We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riviera Maya Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koox Hotel Banana(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Riviera del Sol(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rosa Mirador Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Hotel El Tukan(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Real Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
BRIC Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Soul Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Patio Hotel & Suites(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
300
60
6
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
60
6
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubrestaurants and shopsmamitas beachwasher dryerfull kitchengarden suitedrinking water was providedtoaster ovenstaff was extremely helpfulexcellent locationshort blocksbed roomliving areawater dispenserthatched roofbeach towelsrooms are spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our first trip to Playa del Carmen and we were looking for a place that offered plenty of room for our family of four. After doing a TON of research on Trip Advisor and other sites, we decided on Riviera Maya Suites. But as with any choice made by simply looking at photos and reviews online, you're never really sure what you're getting into until you arrive. The verdict: We had the trip of a lifetime and had a fantastic stay at Riviera Maya Suites.
Before we even arrived, Lisette was reaching out by email to confirm details of our stay and help us coordinate off-site activities. The hotel is perfectly situated at the north end of Playa; just around the corner from all the excitement, shops and restaurants of 5th Avenue, but once you are on the property you feel tucked away in a tropical garden oasis. The grounds are spotless and beautifully landscaped, the suites were even more clean and spacious than I could tell in photos, and the staff was friendly and attentive.
Best of all, a short walk through the tropical paradise of adjacent hotel property Hotel Las Palapas, and you are on that hotel's fantastic beach where RMS guests have full privileges. This beach is very secure (with security guards and waitstaff constantly monitoring and attending to guest needs, we felt completely comfortable leaving our valuables to go in the water, walk down the beach etc., something I wouldn't even do at home), very well shaded with generous palapas and palm trees, has a beach bar and offers food that can either be served to you in the scattering of tables and chairs tucked under the palm trees or right to your beach chair.
While there is a party going on every day at Mamita's beach club nearby, we found you could barely hear the music and it was actually kind of nice, sort of like when you were at the beach as a kid and you could faintly hear the music from the boom box 50 yards away. No big deal, plus if you take a walk the people watching at Mamita's is awesome. Another bonus: right next to the Palapas beach there is a water sports center where you can arrange a snorkel trip, rent a paddle board, etc.
Back to the accommodations - we loved spending down time on our balcony lounging in the hammocks or enjoying a margarita and taking in the view of the tree tops and roof decks of surrounding properties. Our beds were comfortable, the AC kept our rooms plenty cool, the showers had good water pressure...I really don't have anything negative to say at all. Just a fantastic experience all the way around.
We are not all-inclusive people and don't want to fly to Mexico just to feel like we are in a Vegas resort. RMS was a perfect choice for us and an ideal base from which to explore the food, culture and natural beauty Playa and the Maya Riviera area has to offer. Some highlights: We highly recommend having breakfast and lunch at La Cueva del Chango. Incredible food, super cool surroundings. Have dinner one night on the beach at Fusion. Live music, great food and great vibe. I you are traveling with kids, spend a day at Xel-ha or one of the other adventure parks.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Sybil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraMayaSuites, Gerente at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Sybil,

We are so glad to hear that your first visit to playa has left some nice memories, it is always good to know that we exceeded your expectations, our team is and will always be available to help our guests with the best recommendations in everything!

Thank you for choosing for your holidays the Mexican Caribbean and Riviera Maya Suites, honestly we are so happy for your review and your lovely comments!

Do not forget that we have a special discount for our frequent guests.

We hope to see you back !

Kind Regards,
Riviera Maya Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My family and me went there in our holidays .
The apartment was fantastic , good personnel , nice taste , nice view . Well located and the best is the access to the beach . Las Palapas beach is super nice and quiet for a family . After a long day on the beach you have the chance to enjoy the swimming pool and a warm jacuzzy .
Nothing more , Nothing less .
The good thing is that we will come back .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agustingutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We just stayed for a week in Riviera Maya Suites. There were a party of 4 adults and 2 kids with plenty of room. Everything was clean and properly set before our arrival. This is a really good place to stay so close to 5th Avenida and perfect for a family vacation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraMayaSuites, Director Comercial at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for writing a positive comment about our Condo Hote Riviera Maya Suites.
And yes, one of our advantage is definetly our location between beach and 5th Avenue! Both in walking distance.

We are looking forward wellcoming you for a future visit!
Remember you will have a 10% discount as our frecuent guest.

Kind regards,

Simona Hümme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I spent a week with a friend in one of the bungalows and this was just an amazing week. We couldnt have picked a more convienient area to stay - 1/2 block from 5th street which had everything you need - from amazing restaurants - shopping and entertainment. We didnt rent a car - either walked or hopped into a taxi. The staff at the resort was amazing- Felicia was always there for us and offered suggestions that always ended up perfect. The resort is connected to another of which we had access to things there and the beach was just a few minutes walk - which was beautiful. Everyone is so friendly - everything so clean - had daily maid service - which was lovely. Took ferry to Cozumel which was close by - took a tour to see the ruins . Just an over all great experience. I will definately go back as this was my first time in Mexico and it was an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: if you dream of a bungalow on the beach - this place has them - almost on the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraMayaSuites, Director Comercial at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Kim,

thank you very much for writing a detailed review about our Condo Hotel Riviera Maya Suites.
Our garden suites (Bungalows) are still our new category of room and very well accepted by our clients, since not everyone needs a complete apartment. We consider our garden suites a special category for a quiet and romantic stay in the heart of Playa del Carmen.


We hope to meet you for a second stay at our Riviera Maya Suites and we are glad to offer you a10% discoutn for beeing a frecuent guest!

Kind regards,

Your Riviera Maya Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

When planning a long weekend with office friends, you probably want something that’s not cumbersome or too expensive or even with too many resort-like services that will keep you within the walls all the time. A place that provides regular cleaning and toiletries so you won’t worry. And that it does not charge for things that you won't use, giving you a decent price. You want to go out and experience life outside in a decent place with a decent location.

Well, that pretty much sums up the advantages of Riviera Maya Suites.

This Condo-hotel is located between the 1st and the famous 5th avenue of Playa del Carmen, a couple of blocks from the beach. While it’s not that close to most of the nightlife (10 blocks away), the hottest beach clubs (Mamitas & Kool) are five minutes away. So plan your day in advance.

We booked a two bedroom flat, which can accommodate up to six persons. Being a condo hotel, it does not count with a kitchenette, but with a full kitchen so you can go to the supermarket and save at least in a couple of meals a day. All the premises are spotless and shiny, and everything works just fine.

A word of caveat: this is not a party hotel. Anyway, Playa del Carmen is not a party town. You are not supposed to go wild in the pool, which is the common area. If you do, your blast will be ended and, if you do the same in the flat, you will receive a warning from the staff.

Another word of caveat: if you suffer from a back condition, check the consistence of the beds. I woke up each day with a stiff neck and a little backache.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyhtstriyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraMayaSuites, Director Comercial at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,

muchas gracias por su comentario detallado sobre nuestro lugar. Y también que mencionó nuestras ventajas!!
Nosotros aparte de ser un hotel familiar siempre invitamos a cada tipo de grupo de visitarnos y aprovechar de la opción de rentar un departamento. Ahora también tenemos una casa de 4 recámaras para máximo 9 personas. Si controlamos un poco el movimiento de noche en las áreas públicas, para que nuestros clientes pasen sus noches tranquilos, espero que no lo tomaron mal.

Los invitamos para sus futuras vacaciones con nosotros, aprovechen de un 10% de descuento!

Saludos cordiales,.

El equipo Riviera Maya Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews