and modern suites of different sizes and excellent amenities that enhance the enjoyment of the white sand beaches, beside the property. With a sense of exclusivity, Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel is the absolute place to feel at ease and enjoy an unforgettable vacation at this luxury condominium complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pueblito Luxury Condohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Pueblito Escondido Hotel
Hotel Pueblito Escondido
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing