We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take care when booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Encanto Paseo del Sol
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Take care when booking”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I could give a rating of anything from 1 to 5 for the Paseo del sol and would advise anyone booking to take care. I booked at the last minute through Expedia and tried to contact Paseo del Sol by 'phone and e-mail prior to arrival to make sure of our room requests. By 'phone I kept getting a Spanish voicemail and had no response to e-mails. I was somewhat anxious about this but not unduly concerned. Unfortunately, for various reasons, we missed a connecting flight - I tried again to contact Paseo del Sol to tell them we would be arriving 12 hours later than planned (on Saturday rather than Friday evening) but again only obtained the Spanish voicemail. I contacted Expedia who called me back to say they had managed to contact Paseo del Sol and they would expect us a day late. When we eventually arrived after 36 hours travelling we waited at Paseo del Sol reception for over an hour and a half as they could not find our booking and eventually told us they had no 3 bedroom apartments available. I learnt that about 3/4 of the complex is managed by one company who deal with the likes of Expedia whilst the other 1/4 is managed by another company letting mostly to Russians. The letting agent of the latter company who was in the lobby said he could help us out and showed us one of his three bedroom apartments. It looked as if it had not been renovated since the complex had been built and was rather depressing - we were also told we would have to pay for electricity, drinking water and cleaning. As we were all exhausted from the travel and this seemed the only option we reluctantly accepted. By Monday and having made a long list of maintenance problems with the apartment I had had enough and told the front reception we would have to be moved - I showed them another receipt from Expedia indicating we had paid in full in advance. Suddenly they had a number of 3 bedroom apartments available and we spent the morning looking at very nice, new and clean ones. We then moved into one on the top floor being told it would include cleaning everyday, no extra charge for drinking water or electricity. I do not know if this is generally the case or whether they simply felt bad about messing us about. I have since been told by Expedia that after I e-mailed them the day after our arrival to tell them of our problems they re-contacted Paseo del Sol to re-confirm our booking and indeed sent a fax. That may be why we were found another apartment on the Monday. However, reception were adamant they had no three bedroom apartments available when we arrived and the ones they showed us on Monday had only become available after the weekend. Indeed, two they showed us were still being cleaned. I am still not sure what went wrong. The apartment we ended up in for the last two and a half weeks of our break was very nice (not luxury and 4 rather than 5 star) - it was sufficiently spacious for our family of five adults and had everything we needed. However, the third bedroom was small and the air conditioning was not very efficient. The beach is NOT ACROSS THE ROAD as other reviewers suggest. If you do not want to walk through the Reef Hotel which is opposite Paseo del Sol (we preferred not to), the beach is actually down a short road opposite Paseo, through a wooded area, along two other short roads - about 10 minutes - not really a big problem but definitely not across the road. Self-catering is not that easy (and we are used to it on our various travels) as there are no shops of any substance for food within walking distance. The Megga (avoid Wallmart which is awful) supermarket is a ten minute taxi ride away so don't forget to buy the essentials when you get there. Had we had not problems at the outset my overall rating would still be a 4. Very nice and comfortable with a very nice pool but not luxurious. I would though make as certain as you can that every aspect of your booking has been confirmed - I thought I had done so and am not sure what else I could have done. The reception staff were all very nice and helpful although it sometimes took a while for things to be done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    24
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Paseo Del Sol for 2 weeks and really enjoyed our holiday. There was an initial glitch with our booking which, after 20 hours of travel, was a little stressful. This was resolved by the next day though.

The condo was very spacious and had everything we needed and more (including washer/dryer). It was cleaned regularly and to a high standard ( but don't expect toiletries, 24 hour reception etc - it's not a hotel).

It is a 20 min walk from 5th ave, so you need to be willing/able to walk some distance to get to the bars restaurants or pay 70 pesos each way in a taxi.

We didn't access the beach via the Reef resort, instead we went to a beach club about 30 mins away on foot (Wickys - nice food), but also spent a lot of time by the large, clean pool (not always quiet due to maintenance work, but not a major issue).

I would definitely recommend Paseo Del Sol.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMichelleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

This review is specific for unit A106, as these are privately owned condos with the Encanto managing company. We stayed for a week and enjoyed our stay. This was our 5th trip to Playa and the cancan area and decided to stay off of the beach in a quieter community. This is what we had with the paseo del sol. It was quiet, laid back, it seemed that the majority of the people staying in the condos where owners themselves so it was nice to get information from people who live there six months out of the year.

The condo itself was a spacious bottom floor corner condo directly in front of the pool. Two bedrooms, one king bed in the master with 2 twin beds in the other. Both rooms have on suite full bathrooms with spacious showers. There is also another bathroom that has a toilet and sink. There are 5 ways to enter or exit the condo. Sliding glass door in the master bedroom, second bedroom, main entry door, and two in the main living area. Plenty of windows if you wanted you really wouldn't need to use the air conditioning if you didn't want to, just open up the windows and doors and let in a constant breeze. Few things that I noticed wile there, the shelf in the master bath shower didn't seem to be attached to the wall properly, the dishwasher bottom shelf either had a broken wheel or didn't fit the dishwasher you kinda had to wrestle it a bit to get it to slide out, you may see a few ants (but we bought some bug spray at Walmart and this did the trick nicely).

The pool is sizable and meandering that is meticulously cleaned of debris everyday. You can get new towels daily at the front desk specifically for the pool. There are a great diversity of birds in the area that enjoy the lush landscaping around the pool area.

Encanto has an agreement with a neighboring resort across the street called the reef. I would avoid this at all costs. They want you to join their vacation club, and ultimately just waste your vacation time. They promised us a free lunch on the day we did the "tour" and two free day passes for another day. Just take my advice and say no gracias!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just spent a week at this location, let me tell you we will return soon. Did not want the all inclusive and crowd during spring break offered by the resorts. This is in an excellent location near the Reef resort. Rooms are very nice for families, near 5th Ave for shopping and restaurants. Access to beach at the Reef resort.
Close too either Wal-Mart or Mega for your own groceries, drinks. Pool is very nice & super clean, staff are very helpful and polite.
We stayed in a three bedroom unit and it was well equipped, with all appliances, balcony, washer & dryer.
Do not expect 5 star service because this is a condo, not a hotel to pamper you. We met some very nice owners of these units from Canada & the USA, this is a hidden gem!
Close to Xplor and the other parks.

Wow, what a nice vacation!!!!

Room Tip: Nice location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We booked for 2 weeks in November and stayed in Reef 201. Our 2 bedroom apartment was MASSIVE and had everything we needed for our holiday.... We even had 3 toilets! We prefer to stay in self catering apartments as this suits us better as our daughter was nearly 3 and we prefer the flexibilty a apartment gives us. Paseo del Sol is situated in Playacar which is a lovely gated area which is approx a 15-20 min walk to Playa del Carmen. The grounds, pool and staff were all lovely and Carlos on the front desk was very helpful and always there to answer any questions which we had. We would definatley return to Paseo del Sol again and would reccomend it :o)

Room Tip: We stayed in Reef 201 and it was lovely and overlooked the childrens pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sturty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The apartments worked brilliantly for us , friends and our 2 young children. Huge pool, easy access to beach, very quiet and surf catering. Only negative was lack of cooking equipment but a very minor point only. By staying here you can be close to Playa but still have tranquility and flexibility with v helpful staff.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DonHackettino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed there for a week. It is a gorgeous condominium with a very few people staying, so very quite. The condo was gorgeous; spacious two bedroom, nicely furnished and decorated. The personnel was very courteous. The only thing is the lack of wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irrumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#85 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#135 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
443 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#95 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#12 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encanto Paseo del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encanto Paseo del Sol

Property: Encanto Paseo del Sol
Address: Ha Mza 12 Avenida Paseo Xaman-Ha | in the heart of Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Encanto Paseo del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s always a pleasure to guide the ones that are looking for a luxury yet affordable vacation in Playa del Carmen.Playa del Carmen it’s just the place to be while on vacation, it features first world facilities with an authentic Mexican taste, dressed with a multicultural ambiance.Our peaceful beautiful condo complex is located in Playacar, a gated community with 24/7 security with a paradisiacal Caribbean landscape; just 15 min walking or 5 min driving distance from the well known 5th avenue. Paseo del Sol features its own lighted and complimentary tennis court, Gym, sauna, free parking, the largest and most beautiful pool in the area and beach club right across de street.All the condominiums are fully air conditioned and furnished, spacious living room, ceiling fans, linens and towels, bottled drinking water, fully equipped kitchen (microwave, toaster, blender, coffee maker, cookware, dishes, dishwasher), cable tv, dvd player, iron/ironing board combo, washer/dryer and very large balcony, terrace or either rooftop.All points considered, Paseo del Sol is a good choice for those who want the convenience of a fully equipped condo and all the tourist services you are likely to need, both in Playacar and Playa del Carmen.I would love to understand your needs in order to provide with the best option for vacations, I have a solution for every single need and budget.Please write or call me at any time, I’m always available to assist you. Best regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Encanto Paseo del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanto Paseo Del Sol Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Encanto Paseo Del Sol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing