We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I were traveling to Tankah with a group of friends for a week. We wanted to find a quite place for the two of us to relax after the fun group adventure. Petit Lafitte was the perfect choice. We loved the property as well as all the staff. The food was fantastic too. We would (and already have) recommend this low key resort.

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of the trip in a king garden view room and then four nights at the end of the trip in a beach front bungalow. I highly recomend the bungalow, however the rooms are great as well. All units are close to the beach and pool.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tommyg6482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hola Mr tomyg6482,

We hope the December Holidays, were filled with health, good company and joy.
It looks like the winter is coming on strong. Try and stay warm and keep your PL pictures near for those gloomy days. We see that you were able to appreciate and enjoy the simplicity of Petit Lafitte, along with the staff, the food, the location and even two different rooms during your stay.
Thank you so very much for recommending us, If you have more friends wishing to escape from the frigid winter, you know where to find us, we will be honored to provide a very nice experience for them as well.

Have a wonderful 2014, and may your travels be many and happy!

Warm Regards,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    249
    71
    9
    6
See reviews for
488
678
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just got back from another wonderful trip to Petite Lafitte! Even though we know there are other great beaches to visit, we find ourselves returning to Playa again and again because we don't think there's a better place to stay! The atmosphere is extremely casual and laid back. The staff is friendly and helpful and always goes out of their way to make our stay outstanding! The food is fantastic! Huge fan of the banana pancakes and and fresh fruit. Petite is a small, boutique hotel and that's the way we like it! You never have to search for a beach chair, or a spot at the bar. The guests all tend to be repeat visitors and I love how everyone gets to know each other while there. It really is the best, most relaxing place to stay! i can't wait to get back in one of the numerous hammocks on the property! See you again in May Petite!

Room Tip: The bungalows are great and very homey and private but the rooms are very nice as well! There reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ABriggs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Señor Briggs 13,

Thank you very much for your very positive, very eloquent review. We are honored that you have become a repeat costumer to both Riviera Maya and Petit Lafitte. The way you put it, shows all the little aspects that become the big pluses of a vacation here. A good hammock on the beach, after banana pancakes served next to slices of fresh fruit, by a friendly waiter who knows you by name in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Excellent summary of the main experiences.
Thank you very much for sharing and yes, we are already looking forward to your May 2014 return.

Have a great New Year!

Sincerely,

I.Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were in this hotel in past march. All was grate, especially the servise, the location and the friendly staff. We liked very much having long walks on the beach. The room was simple but comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hvala Mojca!

We are delighted to read your brief, yet positive review for Petit Lafitte. We hope your return to Slovenia was pleasant and that the European winter, is treating you kindly. We are glad you liked the hotel’s service, location and your long walks on the beach. Now that you found us, we hope you find your way back whenever you begin missing the nice sandy beach, good food and service.
Best Wishes!

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I had a really good time in this hotel in which we stayed a week (bungalow).
The staff was very friendly and helpful with any question or activity/organisation. The bungalow was perfect: calm, air conditioned, cleaned daily and enough swimsuit storage space...
We got an October deal and it was really good value, breakfasts and dinners were included and we ate really well. We had a very large choice of Mexican styled breakfasts and the dinner menu changed every day, with constant quality. Deserts were not the best we've had but we usually weren't hungry for it any way.
Other guests were quiet and respectful, no big parties or loud music.
The beach was nice, we didn't use the one just in front of the hotel as the ocean wasn't clear enough to avoid the small rocks; but with a little walk on the beach (north) we could enjoy the warm water and (very) little waves.
The only downside of the hotel was its location. At first we didn't think we would need to rent a car but with all the activities we were willing to do, we needed to go to the center of the village every day and taxis aren't that cheap (around 18USD one way)!
But I guess that that's the price to pay for a quiet holiday and personalized service (we didn't want to go in an all-in resort where guests are just numbers).
Next time we're in Playa, we're definitely going back to Petit Laffite, and we'll probably rent a car for the week.

Room Tip: Bungalows are the best choice but don't necessarily need to be right on the beach (they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vriass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Vriass,

We owe you a thank you note for choosing Petit Lafitte for your fall vacation as a couple and for writing a very positive review for us. The Perfect stay? We like that! In the end, as I often tell people, perfection is a way of perceiving, it is more inherent to the observer than the subject, it has a lot more to do with what you were told you were buying and what you received. We aim at creating perceptions of: “These guys gave us more than what we expected.” That is why we work a lot with the intangible, meaning, a smile, a good tone in the voice, a good attitude, just as much as with some more tangible items, like the food, cleanliness, gardens and such. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR NOTICING! And for your promising remark about a possible return when you visit Riviera Maya again.
We wish you a delightful Christmas celebration tonight and a happy 2014, filled with happy travels, and more perfect stays!

On behalf of all the staff,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I have never been to Mexico and was invited to join our very good friends at Petite Lafitte for their wedding ceremony. From making the online reservation to the end of our visit the service and commitment of the staff was excellent. The breakfast and dinner included in our package was of the highest quality and we will recommend it to anyone. We stayed for 8 nights and wished we could stay for another 10!! We are definitely going back!

Room Tip: We loved the ocean view bungalow - it was private and close to everything. We are more outdoor peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Berdine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hola Berdine B,

It was great to have the whole Oregonian, plus South African and Mexican bunch for María and Werner’s wedding. We enjoyed the nice assortment of cultures, stories and diversity. We feel close to all the attendees and know in our hearts that we will meet again. Thank you for the nice stories, and the moments shared (and the Tequila!!) for such a unique moment in the lives of M&W.

Love to you all,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this hotel. The beach is beautiful. The food and hospitality were wonderful. Very affordable too! The hotel offers an authentic feel - old world charm yet its comfortable and clean. The amenities are good. No problem with Air conditioning, clean linens; clean pool; hot water; transportation if needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Kathym,

We are glad that even though your visit was primarily to attend a wedding, you had fun and enjoyed the service, food and non-pretentious atmosphere that we create at Petit Lafitte. Thank you for such kind commentary and commendations. Hope to see you again on a future (next time) vacation.

Warm regards

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent 8 nights at Petit Lafitte with a half-board package in room 503 (sea view, king size bed). The breakfast was good (fruit, cereal, yoghurt buffet and a choice of eggs to order). The 4-course evening meal was good, abundant and varied, with buffets at least twice a week. The selection of food for lunch was sufficient and reasonably priced. The staff were incredibly friendly and were kind to children. They asked what our names were on the first day and remembered it from the start. They were amazingly efficient. When we asked for extra pillows and hangers, they were delivered within minutes. They maintained the beach clean. The pool was wonderful. We were not very lucky with the weather, but there were umbrellas in the rooms, and surprisingly not too many mosquitoes. We would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms (at least, the only one we saw) need a little bit of work to make them really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Kilese,

To be sincere, not a lot of French guests come to Petit Lafitte, compared to other nationalities. We always enjoy receiving guests from Europe and are excited when we see that our formula works for them just as well. We are glad you liked the food, the breakfasts, the variety and the reasonable prices of lunch specialties. Of course we are very content with your depiction for the staff service. We wish that your comments serve to attract more French travelers for 2014.

Thank you for trying us and for sharing your review in this forum.

Sincerely

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing