We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a small group in stead of seperate hotelrooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Maya Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Great staff, absolutely a place I would go back to!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coenwille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2009

My wife and I booked our stay at the Riviera Maya Suites at the last minute after reading some very negative reviews of our originally booked hotel. This turned out to be a fortuitous choice.
---
First, the suites. They are fantastic. A full kitchen with modern appliances, a dining room, a laundry room with washer and dryer, fully furnished bedrooms, living area, hammocks on the balcony along with chairs and a sitting table. Perfect for a home away from home.
---
Next, the location. Perfect. Located near the intersection of 5th avenue and 34th St, the suites are close enough to the main tourist strip of Playa that you can easily walk to any location, but far enough away that you are not bombarded with the noise from late night clubs and bars. With only 12 suites, there was never too large of a crowd at the pool or on the fantastic solarium.
---
The beach club. Unlike many condos in the area, the Riviera Maya Suites have worked out an agreement with the adjacent hotel, Las Palapas, which allows guests to use hotel facilities such as the gym, the pool and the beach huts/chairs. You can even open an account at the front desk for dining, drinking and the dive shop.
---
The price. In my eyes, based upon value, the Riviera Maya Suites is very tough to beat. This is by far the best experience I've had in any Carribean location, and it is also the least expensive.
---
Finally, a word about the staff. When renting a condo, I do not expect much. In the past, we've experienced very little more than "Here are the keys. Don't break anything." With the Riviera Maya Suites, we were greeted by Simona, the General Manager, who took the time to draw us a map of her favorite locations. She remained sweet and friendly throughout the entire experience, making sure that our trip went as smoothly as possible. She even checked to make sure we didn't need to alter our plans due to the swine flu panic.

The team that works with her was also fantastic. The rooms were professionally cleaned daily, and every staff member greeted us with a smile. and a friendly attitude. For the quality of the Riviera Maya Suites team alone, I would probably recommend it as a place to stay.
---
To summarize, If you are looking to spend four times as much to stay at an all-inclusive with terrible food and lots of drunk partiers, the Suites are probably not for you. But if you are looking for a great place to stay with many of the comforts of home (plus a daily room cleaning service), there's no reason to look any further. The Riviera Maya Suites made our vacation a wonderful and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkphillipsgipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

The Riviera Maya Suites is the ONLY place to consider staying in Playa! It is a beautiful facility that is located at the north end of 5th avenue. The ammenities provided in the room offer you the option to relax, cook, enjoy the views or just hang out. Unlike most hotels, you will immediately feel like your in a home setting that helps you to unwind quicker to find that easy going pace that all vacationers look for. The outstanding service of the staff, the hospitality of the front desk and the efforts made to ensure the suites are updated and stocked is apparent from the first moment you arrive. I would highly recommend staying at the Riviera Maya Suites to anyone planning on traveling to Playa.
Jeff
Denver Colorado

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocitawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This is our 3rd stay here and we feel very much at home. The staff, especially wonderful simona, is excellent - courteous, friendly, super efficient, helpful. Any problem in the apartment is corrected almost immediately. We are very comfortable in this beautiful setting. If we could move our apartment a little closer to the beach, it would be perfect. Having a washing machine and dryer in the apartment makes a huge difference and we love the little pool. We are always sad to leave and look forward to next year. Thank you to Simona for making our stay the best ever.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Riviera Maya Suites was suggested by our travel agent. It was an excellent choice. Situated in one of the best locations of Playa del Carmen: 1/2 block from the shopping district, but still just a short walk to the beach. The suites are surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens, so even though the noisy night life is just a block away, we enjoyed quiet evenings in the suites. The suites were well equipped, clean, and modern. Staff was also friendly and accommodating. We prepared several meals in the suites when we were too tired to eat out. We rented a car, making Playa del Carmen a perfect central point for Cozumel, Tulum, Coba, Xcaret or Xel Ha.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigtee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We had a very wonderful time. We were with four young adults (18 to 21) and we were very comfortable in the 3-room condos with a very nice and large balcony and a magnificient view on the ocean. It was so quiet that it seems we were alone in the building. Very good service and the condo was very clean. Room service every day. Not very far from the grocery so we could have breakfast and lunch on the balcony. We appreciated very much the Las Palapas resort which beach chairs and shade were available any time during the day. `People at Las Palapas were very nice and easy going. No need to get up early to have chairs or a nice place on the beach like all those big resorts. We we closed to either the beach or the 5th avenue (3 minutes walk) and it was greatly appreciated. There are high-level restaurants in Playa Del Carmen and fun place to go out for nightlife. The staff and the Riviera Maya suites is very nice and always want to help or make you stay as enjoyable as possible. No need to rush to go out on the last day, we have been able to able to enjoy time on the beach til noon and leave the condo around 2 o'clock. We would return anytime and already recommanded it to many of our friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vezaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Excellent! We normally stay at Las Palapas when in Playa del Carmen. Because Las Palapas was full, we looked at Hotel Maya Riviera Suites. Beautiful and fully equiped condos overlooking the gardens and the Caribbean. Walking distance to 5th Avenue. Access to the Las Palapas amenities and beach, which is by far the best beach in Playa del Carmen. Riviera Maya Suites offers all the benefits of a high-end hotel while also providing the privacy and comfort of your own home. Would definately stay with Riviera Maya Suites again and would recommend to anybody going to Playa del Carmen!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,882 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#123 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#108 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#68 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Maya Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Maya Suites

Address: Av 32 Norte S/N | between 1st and 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £73 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Maya Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Maya Suites has 12 exclusive apartments of two and three bedrooms, specially designed for family vacations by the owners of the well known Hotel Las Palapas, pioneers at Playa del Carmen. The apartments are fully equipped with high quality appliances, in order to fulfill all your needs and exceed your expectations. At Riviera Maya Suites you will enjoy an unforgettable experience at the Mexican Caribbean, taking advantage of the great location of our vacation rentals, only a few steps away from the beautiful white sand beach fringed by turquoise, crystal clear Caribbean water, where you can choose from an ample range of water activities like scuba diving and snorkeling at the Ccoral Rreef, yachting on Caribbean Sea, amazing sport fishing, and many others.Also, as Riviera Maya Suites guest, you will enjoy access to the private beach club, and all the facilities of the famous Hotel Las Palapas, the perfect place to laid back and enjoy the sun, the ocean breeze trough palm trees, and the magical atmosphere that can only be found at the particularity of Playa del Carmen, México.The building has a nice private swimming pool and is equipped with an elevator servicing from the covered parking lot of the semi basement to the three apartment floors.The roof has been designed as a solarium, from there and particularly from the third floor penthouses you can enjoy a spectacular view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea.The building offers 2 or 3 bedroom Suites. Each bedroom has a private bathroom. The main bedroom has one king size bed, the second bedroom has 2 double beds, the third bedroom has 2 individual beds. We can offer cribs and extra bed. There is a large living and dining room and nice balcony with chairs, table and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Maya Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Maya Suites Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing