We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hideaway away from the crowds”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hideaway away from the crowds”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lisa and I stayed a week at Petit Lafitte at the suggestion of a friend, and we were so very happy with almost everything. We had been looking for the perfect spot to get away from the snow and cold, and Playa Del Carmen in February sounded devine. We first went the route of looking at all the big all-inclusives, and were wowed by the variety, the extravagances, and the prices. And we were a little leery of them, because neither of us is a big drinker, and we really were not looking to hang with that crowd. As well, neither of us eats a lot, and while having multiple restaurants might be nice, it really seemed like overkill.
Then a friend of Lisa's heard about our plans, and what we were looking for, and suggested Petit Lafitte. We looked at the web site, and it looked more and more like what we were looking for. And we booked a bungalow as soon as the airline tickets were decided.
We were blown over by what we experienced. The atmosphere was so laid back, and the people (both staffs and other guests) could not have been nicer or more courteous. We were especially appreciative with David (the concierge) for giving us helpful hints, and helping us to set up a few of the excursions that we went on while we were there.
We ended up in Bungalow 10, a beach view bungalow that was only one cabin back from the beach, and we had wonderful views, and breezes. The room was wonderful, and provided everything we desired. And having no TV or other distractions was a godsend.
Lisa especially appreciated how easy it was to set up a beachfront massage. Just sign up for a slot in the book at the front desk, or just stroll over during the day when the masseuse wasn't busy. The masseuse had a lovely tough, and helped Lisa to get out of the hectic day-to-day work mode, and learn to just relax and do nothing...which is quite a trick.
Another nice thing we appreciated about Petit Lafitte that fit us perfectly was the restaurant. Unlike a lot of the big resorts, only breakfast and dinner is included. But for Lisa and I, that was more than enough. We tried something new almost every day for breakfast, and everything was quite tasty. And the dinners were relaxed and truly enjoyable, with a couple of tantalizing entrees to choose from every night. As I recall, the stuffed salmon we had the first night of our stay was delectable, and the Mexican buffet night allowed us to try little portions of lots of authentic Mexican dishes. And while we did not order a lot of alcohol while we were there, the wine selections with dinner were very good, and enhanced the meals.
After a glorious seven days at Petit Lafitte, Lisa and I decided that the only thing we would change is to add more chocolate desserts, and maybe cut back on the flan. But that is probably our American side showing through.
Needless to say, as we were waiting for our shuttle to take us back to our flight, we made sure to reserve the same bungalow and week for next year!

Room Tip: While the beachfront bungalows look wonderful, we were perfectly happy with the beach view bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cycling_Man2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Cycling_Man2009

Wow, so you made your reservation for next year’s return before you left??
I mean…what a great honor!!. Thank you so much. That is the best reward for our efforts in trying to create special moments for our guests. We are so glad that you and Lisa liked our little hidden spot on the beach for your week in Mexico’s Caribbean Coast and even happier that you took Lisa’s friend’s advice to visit us. You are right about the kind of guests that come here, they tend to be open minded, friendly people that are as enjoyable as the staff. That gives Petit Lafitte an extra dimension. Thank you for using our little spa services and speaking so highly of our masseuse.
As you know we all live on word of mouth commendations.

Thank you for your visit, your review and your already existing reservation for 2015.

Have a great rest of the year and enjoy your summer.

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    258
    72
    10
    6
See reviews for
513
712
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had been here once before, for only 2 nights, and we got invited to join a wedding reception happening that night! Almost everyone there had been coming back for years. This visit was for 3 nights, on the tail end of a seminar week at another hotel in Playa. Our next visit will definitely be for longer. So many good reasons! The staff is great, service friendly and good. Our ocean view from our room was priceless! It's such a small, lovely place, right on a gorgeous beach ! The food is very good also. Our last night was a Mexican buffet, with the best bean soup I've ever had! Bean soup that we're still talking about! I asked for poached eggs with my chilaquiles one morning, and got 2 perfectly poached orange yolk eggs that they put on tiny pancakes! The rooms are simple, and you do have to put your toilet paper in the waste basket, not the toilet, which may not be for everyone, but to me it's OK, because this is such a wonderful place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank chefnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Mr. chefnd,

Are you a chef? It sound like it , not only because of your nickname in this forum, but also because of your appreciation for something like poached eggs!! I mean we’re delighted you found such pleasure in the care for details, as delivered by our staff. We hope next time, your stay, as you intend, is a longer. I would give you a technical explanation on the toilet paper issue but, It has to do with the environment and with engineering. Nothing major, I’ll save the details. :)

Thank you again for your second visit and wee you next time!

All the best!

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a nice six night stay at Petit Lafitte which included incredible views of the azure ocean, good food and friendly staff. Most people miss the pleasant small private zoo (well kept exotic birds and a few animals just next door, ask the guard). Our only complaint was the rooms. Although clean, they are old and not remodeled (our fan didn't work, the AC was noisy, and the beds were rather hard). We had a gorgeous partial ocean view on the third floor. Be aware that there aren't any elevators. It is hidden away in a very peaceful setting a few miles north of Playa del Carmen. We would stay again because it is still a great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kpjpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear kpjpsp,

We’re glad you chose Petit Lafitte for your 6 day, family vacation and wish to thank you for your kind review for the staff, the food, the service and the location. Yes we are in the process of remodeling the rooms, but as the hotel is open and busy, it is a lengthy process and there are still some units we have not done yet I believe this was your case. I am also wondering If you turned on the ceiling fan with the interrupter located by the bed side table. If you tried just the little chains than hang from the fan, that may have been the cause of the problem. We check every single room prior to delivery the day of arrival and this things don’t go unnoticed.
It is nice that you enjoyed the animal refuge center. It is the passion of one of the partners of the hotel, and it is also a noble cause.

Thank you very much for your review and we hope that you comeback to Petit Lafitte sometime in the future.

Best of Luck and happy trails.

Ivan Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

For our visit Petit Lafitte was nearly perfect. I didn't want some mega, highly populated, lines of chairs grand hotel. Just simple, nice, small ...boutique. It fit the bill. If you want quiet, close beach access, and a place where the staff cares ... this is it. If you want a lot of activities, modern (US style) amenities, etc. this is not. Food was good, staff was great, rooms were ok. The hotel is older, but some could perceive this as quaint where others may think just old.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view. Also the bungalows don't have TV. This may be perfect for some, but restricti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank juwila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hola juwila!

Thank you for your review, that even while it was brief, it depicts our style in comparison to that of large resorts. We are so glad that you considered it nearing perfection. I often tell our coworkers that perfection lies in the eye of the beholder (like beauty) so basically I am admitting that we clicked!

Thank you very much for you words and for your preference.

Warm regards,

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent 5 days at Petit Lafitte. Driving down the road to the hotel I could feel the concern of my family about whether we had made the right decision, but as you walk into this hotel you feel instantly at home. The place is small, it is simple, staff is generally kind, and it is wonderfully peaceful. Great morning meal and dinner generally of very good standard. We stayed in one of the beach front bungalows and did nothing but relax at the beach, in the hammock and on our patio - and managed to do our scuba divers certificate at the nearby resort. The visit to the resort next dooor confirmed once again that we had made the right choice. So glad we had not opted for one of the loud, crowded all inclusive resorts along the beach!!! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose one of the beach fronting bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mai M,

Ever since you left the access road has improved dramatically. The damaged sections, have been repaved completely. It had been a long fought battle to get the authorities to give us a good road, but finally the result was worth it. So hopefully that will not be an issue in the future.

We are glad that you and your family felt right at home. Thank you for your kind comments on the food and service. I was wondering why you had to go to a neighboring all inclusive hotel to take your scuba course?
We do have scuba diving services and courses available right here. Classes take place in the pool. However, the experience allowed you to see what you can find in the large hotels. We are glad that you confirmed that Petit Lafitte is the right thing for you.

Thank you for your comments and we hope our paths merge again sometime in the future!

Hasta la vista!

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Small hotel, nice beach, decent food, friendly and helpful staff. Perfect for our family who wanted to lie on a beach, read books, walk on the beach and go for a swim to cool off. The front desk was helpful, gave some good advice about renting a car to go to Coba instead of a cab or a tour van and arranged for the drop off and pick up of the rental car at the hotel. We used PDC transfers to and from the airport and spent the extra $30 for an hour at the Mega store in Playa on the way in. I highly recommend this as we stocked up on beverages, snacks, lunch food and suntan lotion before we checked in. We spent a morning in Playa one day and did the 1.5 hr beach walk to Playa on another as our only other excursions during a 10 day stay. Otherwise we were on the beach in front of the hotel from sunup to sundown. If you want to get a palapa for the day better hit the beach before 6am. However, on the last couple days the staff was putting beach umbrellas out for people so I think all you have to do is ask if you want one. The noise from the bar after dinner was loud enough that we had to close the door to the balcony of our third floor room to go to sleep but the bar shut down around 11pm so it was no big deal. People are entitled to relax, have a drink and some conversation after dinner, in my view. They're on vacation. All in all a wonderful vacation in a beautiful place. We'd all go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear CRB,

Thank you very much for selecting Petit Lafitte for your Mexico vacation. We are glad to hear that all in all you had a very enjoyable vacation with your family and that you visited Coba and Playa del Carmen, even when you were mostly looking to enjoy the beach and basking in the sun.

We hope that you keep us in your hearts and minds for a future visit in Riviera Maya.

Thank you again for your preference and for your review!

Kind Regards,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Upon check in, hot from the airport in regular clothes, after driving up a rocky, unpaved road, standing in the little "lobby," you see the little wooden statue of the pirate, and you are like, "What is this, Disneyland? Oh no, maybe it's too kid friendly..." But then you walk straight through, and in ONE minute, you are ON a white sugar sand beach, with turquoise water. Nobody else around, just palm trees ad hammocks, and you drop into one of them and don't want to leave or go anywhere for days. Attentive, unobtrusive service - the staff know you by your room number. Delicious, healthy food, with breakfast and dinner included, and great optional lunch selections at the beach (and pool)-side bar. Reasonable prices for rooms AND all extras, including drinks.

The kind of place you want to return to annually; I'm already looking at dates and airfares for next year!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi RuthM,

Thank you for talking about the fact that even though the place is named after a legendary, real life pirate of the early 1800s, and that there is a small wooden sculpture of him art the lobby, Petit Lafitte, is not especially designed for children, but we are open to travelers of all ages and walks of life, seeking tranquility and relaxation, amidst swaying palm trees and a sandy beach with turquoise waters. Your comments about the service and the atmosphere are very kind.

Thank you for your visit and for your hinted intention of returning, hope it becomes a reality.

Yours

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,738 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
693 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing