We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #9 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I spent five days at Petit Lafitte in Feb 2014. Service, proximity to the beach, good bar and friendly staff were all very impressive attributes. Breakfast was 'full menu' and quite good. Dinner seemed to alternate between buffet and a choice of a couple entrees. It was decent but, being from Chicago, we were looking for a little more diversity/quality. Coco's next door had amazing food and top shelf liquor so make sure to check it out if you stay at Petit.

Cabs into town usually costed 20 each way which felt a bit pricey to us. We also found Playa to be very 'toursity.' We enjoyed the Petit beach and bar scene to be perfect for what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the bungalow with the garden view. It was just steps from the beach and a much better pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear JKIshmael,

Thank you for your helpful review, we know fellow Chicago travelers, expect good food (and awesome music!) We work with fresh produce and that limits variety a bit. But we gain in flavor and textures. Thank you for liking our staff. Service, location and bar ambiance and we are glad we ended up being what you were looking for.

Be well and hopefully we will see you on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Warm Regards,

Ivan Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We decided to return for another winter get-away and overall we weren't disappointed yet some things have changed. First, we both (my husband and I) agreed the food quality had changed. Although we would rate it "fair" to "good" at times we definitely found generally the food isn't as delicious and quality of some items have gone down.
Also, some our most favorite and "devoted" long time staff are changing and it seems family members (?) or others are taking the place of the others who've worked @ la Fitte for years and have served BEYOND for guests. It seems the "internal structure" might be changing and bringing about changes in areas. Although we still recommend la Fitte we noticed these changes and hope for continued services and an improvement in food quality. Also, there were many families there which we love as the mix of ages & people is wonderful and it's size makes the resort an intimate atmosphere in which to actually get to know people! Yet for us this time we had our two-year-old grandson who really needed to have foods available throughout the day and we found the availability (lunch and dinner times strictly enforced) made it a stressor for young families needing food for young children. So we hope La Fitte will implement a new "Children's menu" throughout the day for all the families who stay. We will still most likely return, yet we are more likely to look around next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Maureen C.

Thank you for your sincere review. You are right in your perception of changes in some of the staff, a few of our old time collaborators have moved to other places and new jobs. This is somewhat inevitable, and of course when somebody who understands the philosophy of Petit Lafitte and knows every nick and corner of the hotel, the new ones will take a while to adjust and learn and adapt…I call it an “unlearning” process because certainly a lot of the new people already have an idea of how things should be done and Lafitte challenges those beliefs. So, to be fair, yes we are in a transition and we often talk about the new difficulties that we encounter as we change. Maintaining the ambiance, the quality and the service is definitely a commitment and you can trust that we will continue working on keeping the values and actions that have given us a name over the years. Thank you for bringing these issues up and have my word that we will continue in the direction of improving those aspects that make us stand out among so many hotel options in Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Ivan Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Jesus at the Petit Lafitte tikki bar makes a mean margarita! Not only that, the bungalows there are pretty sweet too. My wife and I stayed a fews days in bungalow numero uno right on the beach and completely enjoyed our stay. I will admitt, they are a bit "rustic". However, the ocean view, privacy and nightly breeze more than make up for the loss of a TV and a few beach ants.

The service here is well above average at this price level. The staff are all very traditional "old school" and they actually take pride in accomodating quest. They even tolerate very well the occasional unreasonable request. Not once did we experience a bad attitude or a resentment vibe for asking for something special which is rare find on any island within the caribbean.

The beach just north (approx 50 meters) of the resort has a large section of sandy access to the water which makes a nice spot to dip in. The water here is crystal clear and absolutely beautiful! Just be sure to watch out for sting rays who seem to enjoy the sandy beach bottom too...

Room Tip: If you are looking for fine dinning on the beach, check out the Viceroy just short walk south along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Big_Jablonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Mr Jablonsky (Loved that movie)

The good news is that you had a good time while vacationing with us. From the bar, to the margaritas, the service and good nature of our staff. Yes the bungalows do not have (nor will they have Tvs) we wish our guests spend more time away from silly news and useless information that TV provides, however, If there is an special event, like The Oscars, Superbowl, Olympics or something that may interest guest, we always can (and do) bring a TV to the bar, for the event in question. We are so glad that you stayed with us and shared your comments. In a small business like us, we depend on guests commendations for sure and yours is truly appreciated.

Best Wishes!

Ivan Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Decided to stay at this resort due to all the great reviews I had read. I wanted a small resort with a nice beach and not having to pay an arm and a leg to stay there. Petit Lafitte ticked all the boxes. We got a great winter special of 20% off the room so that was an added bonus for booking ahead - and chose to stay in the garden bungalow. If you have the extra money I would stay in the ocean bungalow - right out the front of the complex over looking a beautiful ocean (Our budget didn't quite stretch it but we spent every waking moment on the beach just about). Breakfast and dinner is included in the room, but drinks and lunch are extra. Prices are very cheap and we didn't worry about bring snacks with us (beer cost between $2-5, soft drinks $2 and cocktails $5.... lunch ranged from $8 up to $20 with things like french fries, nachos, tacos, hamburger, salads... everyone is catered for. Somedays we didn't even eat lunch because we were so full from breakfast).
There is enough lounge chairs on the beach and at the pool for everyone and shade is pretty plentiful but people still do the towel drop early in the morning to secure the best spots.
Short cab ride into town for those who want to shop (180 pesos standard rate one way) and the hotel will organise that for you.
Also a tip- organise your airport transfer through the hotel web page, quick simple, easy and effortless.... nothing to worry about except what will you drink when you arrive! :-)
Would definitely go again - love the small family feel!!

Room Tip: Ocean bungalow - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hola Redribbons,

Greetings to our Aussie guests!
We’re so glad that you followed Tripadvisor reviews to our doorstep and found that what you read was accurate. Now you are adding to those reviews and we wish to thank you not only for staying with us, but for sharing your point of view about Petit Lafitte with others.
Have a wonderful rest of the year 2014 and happy hassle free travels!!

Sincerely,

Ivan Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The beauty of this resort lies in its simplicity and the caring and helpful staff, beginning with David who greets you in the lobby.
This is no posh or fancy resort. It is clean, simple and most of all, very relaxing.
It is very small in size and within a very short time you will get to know many of the other guests and the wonderful staff who give this place personality.
We were here for our first time this February but it will not be our last time. Many of the guests have been coming here for years and a great many of the staff members have also been here for many years. That in itself says something is special about Petit Lafitte.
The rooms are simple and rustic but clean, with nice towels and linen. The housekeeping staff are very attentive and keep everything tidy for you. The chefs turn out meals that are tasty and beautifully presented. The waiters make every meal a fun event and are happy to help you learn a little Spanish along the way. Close to the beach, the little bar is staffed by a couple of great bartenders who will mix anything you want and even pick a little fresh mint from the herb boxes for your Mojito!
If you are looking for loud music, parties and a ton of booze - DO NOT go here. If you are looking for an intimate atmosphere, occasional live music and true Mexican hospitality - this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Bungalows 19 and 20 face their own little garden area. They are the farthest away but we found #20 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DelilahDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Delilah Duck,

Muchas gracias for your preference during your stay in Riviera Maya.
We are thrilled to know that you liked us enough to consider a repeat visit. I am sure the February Lafittista crew, was some sort of inspiration. Yes they’ve been coming for years, and the staff has also been loyal. That is part of the magic of PL. Besides the Mexican hospitality and the attention to detail that you illustrate in your mention of picking fresh mint leaves for your Mojito.

Thank you so much Canadian friends! See you next time.

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We decided to travel on Thursday to Playa and needed two nights somewhere before we moved to our Royal Hacienda villa. The trip from Cancun airport was about 45 minutes and as we left the main road, did a couple of turns and then ended up on a dirt road, we had a few misgivings. They were dispelled when we pulled up to the front door (actually there wasn't a door, just an open lobby) and were welcomed by Luis. He promptly checked us in and led us to our room. Baggage came shortly after. Nice room. We'd gone simple with two beds, sink, bathroom/shower. Larger accomodations were available. We arrived after breakfast was served and before dinner so we made our way to open bar on beach. Had one of the best cheeseburgers plus chips and delicious guacamole. The Golden Marguerita's weren't bad either. We then proceeded to the beach. Lots of room for beach lounge chairs. Palapas in and out of the sun. Hammocks too. Plenty of clear, sandy beach to swim out from. Minimal waves. The pool was very nice with a shallow end for the kids. lots of lounge chairs alongside. This is a small resort with maybe 50+ rooms (my guess) but what's unique is one side is "hotel" style building with hotel rooms, and the other side is made up of a couple of dozen bungalows for those who want more privacy. Nice accomodations on both sides. Breakfast and dinners are included in the price and breakfasts were sumptuous feasts where there was an entire sideboard loaded with juices/fruit/cereal/pastries and then there was also items ordered off the menu, eg omelets, pancakes, etc.... very nice. Since there was no bill, don't forget to tip the waiter in the tip box. Evening dinners consisted of two MAIN courses. Based on a two night sample, one was usually a beef choice and one fish/chicken. Plus the sideboard was loaded up once again with lots of salad choices, appetizer choices (antipasto was delicious) and plenty of deserts. Since dinner was paid for we splurged on a bottle of wine both nights. Surprisingly good choices on the list. Plese don't forget to tip though cuz you kinda forget. At least when I paid for the bottle of wine it reminded me to tip. The bar was a great place to have an evening drink, small, friendly and easy to chat up the fellow guests. Met on who'd been coming to resort for 30 years. Nice, cozy resort, far away from the noise of the street, tucked between two bigger resorts that you wouldn't know were there unless you walked the beach. Definitely on our "visit again" list. One amazing service note. Remembered last our first night that beds were hard, but a previous reviewer said we could get a pad. So went to Luis at front desk about 10PM but obviously it was too late but he said he'd get it next morning. Next morning we were on the beach under a palapa when a person came down to us and talked to me by name re the pad. On his way past my wife, he addressed her by her first name and said have a nice day. How the heck he learned my first name or my wifes, I'll never know but that shows you how far they will go to make you feel good about your visit. Amazing service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hola Rick A.

Well, reading your review one can gather how sometimes things happen for a reason. I mean, you were booked at another hotel, where you ended up having a wonderful time but needed a place for the first two nights and that is how you found us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy both hotels and had a great vacation in Riviera Maya, even when we are very different in styles and sizes. One thing to mention about the misgiving sensation after getting off the main road into the access road to Petit Lafitte is that the local government finally finished the re-paving of the road and now the situation is way better than it was in January!!!
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the welcoming feeling at arrival, the cheeseburger (I am proud to say that we are using my recipe :) The drinks, wine selection and especially the service. I am so glad that you told Luis about your need for extra padding on the bed! You see! It really makes a difference when there is communication!! You were able to discover how things are done here, what you experienced that morning when “somebody” came up to you on the beach to address the bed solution and called you by name, is exactly what we wish to show and work on. We are so glad you mentioned it!

We hope you come back to Riviera Maya again in the future and since we’re on your “visit again” list…We hope we get to see you again! We buy the first round!

Best Regards,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Petite Lafitte is our perfect beach place. It is small, intimate, very friendly, very lovely beach front, and has good food and extremely warm and wonderful staff. Our first visit was 2013, we came back this year, and have made plans for our 2015 visit. Peaceful, calm, relaxing. What more can you want?

Room Tip: We love the bungalows with their wonderful size, great front porches, and views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear James C,

We hope your return to Brooklyn was hassle free and that you endured the rest of the winter with the aid of the warm memories of Petit Lafitte. We are touched by the fact that you are talking about a third visit after your first 2013, visit.
We have set our sights on creating long lasting relationships with our guests and we have had some success with that endeavor. Evidently you are one of those cases where we all win!

Thank you for your kind commentary and for your loyalty.

Have a wonderful rest of the year and see you next winter!

Warm Regards,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,881 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,278 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#6 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
497 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,177 reviews
7.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £144 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing