We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing is Everything”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Timing is Everything”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I picked the wrong week to visit. Storms all week, and not much to do except lie around watching TV and reading. However, what everyone says is true--the hotel employees are the best! The location is great and the beach is lovely, too. Not too crazy about the super firm bed, but I guess that's a matter of taste. Don't hesitate to book this hotel, you won't regret it. Just chose your dates carefully.

Room Tip: the bungalows look great, but I'm sure glad I booked a room with a TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waleilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hola Waleilia,

Thank you very much for writing a review for Petit Lafitte and for saying a lot of nice things about us, even when your stay was affected by inclement weather. It is very unfortunate for some travelers, but we have had record rains for September and October. Typically, we do not have more than a day or maximum two of intermittent rain in our rainy season, but what you experienced was completely unprecedented. We don’t expect to have another season like that in many years. Thank you for recommending us and for being able to perceive beauty under such conditions.

Sincerely,

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    258
    72
    10
    6
See reviews for
514
712
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We chose Petit Lafitte primarily because of the overwhelmingly positive staff reviews. Our decision proved a good one. The resort was exactly what we hoped for physically—minimilast yet comfortable, with a/c, a restaurant, and a beachside bar—but it's hard to really "get" what most are saying about the staff until one experiences them first-hand. The people working at Petit Lafitte—from the behind-the-scenes kitchen, grounds, and housekeeping staff to the frontlines concierge, reception, reservations, waiters & bartenders—go above and beyond the motions of stellar service and put real heart and soul into what they do. While we loved our comfortable ocean front bungalow, the beach, hammocks, margaritas, and the ceviche, it was the people— David, Luis, Lorena, Victor, Jesus, Manual, Martin, Javier, Valdez, Anotonio, and so many others whose names we do not know, that made our stay truly remarkable, and guaranteed a repeat visit from us. If you want to stay somewhere that has a beating heart and a soul to go with its beautiful beach and comfortable accomodations, look no further than Petit Lafitte.

Room Tip: We loved our ocean front bungalow, and our friend loved her room across from the pool. The bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Roxie M,

Gretings to the Fog city folks,
We are so honored to receive your review. It means a lot to us to hear that our work individually and as a group stands out to the point where guests wish to comeback and bring more friends to stay with us. For the rest, it seems that you enjoyed the facilities, the quiet beach and the food. We are already looking forward to your next visit, and hope you bring many friends as we trust they will end up liking the Petit Lafitte atmosphere and style.

Be well and see you soon!

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is one of the best hotels we ever stayed. Extremely friendly staff, excellent bungalows, great view on the sea, very personal service, great beach, great food, great service and a very personal and friendly atmosphere. The staff remembers even your name, speaks several languages and does all to make your stay most comfortable. The Petit Lafitte is a small paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hello Christa!

We are very happy to know that we are now having guests from Austria and more so since you seem to have appreciated the spirit of Petit Lafitte: Making you feel at home, but with great comfort, food and service, (and remembering our your names) is what we aim to do and you seem to have perceived that. Cheers to that! We are so honored by your using of the words small paradise to depict us. Cheers to that too.

Now you have Austrian winter ahead of you but from here we will be sending warm happy thoughts.

Happy trails and thank you,

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Petit Lafitte Hotel is a safe and very hospitable hotel. The staff is extremely nice, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are clean and have amazing views. The showers have great water pressure and plenty of warm water.

The beach in front is gorgeous. White sand with crystal clear blue water. They keep the beach clean and have numerous hammocks and lounge chairs. You can get a massage in a private canopy right on the beach too!!

You are about 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Easy taxi drive but to be honest the food for dinner is out of this World. Four course meal of some of the best Mexican food that I have ever tasted. My family ate at the Hotel and then walked around Playa del Carmen at night.

I would highly recommend this Hotel. Great for Families and Couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 919Tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hola Tanya,

Muchas gracias for your brief yet pretty explanatory depiction of your Petit Lafitte experience. We hope that when you are in Carolina you can go in your mind to Petit Lafitte, (Hey that sounds like a song line!!), thank you for your wonderful words and for your review

We hope you return someday!

Best Regards

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Petit Lafitte is about 15 minutes north of Playa del Carmen and a hidden piece of quiet paradise among big resorts! At times we had the beautiful beach to ourselves and could sit under a palapa or in a hammock and listen to the waves lap the shore! We stayed in one of the bungalows. They are rustic but clean and with air conditioning. It was nice not to have a TV and to just unplug! Because the resort is small the staff knows everyone and are very helpful! It was nice that my teens were able to wander around and order lunch and sodas at the beach bar and the staff took good care of them and us. If you are looking to get away from the big all-inclusives this is a nice slice of paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hola Julie,

How nice to get your review and see that you had a lovely family vacation with us. Your kids were well mannered and that made it easy to take care of their needs. It is nice to see when teens can enjoy a place like ours, where you are more in touch with nature and you realize that you really don’t need a television. Sure, if somebody needs t.v.s the the standard rooms are a better choice. Being small has a lot of benefits, probably the main one is the possibility of getting to know just about every guests in the house, know their names, know about their walks of life, their homes and such. It is part of the fun of Petit Lafitte. We have built along the years, relationships that have endured the test of time and a lot of our guests tend to repeat. That alone says about developing a especial connection.

We are so glad you discovered that and are now part of the Petit Lafitte family,

Truly hope our paths cross again!

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during mid July this year. We had a room in the main building. The room was clean and comfortable with a safe, tv which we never turned on, small fridge with purified water. The bathroom was very clean, everything worked, the shower had plenty of hot water and pressure, no issues there at all. Adequate supply of towels. Aircon was rather noisy but we do not have it on all night anyway, as it gets too cold.
Breakfast was included in the room rate, it was perfectly adequate with various options available for eggs and French toast, waffles etc and the usual offerings as part of the buffet.
The welcome at reception was unexpectedly mediocre, reception was manned by two young women who were not very efficient or welcoming. They did not inform us of very important things eg to only use the bottled water for brushing teeth. Thankfully David found us later and filled in the gaps in what we should have been told. He was very good and the only person at the hotel who made us feel welcome. Javier at breakfast was also very nice but the other staff were not that friendly. The barman was quite busy surfing the net when we wanted a drink, looks as if he was shopping for a car, If a barman has his back to you while you wait to order a drink and surfs the net, it is does not make you feel very welcome. When we did get our drink, it was very good. There is a daily happy hour.

The hotel grounds are lovely, the swimming pool is really nice, the hammocks are a delight to sit on, the gardens are well kept with beautiful plants. The proximity to the beach is wonderful and the seating area near the sea is a lovely spot to have your cocktail.
Getting to the hotel from Playa del Carmen was easy although we were surprised at the unmade road section, which was not nice to drive through, but it is only a very small part of the road, the rest is fine. We thought we would never find the hotel in the dark but in fact we had no problems.
Wifi was an issue, we reported that we could not get connection in the main areas of the hotel nor our room. It was fixed by the next morning though.
The beach itself is average I would say. I am not saying that because there are a few rocks in front of the hotel, this is not an issue at all. It is because the sea water is not clear and was not inviting. It could have been the time of year as other photos make the water seem much bluer and nicer than it was when we were there.
The biggest disappointment was the food. We only ate one evening meal there and it was the most expensive we had whilst in Playa and the most disappointing. It was billed as a Mexican barbecue. It was not nice at all; guacamole served at the buffet in a big pyrex dish with an ice cream scoop so you can help yourself and other salsas with nachos, followed by things that had been cooked in foil and piled up on the barbecue. I had the grouper which is a fantastic fish which had been obliterated by this cooking method. How can this be done to a grouper? I just didnt know what to have with it since the accompaniments were so few, a grilled spring onion, boiled corn on the cob. I can make a better barbecue at home. Why serve food in pyrex dishes when Mexico is full of beautiful ceramics? The menus the previous evenings were not inspiring at all, things like mushroom soup followed by spaghetti bolognese. I make spaghetti bolognese after work when I can't think what else to cook and do not expect it in Mexico as the main course in a hotel restaurant.
If the food issue could be sorted, this could be a fantastic place. The small niggly issues like aircon and unfriendly reception staff can all be overlooked, but not the food. With the stiff competitiion from AI hotels, they really need to step up to the mark.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fru_sorteravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear fru_sorteravn,

We always appreciate when we receive seasoned travelers like you, who have developed a tasteful and a bit more demanding standpoint than the majority of the guests. It is easy to become overconfident with raving reviews and every now and then a review like yours serves us a great deal in the humility department.
With that said, I am glad to inform that your observation on the two women who were covering the reception is so valid that they are no longer with us. One went back to her true calling as a writer and the other left after she got married. They were meant to be temporary solutions for us at the front desk after our front man took a job offer he couldn’t refuse. Yes, we were aware of their shortcomings, and accepted the situation while we looked for more permanent solutions. The situation there has been corrected.
We also can see the situation you report about the bartender. Both our bartenders have been with us for a long, long time. And again a little overconfidence surfaces from time to time. A long time ago, we had removed internet from their computer but apparently with the arrival of a new one, the internet surf engine came back. We are suggesting to our management that the internet is removed from both restaurant and bar computers and BTW on the same note, we have made mandatory the restriction for staff use of cell phones during work hours this is something that more and more has become a problem pretty much everywhere you go. We have taken measures.
Food issues, wow, we are very sorry to hear that you thought one of our favorite house meals was not at all pleasant for you. We have spoken with our Cheff to moderate the use of condiments especially on the fish. And we are adding zucchini and potatoes to the BBQ menu.
Spaghetti Bolognese, will be removed from the menu. We will keep a pasta dinner once a week but not spaghetti Bolognese.
About the water not being as clear as you see in pictures, well there are times when the weather, affects the clarity in the water. Stirring the sand from the bottom, it is a temporary condition and it doesn’t last more than 2-3 days.
We appreciate that you think that taking care of food issues and a glitch here and ther would make Petit Lafitte a fantastic place.

Thanks a lot for your visit and for your comments.

Sincerely,

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We found Petit Lafitte on Trip Advisor and that was our luck!
We are Alex and Yana, we stayed at PL during march 2013. This place made our vacation unforgettable. We spent 2 amazing weeks with lovely Maya-Mexican family! The people who is working there is the main treasure of this hotel!

David and Javier are simply amazing!!! We were in love with them! They do their work two hundred percent and what is most important, they put life into their work! They are always sprightly, smiling and ready to help. Thanks to them our every single morning started wonderful and every evening finished unforgettable! Baldemaro is the funniest waiter and bartender, he is a king of the bar=))) He always amused us and elicited our smiles just with his appearance!
Altogether all the staff is incredible: the receptionists, the cooks, the waiters and even room attendants! It is so hard to find such comfortable and family atmosphere like in PL! all our requests were performed right away, our every single question was answered entirely clear. David’s advice and tips always were very useful and helpful.

We liked the whole hotel so much! The housekeeping was regular and clean. The rooms are not luxury but very cozy and well equipped. Every room has a terrance or balcony. Next time we will take a beach front bungalow. The beach is beautiful and you can easily find vacant sun loungers there. The hotel also have a small lovely Zoo!!! We even fed the birds with special papaya=)
We also liked live music. It was two times a week in the evenings. Wish it was every evening! The music was perfect!
My husband liked the massage so much! It is on the beach with all these beautiful sounds and views of the Caribbean Sea…
At the breakfast there was always a good variety of fresh fruit, some fresh juices, good buffet and a big menu for hot dishes. At the dinner there was always a choice and sometimes we had a hot buffet with some traditional Mexican food.
The hotel is situated in the distance from the town of Playa del Carmen, but we were driving, so its quiet location suited us very well.
In-room wifi was not very good, but at the reception it was always perfect.

We liked Mexico and Yucatan so much. But the main point of interest was our hotel!!!
We miss you!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Yana and Alex,

We don’t have a lot of Russian guests at Petit Lafitte, but so far, the ones we’ve had seemed to have liked the peaceful, un-crowded atmosphere and the laid back approach of our staff. We agree that David and Javier, stand out among a group of solid, well mannered and attentive employees, David has started his career with us back in the late 70s. and so did Javier, after a few walkabouts in the area, they both have returned to their home where they now shine. The same happens with most of the other workers who have devoted their life’s work to Petit Lafitte. That is why they feel like a family and show that closeness between them. You seem to have enjoyed about every aspect of Petit Lafitte, the simple yet comfortable and cozy rooms, the food, the beach, the “zoo” (let me clarify that it is an animal refuge center) and even the distance from the hotel to the center of town.

Once again, thank you very much for your visit and for writing about it, we hope that we start creating an increasing русский clientele.

Kind Regards
I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,746 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
694 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing