We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I've ever enjoyed”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #8 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Fostoria, OH, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best I've ever enjoyed”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed there for 5 nights with 2 young grandchildren and must say that out of 7 trips to the area over the years, Petit Lafitte was by far the best. Not only was the food consistently wonderful, but it was a great feeling to be in a place that was really safe. The kids loved it, ate like pigs (even fruits and vegetables), and enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and other people who were staying there. It could only be more perfect if the driveway were paved.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CarolfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dearest CarolfromOhio,

Your review is very, very special, as it shows that you have been to the area 7 times, therefore you know it well and after all this years you decided to try us and found it to be the best vacation in this area!
How sweet to be traveling with your young grand children and see them have such a good time in a very safe, environment. You see, some reviewers mention that the place seems to not have a lot of activities for children, you are living proof that a lot of what we think children “need” maybe something that is created in our minds. We often tend to create and elaborate too much around a subject or creating our own spaces. We often forget that back to basics and simplicity are fertile ground for peacefulness and relaxation, yes, kids need more action, but hey! The dive-shop, the animal refuge center located near the hotel. The ocean, the beach, the swimming pool, and the nearby attractions like the parks and archeological sites are often sufficient for just about any kid. Then again, for those who love technology, there is the wi-fi and the t.v, but why come this far from home and be trapped inside a screen?

Thank you for your kind comments about the food and the staff: As for the road, the municipal government is working on paving more than two thirds of the access road as I write this, it is supposed to be finished in about a month.

Thank you so much for your preference and we truly hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ivan Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    260
    73
    11
    6
See reviews for
522
723
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My partner, friends, family, and I spent a full week at Petit Lafitte based on the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and the photos posted by previous guests. Yes, the value offered was a huge attraction and the staff delivered every day. The staff does indeed learn your names and greet you accordingly with a smile and lovely Mexican hospitality. The grounds were impeccably maintained, the pool sparkling, and public spaces clean and well appointed.

As for the food included in your rate, lunch was by far their best meal offered. Eating their grilled tacos made to order with quite reasonable beverages both alcoholic and non made every lunch a treat with the waves and water steps away. Breakfast is predictable and offer both savory and sweet items for most pallets. Dinner could use a makeover as I think they try to get a little fancy, which is not necessary for this type of relaxed beach resort. The great news is, if you prefer, you can use your two included daily meals for any meals you choose. We decided to go into Playa for dinner a couple nights just to shake it up a bit.

As for rooms, our room was kept exceptionally clean and our bungalow was quite spacious. Our front porch overlooking the ocean was simply icing on the pastel! I'm not sure if this is the right choice for younger children due to the chill vibe and lack of child related activities, however, many travelers prefer a more adult environment, myself included.

For a traveller that researches their destinations, resorts, etc. with great care for detail I would say BOOK HERE AND GET READY TO ENJOY A LOVELY HOLIDAY! If you want Ritz-Carlton level bedding and other accoutrements then you should consider booking at the Rosewood Mayakoba, however, I think you lose the Mexican flavor, culture, and experience walled into a ultra-luxe resort sometimes. Also, their nightly rates are considerably higher.

We loved Petit Lafitte and plan on returning for another week getaway soon! Thank you to all of the staff for a vacation we all badly needed and we couldn't have felt more welcome and appreciated.

Room Tip: If you are going for value reserve the rooms in the main building near the pool and bar for a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NolaTraveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Nolatraveler,

I just read about snow in Lousiana?? Wow, unheard of ! We won’t tell you about the weather here! (We’ll be sympathetic.)
I wanted to say thank you for taking part of your valuable time to write a review for Petit Lafitte. We are so glad that you trusted the reviews you read right here! Sure, Trip Advisor is a very reputable source of first hand info about places!!
So you were here with friends, family and partner! You forgot no one! We are listening carefully to your comments for our food, the things we should preserve untouched and the ones that need some fine tuning. One thing I want to clarify is that we do not have a continuous offer of “pick which two meals you want during your stay” it is more like we are open to the possibility of making an exception so you can try a night in town or so. You see, we buy most of our produce fresh and we buy it one day in advance, the vendor knows we will pick it up and backing out on our pre-ordered food, would cause some problems. So we don’t want to encourage the format of choosing the two meals, we work on a dinner and breakfast included. The option, is again, an exception, an option. After all we are here to create an unforgettable experience, one that people find themselves saying: “Hey, let’s do this again sometime.” We are honored and delighted to see you just put that in writing. So, with that thought in mind, let us wish you a wonderful 2014, with nice experiences, adventures, travels and perhaps a return to PL…
or
as we say in Mexico:
“Mi casa es su casa.”

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After going to the Riviera Maya for 15 yrs. we decided to trust Trip Advisor reviews and opted for Petit Lafitte. As we have often found in Dec. on the Caribbean side, the weather was not good, but the hospitality was wonderful. I am an avid beach walker, and I could walk to the north for a decent walk but it was not as desirable to the south. I have to be honest and say I missed a few of the amenities of a higher end resort (no coffee maker, refrig was only cool, no ice; shower only had cold water first day) The staff cannot be complimented enough; they were simply the best! If you're looking for a rustic, quiet and back-to-basics place, Petit Lafitte is the place for you. It actually reminded me more a "northwoods" retreat, but with a beautiful beach and palm trees instead of pine trees! My only other advice is that if you have children, the night time meal may be a little challenging as you are limited to the two choices,so bring along a few supplemental snacks.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank forrestIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hola Forrestillinois,

We are very happy to hear that you are a regular visitor to Riviera Maya, certainly one of the most attractive spots in all of Mexico. Mayan culture, archeological sites, cuisine and traditions, along with the input of a vibrant, growing and cosmopolitan population, not to mention the main attraction, the Caribbean turquoise waters and soft white sand beaches, make it “the place” to visit in Mexico. Among all the hotels, from all kinds and levels of luxury, we are a family owned “petit” resort and that is probably a big factor in our popularity. As you mention, service, is key, in the fundamental pillar of our philosophy and a factor that set us apart from the rest, no matter how big or small, simple of luxurious a hotel. :)
We have replaced all coffee makers from the rooms, the week you were here we were in the process of changing them. Good news they are back and they are brand new! We are also replacing (gradually) all the fridges, to compressor type which allow for keeping ice inside. One last note, we have a concierge, David Herrera, one of our faithful employees, who is available to provide answers and options to your needs. So for those travelers with children, speaking with David, is a good idea so he can coordinate the preparation of “kid friendly” food. Now If guests want to bring extra snacks…Sure, it’s a good idea!

Thank you for your commendations and for writing about your Lafitte Experience.
We wish you happy travels, love, health and success for this 2014.

I.Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 6 night stay at Lafite. Both exhausted and worn out from our jobs. The hotel could not have been a better place to relax and recharge. on our 1st night we were taken under the wings of a group of regulars who made us feel part of a group of long time visitors to Lafite. The staff couldnt have been nicer or more accommodating. Rooms were simple but comfortable and clean. beach was literally a stones throw from our balcony.

On anther note, I understand and "get" luxury hotels and accommodations. But after walking through the Viceroy next door. Couldn't figure out what would justify paying 4 to 5 times the room rate of Lafite. Most rooms at Lafite have better views, food at Lafite was excellent, fresh, simple and well prepared, and great bar with great service. what else do you need on a trip to Playa?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hola JamesM,

Happy New year!!
Thank you for visiting Petit Lafitte to say good bye to 2013!
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your couples' vacation and met some of the repeat costumers (a.k.a. as "Lafittistas") who readily took you under their wing and welcomed you.

So…you got to relax and restore some huh? Good, that is what we prioritize in our design. The hotel's amenities, design and atmosphere, along with the location, complemented by the staff and the food, were chosen to provide R&R. Thank you for appreciating that.
I won’t speak about our neighbors, they are designed for a different market and sure they have their clientele. But I agree, location, atmosphere and attentive staff, are key!

I hope 2014, rolls away with good health, love, happiness and travels for you, who knows, perhaps we’ll meet again?

Kind Regards,
Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

What a fantastic place. We wanted somewhere quiet where people know your name and that's what we got and we made some really good friends. We can't wait to go back. We had the best ocean view room which was fantastic in block 5 and I would have no complaints. Like others we thought this was basic on arrival but it had all the amenities we needed including a fridge, iron tv and hair dryer. The air conditioning was efficient but we mainly used the fan or could sleep with the windows open as the windows have screens.

We did two trips both arranged by the hotel who will arrange private tours or tours with a company. Nothing was too much trouble and if you leave before breakfast starts they will box you up a breakfast.

The ocean swimming was fantastic. Really warm with quite a few waves to play in.

We liked to food. Breakfast was great, lunch in or at cocoas next door ( which we really liked) great margaritas and then dinner. Dinner has two choices each night and twice a week a buffet/BBQ. The dinner was a bit mild for our taste but they would always offer the habenero sauce which certainly lived things up.

Can't wait to go back and thanks to everyone for their friendship and kindness.

Room Tip: 506 was the best room. It's the ocean premium view which has uninterrupted views of the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane64Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Jane64southhampton,

We are delighted to know that your opinion on Petit Lafitte, is this good!
As you probably gathered while being here, we are not part of a corporation, we are a family business that started a long ago (in the mid 70s) and has evolved into this little quaint, friendly beach spot.
Thank you for giving us the benefit of the doubt and trying us for your vacation as a couple. We hope that your intention of returning becomes a reality soon!

Meanwhile, have a great 2014!!

'Til we meet again!

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We just completed another wonderful trip to Petit.....a few highlights..

The staff, who year after year are so friendly and patient.

The weather ,we have found the first 2 weeks of December to be very good to us, lots of sun and not too much wind.Also a little slower and not at full capacity, the atmosphere very laid back and relaxed, lots of extra interaction with the staff and lots of smiles.

The best memory of the 8 nites, was a dinner for 12.... some repeat visitors that we have made friends with over the last few years from MN, Texas, New York, Santa Fe and some new friends from England. Wonderful food and conversation to the background of some great local talent playing acoustic guitar and violin.

We have never been to a place where the guests are so open and friendly with each other. Petit, you have made yourself into a special and wonderful experience that stands out in the middle of the all inclusive madness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivinsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear ivinsfan,

As I write a response to your comment, I can’t help but to think of what the winter in Willmar MN. can be. I hope the warm memories of your recent Petit Lafitte venture, serve to keep you warm and with a goal of returning for yet another visit in 2014. The only other thing to say, I believe, is that it takes an open hearted, friendly person to attract another, and those who arrive at Petit Lafitte, find themselves readily trusting each other and sharing the table, conversations, margaritas and stories. Thank you for being part of that.

Until we meet again!

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

After reading so many great reviews on TripAdvisor, my husband and I booked our stay. We were looking for peace, tranquility, and sun - an escape from our daily rat race. Since it was a short trip (we took no days off, flying on Thankgiving day & returning that Sunday; taking advantage that Philadelphia is a US Airways hub, for an early morning direct flight, landing us on the beach that afternoon) - we did not participate in any sightseeing that would require scheduling & rushing around. Please note - all interesting locations (Chichen Itza, Tulum, etc) are easily reached from Petite and quickly arranged for you - including massage services on the beach.

They will happily help you arrange transport (or you can do directly from their website), which has the option of stopping off on the way at a convenience store - we did this to have snacks & beer available in our room fridge. Our driver, Raúl, kindly also stopped off at a roadside taco stand, run by a family of Mayans, for lunch after our morning travels. It was delish (beware the hot sauce)!

We chose a King sea view room, directly across the beach bar, with a heavenly view (preferring the TV in lieu of the bungalows which do no have this amenity for those choosing more off-the-grid stays). We left the sliding glass door open every night, sleeping to the sound of the ocean and never needing to turn on the AC.

The room-rate included breakfast and dinner were excellent! And my profound compliments to the chef, who prepared an amazing turkey dinner with all the trimmings, even though this is not a Mexican tradition, foreign to their cuisine. Breakfast was also magnificent, with tons of fresh fruit, cereals, and a full menu to order from of local/Mayan dishes as well as simpler plates for a non-adventurous palate.

The staff was extremely courteous, servicing every need and request. The wifi worked great - the one day it went down due to high winds, it was quickly addressed by a technican called in. And the beach was perfect - with rock free areas for swimming. As we walked North & South on the coast, we realized what a perfect patch this location was - so many other properties had either rocky beaches not apt for swimming or packed with so many guests they were all like sardines without any privacy. Lunch is offered at extremely reasonable prices and there's nightly happy hours (our tab throughout the weekend, even excluding happy hour liquor pricing was very economical).

There is even a lovely zoo on the property, with dozens of bird, deer, and even wild boar species. We also very much enjoyed speaking to all the other guests, one lovely couple from as far away as Slovenia.

We highly recommend Lafite Petitte and will gladly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 500 block building, 2nd from the water - excellent view and closest to our favorite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Laura,

So, now there is an easy access flight from Philly? Nice!!! And more so because you took advantage of it and also are sharing your experience with TripAdvisor readers. After all, you found us right here on this site and if the saying is right: What goes around…
Thank you for sharing!
It is fair to say that you were looking for an escape for your daily rat race. We are designed with that as a priority. Fair to say this is not a big party-party place. But you found exactly what aim to provide: Very good service and food.
Funny, your depiction of the nearby all-inclusive with their hundreds or lounge chairs and…Well you already said it! Ha,ha,ha, the good news is that they all have their clientele as well, again, as the saying goes: different strokes…
I’m sure those types wouldn’t appreciate non pretentious simple beauty and warmth. We are honored and glad you do!

We are already looking forward to your tentative return! Now you know where to find us!
Have a wonderful New Year, filled with many happy travels

Warm Regards,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,838 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,430 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing